Pre-U/ Undergraduate/ Postgraduate Post your questions on these topics ONLY

NUS Orientation/Preparation Queries

cheanrocks Female

#61 Old 07-05-2009 Default Re: NUS Orientation/Preparation Queries

I did not see any acknowledgement page after accepting the offer as well.. That's weird. :S

But, yeah under the application status, my offer has been accepted already. I guess we could use that as our own copy for reference?
cheanrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
lordblood Male

#62 Old 07-05-2009 Default Re: NUS Orientation/Preparation Queries

Originally Posted by cheanrocks View Post
I did not see any acknowledgement page after accepting the offer as well.. That's weird. :S

But, yeah under the application status, my offer has been accepted already. I guess we could use that as our own copy for reference?
After u click yes, another page pops up right? You should print out that one.. However I think u can print out the application status one since u've probably missed out on that new page..
lordblood is offline   Reply With Quote
lawteoh Male

#63 Old 07-05-2009 Default Re: NUS Orientation/Preparation Queries

Okay.. guess what.. i saw this in a forum while thinking on which to choose.

<quote>Sorry to damp your enthusiaism. I heard a life science grad probably when you graduate, you end up washing test tubes in the biopolis. And if you did decide to pursue this field, well you mz be prepared to pursue it all the way up to PHD levels. Because in the life science field, a mere bachelor degree will not do you good if you wanna stay in life-science field.

Common, when did you last see a BAchelor-degree-owned academic publishing a medical/bio science paper in conferences?

Think very very carefully. And yeah this line, hmm pittance starting pay, work in lab all day long, may develope allergy to the alcohol used in the sterilizing environment and yeah little or no career advancement because probably after you grad, you may be just working as a research assistant to some PRC or Indian born PHD in NUS or NTU.</quote>

and another guy said this..

<quote>dun do life science...my fren is having a hard time looking for jobs even though this period should be easy than ever to get jobs.

u might just end up giving tuition.</quote>

Source: http://sgforums.com/forums/8/topics/306358?page=1

Seriously, this make me a bit discouraged in choosing nus especially when the closing date is very near.

This post even discourage me more as its from those who have gone through life science and can't secure a job..

http://madnessreloaded.blogspot.com/...-nus-grad.html

P.S: Sorry for being so negative here. Cause I feel that what matters in the end is whether you can get a job after u hv study so hard for the course that u like..

Last edited by lawteoh; 07-05-2009 at 12:27 PM.
lawteoh is offline   Reply With Quote
pinknotebook Female

#64 Old 07-05-2009 Default Re: NUS Orientation/Preparation Queries

PS: Updated list with Eurytos - Science

Originally Posted by bubblezlott3 View Post
omg i received that acknowledgment thing !
But i didnt print it out and i need that confirmation slip.

Ughhhh. Damn ):

No worries it's just for our own reference. As long as you said yes to the website and mailed back form P, you have successfully accepted their offer!

I don't know much at all about Science, so forgive me when I add this 2 cents in:

Find out what you are learning in Life Science. Are you intrigued by it? Study what you facinates you.

I know a few Science people who are earning 5-figured paychecks at 30 something and are travelling the globe because they entered the Business world with a Science-related degree. (selling science related equipment)

Your career and future can be really flexible if you allow it to be.
Crete recipes

Last edited by pinknotebook; 20-02-2011 at 01:30 AM.
pinknotebook is offline   Reply With Quote
cheanrocks Female

#65 Old 07-05-2009 Default Re: NUS Orientation/Preparation Queries

Originally Posted by lordblood View Post
After u click yes, another page pops up right? You should print out that one.. However I think u can print out the application status one since u've probably missed out on that new page..
Oh, I might have missed out on that, I can't remember. Anyway, thanks!

Originally Posted by lawteoh View Post
Okay.. guess what.. i saw this in a forum while thinking on which to choose.

<quote>Sorry to damp your enthusiaism. I heard a life science grad probably when you graduate, you end up washing test tubes in the biopolis. And if you did decide to pursue this field, well you mz be prepared to pursue it all the way up to PHD levels. Because in the life science field, a mere bachelor degree will not do you good if you wanna stay in life-science field.

Common, when did you last see a BAchelor-degree-owned academic publishing a medical/bio science paper in conferences?

Think very very carefully. And yeah this line, hmm pittance starting pay, work in lab all day long, may develope allergy to the alcohol used in the sterilizing environment and yeah little or no career advancement because probably after you grad, you may be just working as a research assistant to some PRC or Indian born PHD in NUS or NTU.</quote>

and another guy said this..

<quote>dun do life science...my fren is having a hard time looking for jobs even though this period should be easy than ever to get jobs.

u might just end up giving tuition.</quote>

Source: http://sgforums.com/forums/8/topics/306358?page=1

Seriously, this make me a bit discouraged in choosing nus especially when the closing date is very near.

This post even discourage me more as its from those who have gone through life science and can't secure a job..

http://madnessreloaded.blogspot.com/...-nus-grad.html

P.S: Sorry for being so negative here. Cause I feel that what matters in the end is whether you can get a job after u hv study so hard for the course that u like..
Well, if you take the tuition grant (which I'm sure you will), you'll be working for Singapore for 3 years after graduating. So, that's like a job secured already?

To study what you like is the most important thing, with patience and perservearance, I'm sure you will be someone successful in the future. Have faith in yourself and don't let what others say discourage you. Not everyone thinks like them, everyone has his/her own opinions. You should make a stand for youself, instead of standing on the fence.

Anyhow, do give a deep thought about your decision, wouldn't want you to make an impulse one. All the best!

Tomorrow is the dateline!

Last edited by cheanrocks; 07-05-2009 at 01:29 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
cheanrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
lawteoh Male

#66 Old 07-05-2009 Default Re: NUS Orientation/Preparation Queries

Originally Posted by cheanrocks View Post
Oh, I might have missed out on that, I can't remember. Anyway, thanks!

Well, if you take the tuition grant (which I'm sure you will), you'll be working for Singapore for 3 years after graduating. So, that's like a job secured already?

To study what you like is the most important thing, with patience and perservearance, I'm sure you will be someone successful in the future. Have faith in yourself and don't let what others say discourage you. Not everyone thinks like them, everyone has his/her own opinions. You should make a stand for youself, instead of standing on the fence.

Anyhow, do give a deep thought about your decision, wouldn't want you to make an impulse one. All the best!

Tomorrow is the dateline!
well ,3 years yeah.. but mayb end up washing test tube for 3 years.. nvm then..

Last edited by lawteoh; 07-05-2009 at 01:34 PM.
lawteoh is offline   Reply With Quote
bubblezlott3 Female

#67 Old 07-05-2009 Default Re: NUS Orientation/Preparation Queries

Originally Posted by lawteoh View Post
well ,3 years yeah.. but mayb end up washing test tube for 3 years.. nvm then..
Its not the DEGREE that chooses the job for you, its YOU who has the power to choose what you want to do in the future.

Don't be intimidated by those who say "Aiyah the job scope is narrow" and all those things. Believe in your choices and don't let other people's comment affect your choices.

Many people commented on me taking Economics. Some say "its a good choice" and yet some tell me "its a narrow course" "you can't do much with an economics degree". Everytime I just tell myself. I am happy with my choice I am happy that I was even given the opportunity to do WHAT I WANT.

#68 Old 07-05-2009 Default Re: NUS Orientation/Preparation Queries

I like it that everyone(the girls) are/is being so optimistic haha!

Law, the girls have spoken
Honda Shadow 600

Last edited by pinknotebook; 20-02-2011 at 01:31 AM.
lordblood Male

#69 Old 07-05-2009 Default Re: NUS Orientation/Preparation Queries

Law, would like to help u on that.. Yes, I too face the similar problem.. That Life Science may end up washing test tubes and stuff, that a bachelor degree may never be enough, that you'll be earning peanuts once u start working.. However, let me point out that no job in this world is easy or whatsoever they say.. For example, doctors.. Many people go and study medicine, come out with a MBBS or MD and start working.. Many of them just become GP which actually I tell u earn peanuts.. To advance yourself, u need to do ur specialise course.. Same case here..

Opinions are very subjective, that's what my senior told me.. He's loving his life science and is going to major in biomedicine.. And I read many post on biomedicine, it's definitely picking up.. I'll take up NUS offer as an alternative for me to do my medical degree in the future, even thou I'll have to work hard for don't know how many years just to get it..

In the end, just trust yourself and see if it's really what u want.. Don't listen to what others said because that'll clould your judgement.. And if you really have a change of heart in the end, u can always reject it.. Nothing in this world that you cannot reject.. Good luck
lordblood is offline   Reply With Quote
pinknotebook Female

#70 Old 08-05-2009 Default Re: NUS Orientation/Preparation Queries

Finally! A gift in my inbox in the form of an Email:

The National University of Singapore (NUS) is pleased to have made an admission offer to you for undergraduate studies in academic year 2009/2010.

Here at NUS, we understand the anxiety you are going through towards embarking on this journey of discovery and growth. Hence, we have specially organized a welcome session for Malaysian students at the following dates and venues:

Penang
Venue: Traders Hotel
Address: Magazine Road
10300 Penang

Date: 23rd May 2009
Time: 10.00am to 12.00pm

Kuala Lumpur
Venue: Concorde Hotel
Address: 2 Jalan Sultan Ismail
50250 Kuala Lumpur Malaysia

Date: 24th May 2009
Time: 10.00am to 12.00pm

A pre-departure briefing will be conducted during the session and at the same time, your seniors will be there to clarify your doubts and any other queries that may have about NUS and life in Singapore.
Oregon Dispensary

Last edited by pinknotebook; 20-02-2011 at 01:31 AM.