Education This is the place where we would discuss anything about education issues!!!

Kolej Yayasan UEM

corn2head

#91 Old 22-06-2005 Default

Hey quirky..

Unforturnately there's no ATM in college but the admin staff can withdraw money for you. Don't worry they are very trustworthy and reliable!

Dotco dosent sell topup cards. Sorry.. But you can get topup cards from our own Student Council Food Exco or other student dealers in college, male and female.

For more formal infomation and pictures do check out the college website www.kyuem.edu.my .

See if you can spot pamlee..
Hint: yellow flower, just like her big yellow banner!
corn2head is offline   Reply With Quote
LePip

#92 Old 22-06-2005 Default

hey ppl. i'm just another one of those silly soon-to-be seniors of the happy jungle college known as KYUEM, formerly known as kmys.

btw, corn2head.. i'm still kinda guessing who're you. lifesaver.. hmm..
pamlee.... are you.... welfare exco person.. i'm pretty sure you are.. and saying all those wonderfull things about dotco..tsktsk.

okay, anyway, the rest of the seniors would probably love to be typing tons of other info about this place all you juniors are so excited about, but they're probably collecting turtle shells somwhere in Kerteh. but no, you'll learn more about that your first week of college.

wow, this thread has really come a long way. last bunch of posts was exactly one year ago where we ourselves were asking all these silly nervous questions.suffice to say, you juniors this year have a lot more help. for one, we actually have a professional college website now, complete with a map! back in our time, we just looked for the road sign that said Lembah Beringin Links Golf Club! so yea, the only advice you'll need from me is... dont worry about a thing. you can survive with clothes and a toothbrush. and some maggi would really help you make frens. but anyway, the one week induction course for you juniors is top notch. be sure to pay attention during every single activity, and do read all your handbooks, including all that college junk in Veritas. lastly, a warning. although most of the ppl here love this college and what it offers, not everyone shares the same opinion. for some, it really is a jungle. but as long as you keep yourself optimistic and open to new things, the monkeys wandering around at 6 am won't even touch you.
diey-ya-na, give some pep-talk? and corn2head, jst to add to what you said, certain sponsors will pay for laundry fees, saving you that rm18 per month and yea, are you a welfare exco too?
LePip is offline   Reply With Quote
ngu

#93 Old 22-06-2005 Default kyuem

i this college offering any scholarship or tuition fee waiver like taylors college?I want to enter this college but the fee is just too expensive.I cannot afford it.
ngu is offline   Reply With Quote
LePip

#94 Old 22-06-2005 Default

sorry ngu, sad to say this place doesn't offer tuition wavers. the things is, over 90% of the students here are lucky nuff to be sponsored by various sponsors, namely PNB, BNM, JPA, SC, PET, KPM, MARA.. miss anything?
but for the senior batch, and more so for your junior batch, the number of privately sponsored students (as in paid for yourself) is increasing.
just a thought, taylors would offer a tuition waver of 10k ringgit for spm students who score 9 A1 and 10 A1 right... and you would still have to pay the rest of the tuition fee (for A level programme), accomodation costs for the period, and food expenses for the area of SS15. when you add up the figures, the tuition waver does save a big amount (10K), but it's a relatively small proportion compared to the total sum. 60,000 for 2 years worth of tuition, sports facilities, food, and accomodation, isn't really that expensive.
LePip is offline   Reply With Quote
corn2head

#95 Old 22-06-2005 Default

Hey ngu..

Sorry to say but KYUEM dosent offer any scholarships nor any tuition waiver.. It's merely a college funded by UEM but UEM gives out limited scholarships. Usually private students (self sponsored) will be guided to apply for scholarships after finishing their studies in KYUEM for their undergraduate programme.
quirky

#96 Old 22-06-2005 Default hehe

oh okay...hehe...at least i noe dat we can still get sum more money n i also dun ave 2 worry bout not havin credit 4 months...haha...
oh btw, how many clubs can we join? hihihi... i jst cant help askin, u noe, *curiosity kills da cat* hehehe...

n yep, i hav read almost all da parts of d web n seen almost all da photos in d web...huhu...n i THINK i saw pamlee....huhu.... she's wen ai rgt? heheh... (yellow flower under big yellow banner) hoho..[/u]
quirky is offline   Reply With Quote
Jhuen

#97 Old 22-06-2005 Default

hi..just wondering,about the dress code,can we wear jeans?
Jhuen is offline   Reply With Quote
HiGhFiDeLiTy

#98 Old 22-06-2005 Default

whoa!
this is my 1st post on this topic - kyuem and it seems tht all the questions inside my head had been answered..
well, i guess kyuem is a great place after all. I think it's more like a self-contained place than isolated or a 'jungle resort'. can't wait to start my study back and become one of kyuem's family member.

i dunno if it's necessary to introduce myself here but just for starter, i'll register on this becoming 12th july.. will be doing chemical engineering under petronas schlrship..
sila beri tunjuk ajar..
regarding on the uniform issue.. what's the rational of wearing it only on saturday classes? heheh.. just a silly question from me..

alrite.. meet u all there.. hope the orientation week will be ok for me.. it's hard to be a junior back after what seems like a lifetime being a vain senior..
HiGhFiDeLiTy is offline   Reply With Quote
quirky

#99 Old 22-06-2005 Default huhu

hey highfidelity...heh...i'll b meeting u der too...huhu...n i agree, i just cnt wait 2 start studyin back!! (did i jst say dat? haha) oh well, had enuf holidays, rlly...

oh yea, i was wnderin, wut bout da trnsport system der? hihi.. wel i heard da college offers trnsport..but we gota pay rgt? i mean, u noe...jst wana noe wut 2 do when we'r goin back..is der a train or bus station nearby?
quirky is offline   Reply With Quote
corn2head

#100 Old 22-06-2005 Default

Thank god there is a bunch of really really curious juniors-soon-to-be occupying my boring holidays!! Hahaha...

A special welcome to highfidelity I thought I would never meet a petronas scholar in reCom!! At last now there's one saving the dignity and gempak-ness of petronas in reCom (whatever that meaNs) Basicly, what I'm trying to say is..PETRONAS scholars are the most happening ones in college despite the 50% reduction of scholars next semester !! So remind me to belanja you something from dotco later... and you too quirky for spotting wen ai!!

Transportation.. hurmm.. Usually students go out during weekend trips to KL or Tanjung Malim (bus rpovided). During holidays the Student Services (ie admin) provides busses to Tanjung Malim Bus Station or Pudu Raya (for a charge of course)and they will even buy you your bus tickets to your repective destinations (on request). The Rawang station is 20km from college and a taxi from the station to college costs roughly around RM20. That's why making lots of friends is very useful! All you have to do is plan your holiday transportation well.. No transport is NOT an excuse to skip class on the last day of college before holidays... Trust me.. Apart from weekends and holidays I dont think you would want to get out from the jungle. Life is pretty hectic there! And remmber to plan plan plan ahead

I know you guys are anxious and all but not to worry too much.. That's why there is an induction programme on your first week.. Well highfidelity... be prepared to get out from your comfort zone and start becoming a junior all over again! Start thinking of your torturous junior years back in school!! hehehehe.. Good Luck!

About the uniform.. I think... urmm urmmm.... i think.... urmmm i think you should ask the Board Of Directors on the matter! heh...

Yes, jeans are allowe d in college but not during class hours or formal fucntions. you can refer to my previous post on dress code in college. My advice is follow very very very closely to the list given. Especially girls!!
You dont want to offend anybody's sensitivity in college..

Clubs.. clubs.. too many to mention. Once your there you'll notice a big blue board divided into small colums for club notices. The latest addition to the long list of clubs in KYUEM is the Delta Rho Sorority for girls!! There's everything under the sun from conventional math and science and language to football and swimming to cultural and drama to cookery and sorority!