Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Malaysia Today

Malaysia Today Discussion about issues related to Malaysian politics and economy.

ASEAN Scholarships and Singapore

BenLo

#1 Old 06-06-2004 Default ASEAN Scholarships and Singapore

just wanted to get feedback from previous asean scholars or ppl studying in singapore, esp. if you were in aj: how did you find it?
BenLo is offline   Reply With Quote
chenchow Male
ReComer

#2 Old 06-06-2004 Default

I guess I have a pretty rewarding experience, although I wouldn't say that I cherish it 100%.

For 1, I constantly have problems with MOE, because to defend for the Malaysia Night that used to be the tradition for ASEAN Scholars from Malaysia to celebrate Merdeka. My year was the last year(2000), this event happens. MOE is too good at clamping down. That event where many Malaysians actually are singing Negaraku very patrioticly, and lots of traditional performances, singing of patriotic songs (Setia (our all time favourite), Jalur Gemilang, Bendera Kita etc) and actually there were a number that shed their tears during Merdeka.

That was my main experience over in ASEAN.
chenchow is offline   Reply With Quote
Anchors

#3 Old 06-06-2004 Default

cool....didn't know you had problems..but you seem to be very happy all the time while in RJ...haha

anyway, I had a really good experience in S'pore I would say: spent 6.5 years there, quite a long time I would say..anyway, my experience in S'pore changed my life alot...secondary school was really fun....teachers were very helpful (one even bring me out for supper every Friday nite!...at least while I was in Sec.1), ppl were very friendly...but JC's pretty tough for me academically at the time...but totally enjoyed the CCA part of it =)

...and for getting paid to study I thought it was a pretty good deal...but on the disadvantages site, take note you'll lose like 1 year of life if you intend to go overseas for further studies....'cos the A level paper in S'pore's in Nov...and the uni intake in the UK's in Oct...the US in July? unless it's Australia where you can enter the January intake....

...anyway, I did a few temp jobs during my 10-month break...opened a tuition agency (which wasn't really a success), and just laze/sleep like nobody's business...you can call that a unique experience...or a waste of time...but 10 months is alotta time to waste =)
weich is offline   Reply With Quote
ElansarGelmir Male

#4 Old 06-06-2004 Default Re: ASEAN Scholarships and Singapore

Originally Posted by BenLo
just wanted to get feedback from previous asean scholars or ppl studying in singapore, esp. if you were in aj: how did you find it?
What's up with AJs? Almost every year without fail, there's at least 1 scholar from AJ who despise Singapore so much... Maybe it's the hostel condition... I dunno...

I would say my 8 months of stay in Singapore has taught me lots of great stuffs, and helped me to look up again on the role of teachers, something which you can't do in Malaysia... The teachers there are really industrious, and are more than willing to help us out. In fact, they are much more dedicated than the teachers in Malaysia.

And the school admins in JCs put their trust on the student bodies to run most of the events in the school. This is important as we need to learn how to shoulder heavy responsibilities and ensure the events run smoothly.

Life in Singapore no doubt is really demanding, but if you know how to survive, then it is very rewarding. Remember, life in Singapore is not only about mugging round the clock. Go out to the beach (ECP), Orchard Road, Suntech, and blah blah... There are other fun things to do... even 28 hours a day for me won't be enough. There are so many things to be done, and i haven't got the time to do so.

#5 Old 06-06-2004 Default

lol nothings up with aj, just that im in it, and i wanna know what other ppl who have been through anderson think about it. everything about it! the blue yellow shirts, the funny blue thing in the garden, the pe dept...just wondering if what the bunch of us now think is the same as past scholars.
BenLo is offline   Reply With Quote
Anchors

#6 Old 07-06-2004 Default

oh yeah...and about going to beaches....me & a few friends kinda discovered a nice place to go - Pulau Hantu! Located after Bukom, I think in the southwest of S'pore....it's like two small islands and during low tide, the water is low enough for you to just walk across...pretty cool...and they have an 'artificial' coral reef there as well...(where ppl learn to scuba dive and snorkel)....and it's still alive the last time i was there...but be careful of sandflies.....S'pore beaches has lotsa these!

most S'poreans don't know they have such an island! And the plus point is that the small island has its own toilet and water supply =) quite convenient....but you gotta bring your own tent =) And for directions, you can go to the World Trade Centre where ppl normally go to take the ferry to Sentosa, but instead of going where others are going, walk towards the right (facing the sea) where you'll see a few uncles with their boats....(the ones we normally see in M'sia)...tell them to bring you there and also set a time with them on when to come back....one boat costs about S$130 (last time I was there) but you can fit 10 max in the boat =)

..and if that's still not quite an adventure for you, try a night hike/cycling trip from the west to the east of S'pore to witness how small S'pore is =), maybe Changi Beach where you might be able to catch the sunrise...and then go for breakfast in the famous Nasi Lemak stall nearby =)

..also if you really miss Mamak, try going to Jln Kayu for their prata/roti canai...nothing fantastic, Malaysian standard...but at least got mamak atmosphere =) or Prata House in Thomson Rd....quite near AJ....these are the 2 i frequent last time...

...and if you miss fishing like I do, try Bedok Jetty, very beautiful at midnight if there's a full moon....but fishwise...not very good...unless you have a 3m rod....or Pasir Ris, the fishing pond near the MRT, pretty pricey there though i think $40 overnight (include rod rental)....but I got one on New Year's day 2001! haha =)

ok...hopefully that will keep you excited for the weekend if you don't really like shopping..and a bit of outdoor adventure in a concrete jungle =) haha
weich is offline   Reply With Quote
ElansarGelmir Male

#7 Old 07-06-2004 Default

For those who plan on going to Sentosa Island, my advice is bring your own supply of water... There's hardly any shops that sell water, except a 7-11 shop that is in the middle of the Sentosa Beach, and the shops at the main entrance of the island (which slaughter the tourist with those prices they charge)...

#8 Old 07-06-2004 Default

well, i love every minute i spent in NJ! the hectic n bz life i was kept at, the many open doors for me, the amazingly new experiences!
wah...i donno say how many times d...i'm sure all ex-asean ppl heard me say b4...
i love being part of the asean community, the love, care n support each n every one of us gave each other...
i love being given the chance to start research, to do cheerleading, to represent jc for athletics, to run for leadership positions...
n as an asean scholar, the opportunity to perform show ur culture..
so to present n future asean scholars, grab every opportunities there r!!
gal_flower is offline   Reply With Quote
ElansarGelmir Male

#9 Old 08-06-2004 Default

JC mass dances... Sigh! i want to learn all the JC mass dances, but haven't got the chance to do so. 2 of Vj's dances are very tiring, and unfortunately, they are dances no. 2 and 4, so by the time we reach dance no. 5 and no.6, we were like half dead liao (coz most of the time we dance according to the dance series...) Last year, we year 1s always have dancing sessions like once a month or fortnight, whenever we are too broke to go out for movies or don't feel like hanging around on the beach... Just a scholar fellowship, do some dances and play some lame games like polar bear, cutcut potong potong, get someone to play the piano and guitar, and other fun stuffs. Hehehee..... life there is really meaningful... Even now i can still feel the VJ spirit in me, albeit i am no student council.

#10 Old 18-06-2004 Default

What's up with AJs? Almost every year without fail, there's at least 1 scholar from AJ who despise Singapore so much...
I would have no idea, but ben isn't the only one with complaints about the school and Singapore. I'm also a Malaysian AJCian and I have my share of dissatisfactions too, though I think its not as bad as ben yet =)

The teachers there are really industrious, and are more than willing to help us out. In fact, they are much more dedicated than the teachers in Malaysia.
Not necessarily. We have a couple of teachers that, well, we find rather irritating and incompetent.

And the school admins in JCs put their trust on the student bodies to run most of the events in the school. This is important as we need to learn how to shoulder heavy responsibilities and ensure the events run smoothly.
I think this is rather dependant on the CCA concerned itself. I think the Students Council perhaps are allowed more responsibilities and independance. Many CCA's (at least in AJ) do not in my opinion have the 'trust' of the school admin. There's always a teacher chippin here and there and lookin into this and demanding that. In fact, the CCA's we had back in secondary school in M'sia had more independance and the school activities were largely run with minimal teacher interference, unlike in AJ.

Not that I'm all complaints, of course =) there ARE good pts, I suppose...
archmagus is offline   Reply With Quote