JPA: Cempaka International School

sonatinalai Male

#51 Old 04-06-2009 Default Re: JPA 2009 (UK) : Anyone coming to Cempaka International College???

Originally Posted by jellybeanmonster View Post
hi all,

I got cempaka international school too.. I wanna ask, do we have to wear formal wear everyday to school?are there any train station near the school? For jpa scholars, jpa will automatically pay for us right? Any one that got biotechnology here??
First, I have to clarify about formal wear. In our school, you get to wear uniform pants/skirt, and a blazer with tie. Blazer and tie will only be required on wednesday, or any other day as informed otherwise. Other days you may choose to wear any descent blouse with collar, and the uniform skirt (for girls). Please prepare a pair of black shoes, preferrably leather.

The nearest train station is Bandar Tasik Selatan, which you can take KTM line or STAR LRT line. It takes about 20 mins to 30 mins to reach the school from train station. JPA pays only the school fees, hostel fees, and other miscellaneous fees included in your course, excluding uniform and other expenses. These 'other expenses' may refer to anything, like the 'merdeka T-shirt', a cempaka product, etc. We are not sure what JPA is paying and what are not. You have to buy your own meals, including breakfasts, lunches and dinners. Every month you have RM 430 allowance for you to settle food and pocket money. The allowance will be banked in to the CIMB account you created in around September. So please bring along some money as appropriate. No big sums required, just for daily use.

Feel free to ask any other question.

[P/S: yay! now we have 1 girl 1 boy]
sonatinalai is offline   Reply With Quote
Vies90 Male

#52 Old 04-06-2009 Default Re: JPA 2009 (UK) : Anyone coming to Cempaka International College???

Go sonatilalai!!! ya, better listen to lai.
Vies90 is offline   Reply With Quote
g1noah

#53 Old 04-06-2009 Default Re: JPA 2009 (UK) : Anyone coming to Cempaka International College???

Originally Posted by sonatinalai View Post
Erm.... i think the figures could be adjusted to give a more proper account of 'our batch' (means the class of 2010, since we graduate in 2010).

Bumi:non-bumi = 1:1
Boy:girl= 6:4
Chinese:Indian=8.5:1 LOL

For hostel, u will randomly choose ur room. So basically the allocation of rooms and units are random. GOOD LUCK!

oh ya...maestro_zouk, just out of curiosity, are you a chinese/malay?

Just to clarify things up, by 2009 batch, I mean JPA 2009 batch. Lol. Thx 4 the maths anyway.

Last edited by g1noah; 04-06-2009 at 03:19 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
g1noah is offline   Reply With Quote
sonatinalai Male

#54 Old 04-06-2009 Default Re: JPA 2009 (UK) : Anyone coming to Cempaka International College???

Originally Posted by g1noah View Post
Lol. What does that suppoes to mean? Did I get the hidden message correctly ?
What do you think the hidden message I conveyed is? I don't think I'm making any of the descriptions 'misleading'?
jellybeanmonster Female

#55 Old 04-06-2009 Default Re: JPA 2009 (UK) : Anyone coming to Cempaka International College???

thanks sonatinalai..the skirt is green in colour right? What do we have to bring to stay in hostel? Hangers? Kettle? Is the school rules tight? Oh ya,
our work are done in papers or books? What type of files are more suitable?
jellybeanmonster is offline   Reply With Quote
sonatinalai Male

#56 Old 04-06-2009 Default Re: JPA 2009 (UK) : Anyone coming to Cempaka International College???

Looks like this thread is even more popular than our own 'A-levels forum'!! HA HA!
Do something Cing Chai!
Vies90 Male

#57 Old 04-06-2009 Default Re: JPA 2009 (UK) : Anyone coming to Cempaka International College???

hey, both of you dun fight here!
there is no any hiden meaning.
Go Noah! ya better listen to noah!

Is there any hidden meaning?
sonatinalai Male

#58 Old 04-06-2009 Default Re: JPA 2009 (UK) : Anyone coming to Cempaka International College???

Originally Posted by jellybeanmonster View Post
thanks sonatinalai..the skirt is green in colour right? What do we have to bring to stay in hostel? Hangers? Kettle? Is the school rules tight? Oh ya,
our work are done in papers or books? What type of files are more suitable?
My advice would be you just prepare the NECESSITIES when checking in the hostel. Things like hangers (ya please bring) kettle (optional, but i think useful) and etc. you can just seek advice from parents. What the hostel provides is only a wardrobe (with 5 compartments, and 1 lockable drawer), a bed mattress with bed sheet and pillow (so bring any extra bed equipments if you think you need to), a study table (it is not inside room, but you can move it if you want to) about 1.5m x 0.8m (quite big), and a chair. Bring toiletries, and any books/clothes you think as deem necessary. You would probably like to cook, but you need not to bring induction cooker. There may be seniors staying with you, so you may get to use their induction cooker. Please bring washing powder too. I believe the leaflet included in your letter should tell you what are the things you need to bring. One problem would be the lighting provided. I strongly feel that the lighting is NOT ENOUGH for a conducive study environment. So after you check in the hostel, think of investing in a study lamp/fluorescent lamp. Ya, that's it.

School rules are not very tight, relatively more liberal than a typical school (it is international school anyway), but just make sure you behave decently. So far nothing is beyond our limitation. (although you may think a more liberal college life is better, teachers will always tell you 'this is a school, not a college', so just listen to teachers and behave) We don't have workbooks. All exercises is copied from either textbook or some other sources. Just buy some foolscap (or testpad) paper will do. Files and other stationery: teachers will give advice later on, need not to worry.

Last edited by sonatinalai; 04-06-2009 at 03:27 PM. Reason: add details
Vies90 Male

#59 Old 04-06-2009 Default Re: JPA 2009 (UK) : Anyone coming to Cempaka International College???

dun worry, there is a minimark nearby, washing powder, hangers, bread, can foods are available there.
there is a club house right infront of our hostel. where u can swim, sauna, play tennis and chating, maybe. besides that before this there is a table tennis court here, but unfortunately, someone have move it. there is a game room nearby, and there is the common place where u can find us, hanging there and play badminton. there is a playground beside our hostel too. there is a hill nearby, 30 minutes of walking can reach, where u can actually do some jungle trekking.

A-Level Student Council is the organisation that dual with any stuff regarding a-level students. It is run by students themself. And u must join.
It is branches into

performing act ( responsible for perfomances during events)
sport ( sport teams training and planning for competitions)
multimedia ( built our own forum and photography )
community services ( visit to orpanage and etc..)
external project ( responsible for out-going activities )
WAIA ( student welfare) ( responsible to care bout students)
and it is lead by a president, assits by two vice precidents ( sonatilalai is one of them ).
before this we have run quite a few projects ( such as Swimming Gala Sales, jungle trekking and perfomances ) and was quite success and there are lots more project waiting for you!

Any way, this is just a brief bout this organisation. There is lots more.

Last edited by Vies90; 04-06-2009 at 03:58 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
unicorn sim

#60 Old 04-06-2009 Default Re: JPA 2009 (UK) : Anyone coming to Cempaka International College???

look like u guys hv many HELPFUL seniors....answering u guys' doubts 1 by 1.......lol....anyway, curious what r mentioned in the leaflets given to u juniors tis yr???.....perhaps u guys r very excited nw .........thousands of SCHOOL rules for u guys too^^thou mentioned nt applied to u guys, bt u r EXPECTED to follow^^ HEY, seniors, dun mention our names 1st la...zzzz

Last edited by unicorn sim; 04-06-2009 at 06:24 PM.
unicorn sim is offline   Reply With Quote