JPA: Cempaka International School

sonatinalai Male

#111 Old 06-06-2009 Default Re: JPA 2009 (UK) : Anyone coming to Cempaka International College???

Just one suggestion...can change the title of this thread? lol... because it should be cempaka international SCHOOL rather than cempaka international COLLEGE.
sonatinalai is offline   Reply With Quote
aeizatism Male

#112 Old 06-06-2009 Default Re: JPA 2009 (UK) : Anyone coming to Cempaka International College???

Originally Posted by sonatinalai View Post
Just one suggestion...can change the title of this thread? lol... because it should be cempaka international SCHOOL rather than cempaka international COLLEGE.
Agree.i didnt notice it b4. where got cempaka internatonal college.nvr exist!
aeizatism is offline   Reply With Quote
jellybeanmonster Female

#113 Old 06-06-2009 Default Re: JPA 2009 (UK) : Anyone coming to Cempaka International College???

Looks like you are a sporty person! Haha... want to be our head of Sports/Games in student council?

1. Sports jacket is not considered 'formal'. Bear in mind that THIS IS NOT A COLLEGE BUT A SCHOOL. I think you better consult teachers before doing so. As far as I know no one has been wearing that to normal classes, except when there are sports events.

2. Yes, all classes including all LABs are fully equipped with air-conditioners. You may wish to bring a sweater/pullover if you think you can't stand the cold.

3. Hostel...hmm not sure. Because there was some rumours that juniors will be staying in another apartment, not the one we are staying now. The new apartment will be much closer to school (i think you will have to walk to school if that is the case), but going to city (here i mean somewhere you can find a shopping mall with lots of shops, nearest = Cheras Leisure Mall) you will have to take bus, and there is bus stop just outside the apartment. So, it would be much convenient to travel to school and shopping than our current hostel.

4. There is no students in our batch from Klang (as far as I know). There is one from Kepong, one from Petaling Jaya though.

5. No I wouldn't say life at Cempaka is hectic. It all depends on how you would manage your time. First year of A-levels is honeymoon, according to our grand senior, partly because the school works are still manageable, and teachers will not pressure the students too hard. But it became busier towards the AS exams, which is in May/June. So, be prepared to hear phrases like 'You all must get Brilliance Award. Each and every one of you!' (Brilliance Award is the award to top scorers in each A level subject, usually 100% for Maths, unknown for others) Last year we had 2 Brilliance Award winners in Maths(2 grand seniors), quite unexpectedly, so one of the teachers is very eager in pushing us to get Brilliance award in Chemistry... LOL

6. Example of sports would be : Table Tennis, Badminton, Swimming, Volley Ball, Soccer, Basketball, etc. There are some uncommon sports, like Fencing, Equestrianism, Wall-climbing... but NOT offered here, or not offered to the A-levels. You will have a better overview when you arrive. Need not to worry.
There isn't any 'more active'/'more interesting' sports, because every sports will be having 1 training session per week, and it depends on individual whether they prefer this sports than the others. I hope I have answered your questions.

Juniors please do not worry too much about how and what will happen on the day of registration or the days after. It will come to you naturally, so what you can do is take your time to do whatever you wish. You would miss those days after you come to Cempaka, because you will embark on a different stage of life.

Cheers,
sonatinalai

haha.. i ain't a sporty person,. the sports jacket i mean is our sweater.. i was asking either we only can wear formal school blazer or those black coats..

Now seniors are staying in which apartment? Venice Hill or Permata Heights? Permata Heights in SO near to the school!
jellybeanmonster is offline   Reply With Quote
sienz7 Male

#114 Old 06-06-2009 Default Re: JPA 2009 (UK) : Anyone coming to Cempaka International College???

Originally Posted by jellybeanmonster View Post
Now seniors are staying in which apartment? Venice Hill or Permata Heights? Permata Heights in SO near to the school!
venice hill , pass by again...
sienz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
adley Male

#115 Old 07-06-2009 Default Re: JPA 2009 (UK) : Anyone coming to Cempaka International College???

Another question...hehe

Generally life at hostel is rather free (means not many rules to abide with). We occupy a few units (3 rooms, 7 ppl per unit), and girls will stay in tower 7, boys in tower 8. Girls are not allowed to go to tower 8 after 10pm, which makes it inconvenient for meetings and discussions about activities
1. Who drawn up all the rules in the hostel??
Cempaka's administrator or JPA?
adley is offline   Reply With Quote
jellybeanmonster Female

#116 Old 07-06-2009 Default Re: JPA 2009 (UK) : Anyone coming to Cempaka International College???

do seniors drive to school? just curious.. Hehe.. I am nervous to go school lah!!
g1noah

#117 Old 07-06-2009 Default Re: JPA 2009 (UK) : Anyone coming to Cempaka International College???

Originally Posted by aeizatism View Post
Agree.i didnt notice it b4. where got cempaka internatonal college.nvr exist!

Lol. Though I agree with you guys, but I wrote COLLEGE at the first place is because if my memory doesn't fail me, it is what it is written in the JPA offer letter. And what's more, I don't wanna offend any authority. I wanna keep my ass clean. Lol.

Btw, even I feel like changing it, I can't do so. Only a moderator can do that.
Sry guys. Hehe.

Originally Posted by jellybeanmonster View Post
do seniors drive to school? just curious.. Hehe.. I am nervous to go school lah!!

Our seniors do drive to school, but not us. Hehe. Since we are not that rich. Only one of us own a motorcycle btw. Haha. You don't have to feel nervous. All of us will be there to help u guys n gals.

Originally Posted by adley View Post
Another question...hehe

1. Who drawn up all the rules in the hostel??
Cempaka's administrator or JPA?

The rules in hostel are drawn up by the Cempaka school and the company that manages our hostel. They are from different companies. JPA doesn't intervene in any of our school issues, unless we encounter any problems and report to them. Hope that answer your question.

Last edited by g1noah; 07-06-2009 at 12:10 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
g1noah is offline   Reply With Quote
sonatinalai Male

#118 Old 07-06-2009 Default Re: JPA 2009 (UK) : Anyone coming to Cempaka International College???

For the seniors: 3 more AS papers to go! Yee Ha! Get Brilliance Award for Chemistry! (Shout out from Mrs Wong)

Last edited by sonatinalai; 10-06-2009 at 11:43 AM.
jellybeanmonster Female

#119 Old 07-06-2009 Default Re: JPA 2009 (UK) : Anyone coming to Cempaka International College???

Originally Posted by g1noah View Post
Lol. Though I agree with you guys, but I wrote COLLEGE at the first place is because if my memory doesn't fail me, it is what it is written in the JPA offer letter. And what's more, I don't wanna offend any authority. I wanna keep my ass clean. Lol.

Btw, even I feel like changing it, I can't do so. Only a moderator can do that.
Sry guys. Hehe.

Our seniors do drive to school, but not us. Hehe. Since we are not that rich. Only one of us own a motorcycle btw. Haha. You don't have to feel nervous. All of us will be there to help u guys n gals.

The rules in hostel are drawn up by the Cempaka school and the company that manages our hostel. They are from different companies. JPA doesn't intervene in any of our school issues, unless we encounter any problems and report to them. Hope that answer your question.

Sonatinalai! thanks a lot for the info, do the hostel have air cond? my things to bring list kept getting more and more! =)
sonatinalai Male

#120 Old 07-06-2009 Default Re: JPA 2009 (UK) : Anyone coming to Cempaka International College???

There is a tendency for you all to bring lots of things which may not be that necessary as you thought. We have been through that last year, and I myself really brought lots of things which are not really necessary... Haha! Jellybeanmonster, since you are from Klang, which is not too far from the school, so I would suggest you to bring a few clothes, books, and personal items FIRST, before deciding to bring any other things in the following weekend when you go back home. Alternatively, you can have your parents around for the first day, and go shopping for anything urgent after school. But I think that is not an issue since the hostel owner will take care of you. If you have any doubts, do contact with the school or the hostel owner for further details. You never know what you need unless you have stayed in the hostel for a couple of days. Since you all are staying in a different hostel than us, I wouldn't know whether there is air-conditioning. But here in Venice Hill we do not have that luxury. (there are actually air-conds left by the previous owner, but the wire has been cut off haha) Again, just be care-free and stay well for the time being.

Cheers,
Sonatinalai

P/S: Gosh! I've been addicted to this thread already...

Last edited by sonatinalai; 07-06-2009 at 07:15 PM. Reason: Details edit