Dear Readers,
May came and is gone in a flash. I’m guessing that by now, your examinations would be over (perhaps, just for now) and that if you are studying abroad in the northern hemisphere, then you might be back home enjoying your summer holidays. For those of you in the southern hemisphere, do bundle up! As for those of you around the tropical area, life goes on as usual.
But whether it is hot, cold, wet or dry, ReMag doesn’t sleep! In fact, this month, we will bring you another guest article by How Han Ming, who wrote about teenagers. All of us, whether we remember it or not, have gone through our teenage years (or perhaps are still going through them). These years are perhaps some of the most tumultuous, rebellious and exciting years of our lives when we seem to be forever energetic and active, before settling down into adulthood and into a more stable, calm life. However, did teenage years bring the best from within us, or the worst?
Now, what is the theme for the month? The third week of our publication this month will see articles that revolve around the theme: “What It Means To Be…” With such a generic-sounding theme, you can bet that our theme articles will discuss different (and perhaps unrelated) topics – all to provide a scope of articles that is as wide as possible, as well as keeping you interested! What’s more, this month we will feature an article from our Editor!
So, the line-up of the articles for June 2012 is as follows:
Week 1: June 1, 2012
Article: Rhino Headgear, the Football Boot for Your Head by Darren Goon
Article: Blockade on the War of Terrorism by Alexis
Article: Some Semblance of Sovereignty by Nicholas Foo
Article: The Unbearable Indefiniteness of Being by Amanda Yeoh
Week 2: June 8, 2012
Prose: Hey There What’s Crackin’? by Wei Yun
Guest Article: Teenagers Today by How Han Ming
Article: Which Smartphone? by Nicholas92
Article: Actions or Thoughts by Yu Wei
Week 3: June 15, 2012 – THEME: WHAT IT MEANS TO BE
Article: What It Means to be A Student by Kamilia
Article: “Don’t Try To Be Great” – What It Means to be Living a Meaningful Life by Yizhen Fung (SPECIAL FEATURE!)
Article: What It Means to be a Fresh University Graduate by Henry Yew
Prose: What It Means To Be by Dominic
Week 4: June 22, 2012
Article: Spring Cleaning by Mei Yen
Article: The Admissions Game From a Malaysian Perspective by Adelyn Yeoh
Poem: Reflection Series I – Driving Without an End in Mind by Nuance
Poem: What If by nickvl
That will be all for the month of June. For July, here’s a preview – Eizaz Azhar is back with another “Being Manly 101″ article! Stay tuned!
P/S: Interested in seeing your work featured here as a guest article? Do contact Jonathan Thong at derthongster[at]gmail.com! What are you waiting for?
Henry Yew
Assistant Editor of ReMag