Walking Along the Path of Life The title says it all. =P

~* My Teenage Years & My Secondary School Life

#31 Old 08-07-2004 Default

About my secondary school life, well I studied in SMK Raja Mahadi in Klang, Selangor which is not a famous school. It's an infamous school. Lol...cos of the gangsterism and samsengs there. I guess.

Btw, I spent my most of my teenage years there, 5 years to be exact. It so hard to put all my 5 years experience there in words here. Erm... I was the school prefect since F1, and the assistant head prefect for the afternoon session during F2. I learnt a lot when I became the assistant head prefect. I felt that I did more work compared to the head prefect, as the prefect teacher always passed his work to me. I conducted the assemble every week, prepare the duty schedule for the prefects, write reports occasionally, read the "ikrar" every week and so on. The head prefect merely walk around and inspect the prefects. But anyway, I look at it positively as I actually gained more experience as compared to him.

Then PMR years in F3, werent that bad. Lot's of stress too, which I think it's normal. In F3, I went to tuition for the first time, cos I was afraid that I cant get straight A's in PMR. But later, I felt the tuition was really waste of money as I can do revision myself, and the tuition just kept repeating what I already know that made me felt so bored of it. After stopping tuition, I had more time to do revision myself and managed to get good results.

In F4, things started to change. I started to hate my school, the teachers and so on. The teachers are not good enough, especially my English replacement teacher. My first English teacher in F4 was very good, but she left for Australia not long after started teaching my class. Then had a few replacement teacher and the last one was the worse. She cant speak English properly, she cant pronounce English words properly and she's not even an English teacher. I remember that once, me and my friends asked her a word which we are not sure of the meaning. She explained and explained ......as if she knows the word, but when we checked the dictionary, it's nothing near what she told us. Was so disappointed. My whole year in F4 learnt nothing about English. We ended up teaching her English instead. Imagine students teaching an English teacher, English?

That's why in F4, I started to join tuitions again. Tuition centre is my second home. I kinda like my tuition centre actually, it's Pusat Tuisyen Delta, which is famous in Klang. However, the tuition centre owner, Mr Low(also my add maths tutor) is money minded. He kept raising the fees, charged us extra fees like nota fees and so on. But he's teaching was really good, I like his method of teaching add maths. It really works for me. I also like my other tutors like Mr Yeoh, my physics tutor and Ms Tay (Mr Low's fiancee), my Accounts tutor. Mr Yeoh's teaching is never a boring one, he used his laptop to teach us, with those interesting powerpoint slides, and his method of teaching is really good too. He's really a dedicated teacher too, he's willing to organise free extra classes, stay back late to help the students and many more. I really like him. Ms Tay, I admire her a lot because she's so young, beautiful and yet so succesful. She's really a good teacher too, she's really good in Accounts and she taught me a lot of things besides account. I think she's the woman behind Mr Low's success.. hehe...

Wow, so tired *wipes of sweat* and yet I'm only halfway through. *fuh*
I wonder if there's anyone who's willing to go through this post without missing a word...lol..

Anyway, in F5, I was elected as the Group leader in prefect board. I was given a group of prefects and I have to supervise them, write reports about them and so on. Anyway, by F5, I was very disappointed about the prefect system. Firstly, the prefect teachers elected those samsengs to be prefects. They thought they can control the naughty ones easier this way, which I felt is a total failure. Spotchecks failed, discipline problem kept rising and prefects (those samseng prefect) themselves cant be controlled. I really dont know how the teachers think. Besides, they also elect those newly elected prefects to hold important and high ranks in the prefect board. The head prefect was also a newly elected prefect, merely 1 year of experience. Whereas, most prefects with 4 years of experience were not given any position. I was very disappointed with the system. Not that I wan to be a head prefect or hold any ranks, but there are a lot better prefects which are better than the newly elected ones. My classmate, for example, can really be a good prefect as he really can show his leadership qualities and his caring attitude is really a plus point. But wonder why the teachers cover their eyes. Somehow, I ended up not a good prefect in F5 due to my disappointment, skip duties to spend my time in class to study.

Anyway, that's a "brief" summary of my secondary school years. Hope u guys are not bored. You guys arent bored, are u?
pandaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
ElansarGelmir Male

#32 Old 14-07-2004 Default

Originally Posted by andrew
Wow, so tired *wipes of sweat* and yet I'm only halfway through. *fuh*
I wonder if there's anyone who's willing to go through this post without missing a word...lol..

at this point, i've skipped more than 3 lines.... i always do speed reading when i am sleepy... hehehe.... just to get the gist of it....

anyway, i also experienced the same thing as urs, andrew... in fact, of all teachers i have, only my elementary math, History, moral and Chem teachers are good... the rest? Hmmm... can die ler if depend on them...

i used to believe that teachers are very lazy and not committed until i went to Singapore. THeir working ethics are way much better than ours in Malaysia. The teachers arrive by 7 am and leaves at 6 or 7 pm, so that we students can approach them if we need their aid... THis is how teachers should be... dedicated and love teaching, not love the money they receive

#33 Old 15-07-2004 Default

I am sure you are waiting for the next installment of Michael's schooling ! (Not....)

Well...I am glad to say that my secondary school days were very unlike my primary school. Thank God! After all those years....

I moved school between the years so I have 2 separate experiences. Both are good, safe to say.

Unlike pandaboy, I din become a prefect or what..they offered me the job but I spurned it. I already had enough on my hands. Spent most of my Form 1 and 2 days playing and having fun. Represented the school and district (I din manage to get into National lvl ) in God knows what...debating, public speaking, badminton, etc...now I am bloody sick of it. But it was a very useful learning experience. I was doing it since Form 1 until Form 4. I sort of 'retired' in Form 5 and got involved in training the younger kids (Form 1 or 2) instead.

Form 3 and PMR...IMHO..was just a nuisance. Everybody was making a fuss out of it. I was more or less apathetic about it. I was looking forward to SPMs at that time. That was also the year I moved school. You could say that I was more concerned with other things besides studies.

In upper form, I kinda liked my new school more than my previous one. The teachers are better and so were the ppl. I still think there isn't a certain degree of closeness between most of us but we know each other well enough..I guess. I sort of regret not getting to know them better. Still, having a few close friends is better than none at all...

Form 5 was relatively carefree...the school din call on me anymore even though I had a reputation. If they did, I would have refused anyway. I was only involved with the PBSM. They gave me an instant 3-stripe 'Sargeant' promotion. How nice...
SPM came and went just like that. I can still remember..after our last paper. All the guys were throwing their stuff..practically emptying their bags from the top floor down. There was also a 'paper' burning ceremony later that night.

Before long..everybody was going their separate ways. The JPA guys stayed back while the rest went overseas. I din get the chance to say g'bye a few ppl, too bad...
I think we will still meet each again...can't wait to go home at the end of this year
ElansarGelmir Male

#34 Old 22-07-2004 Default

I'm eager to meet my secondary school friends again this Saturday. Most of us are like everywhere and it's rather hard to meet together for a proper reunion. Sigh, dunno if things have changed a lot or not...

#35 Old 22-07-2004 Default

Originally Posted by ElansarGelmir
I'm eager to meet my secondary school friends again this Saturday. Most of us are like everywhere and it's rather hard to meet together for a proper reunion. Sigh, dunno if things have changed a lot or not...
Everybody will change someday. I met up with my old friends last year, and the feeling is very different compared to those days in high school. I dont know why, it's just weird. After one year studying in different places, we're no longer that close as before.
pandaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
ElansarGelmir Male

#36 Old 23-07-2004 Default

Originally Posted by pandaboy
Everybody will change someday. I met up with my old friends last year, and the feeling is very different compared to those days in high school. I dont know why, it's just weird. After one year studying in different places, we're no longer that close as before.
yeah... and it's so hard to keep track with their lives... well, maybe we are placed in different environment... our mindset changed... our influence changed... what we viewed as nice might not be nice now.... sigh.... well, life has to go on... just see what happens tomorrow....

Coz when we leave this year, we won't be coming back
No more hanging out coz we're on the different track
And if you, got something that you wish to say
You'd better say it right now coz we dun have another day
Coz we're moving on and we can't slow down
This memory's playing like a film without sound..........

Graduation

#37 Old 23-07-2004 Default

So, it has proven to a certain extent that what our parents have advised us is true, that at this stage we are still growing up, immature, 'unstable/not steady' in our emotions, feelings, likings or even love, our mindset changes, our perspective changes, etc .

Hence, if we have a boy friend or a girl friend now and then we move on to some where else, we meet different people, in a different environment, experience different exposure and as we mature, our likings may change. What or whom we like/love now may not be exactly what we really like that badly in future.
Steppe is offline   Reply With Quote

#38 Old 24-07-2004 Default

i still believe that to fall head over heels in love, to feel the intensity of it ..... to know the power of love at the very second that you feel it, is better than to suppress it and say "this is not real...not important...it will pass... "
because if you want to wait for six, seven years more....who guarantees that you will be alive then, to live and to love? who guarantees that you will find a person to love?

yet, i agree that love does not last forever..... teenage relationships may not last...but that does not make it any less important.....

#39 Old 26-07-2004 Default

Loving someone and being her gf are 2 different things.... Sometimes we can't have who we love... the most sad thing is loving someone whom u can't have. But as long as the other person is happy, i think by love, u will be happy too. I will still give love a chance, though it hurts so much... Like what Iceberg has said, to experience it is a euphoria... To some ppl, it means a reason to live... hehe...

#40 Old 30-07-2004 Default

Loving someone and being her gf are 2 different things....
Agree!!!!
Sometimes we can't have who we love... the most sad thing is loving someone whom u can't have. But as long as the other person is happy, i think by love, u will be happy too. I will still give love a chance, though it hurts so much... Like what Iceberg has said, to experience it is a euphoria... To some ppl, it means a reason to live... hehe...
. but the phrase "as long as u are happy, i am happy too" is not as easy as it seems to be... of course, we still hurt, but there is a sense of happiness mixed in it too.... melancholic happiness....