Pre-U/ Undergraduate/ Postgraduate Post your questions on these topics ONLY

NUS Orientation/Preparation Queries

lordfoong Male

#91 Old 11-05-2009 Default Re: NUS Orientation/Preparation Queries

hey guys, congrats for being accepted into NUS!
actually i have a few questions here, nt intended to go off-topic, bt i noe u guys noe alot more bout nus.
-cn i enter 2nd yr of the degree in engineering after i done my stpm?
-the degree in engineering in sg unis is 4yrs rite?
-do cocu achievements(nt those olympiad or international level 1) actually helps in application in to NUS/NTU?
-wats the safe CGPA point to ensure me a place in mechanical/EE course in NUS/NTU?

guys, plz help me out as f6 classes is goin to start. nid to make up my mind vry vry soon. sorry ts, for hijackin ur thread...

Last edited by lordfoong; 11-05-2009 at 03:16 AM.
lordfoong is offline   Reply With Quote
avy

#92 Old 11-05-2009 Default Re: NUS Orientation/Preparation Queries

lordfoong: erm i cant say much bout engineering courses...but wad i know is that, after stpm, surely ur going in da FIRST year? wad do u mean getting into da 2nd year? i mean its an undergrad course n STPM is just pre-u so surely ur not exempted from da 1st year?
well co cu achievements...we dun haf to send in our co cu cv so i guess it doesnt play a part but in scholarship it does...but if u haf exceptional talents, such as olympiad, it does make a difference i think...or other competitions or sth which is like national or international level i guess...those school activities doesnt really affect i think...but well its good for u to join some activities in school during form6 n lead some...im sure it can gain u beneficial experience, as it did for me...dun think bout whether it helps in ur uni application...
and form6 start today? guess i replied too late...but den u stil can go at da 2nd day they accept gua...at least my sch did...anyway, if u dun wana take form 6 den wad else u wana take?
avy is offline   Reply With Quote
lordfoong Male

#93 Old 11-05-2009 Default Re: NUS Orientation/Preparation Queries

Originally Posted by avy View Post
lordfoong: erm i cant say much bout engineering courses...but wad i know is that, after stpm, surely ur going in da FIRST year? wad do u mean getting into da 2nd year? i mean its an undergrad course n STPM is just pre-u so surely ur not exempted from da 1st year?
well co cu achievements...we dun haf to send in our co cu cv so i guess it doesnt play a part but in scholarship it does...but if u haf exceptional talents, such as olympiad, it does make a difference i think...or other competitions or sth which is like national or international level i guess...those school activities doesnt really affect i think...but well its good for u to join some activities in school during form6 n lead some...im sure it can gain u beneficial experience, as it did for me...dun think bout whether it helps in ur uni application...
and form6 start today? guess i replied too late...but den u stil can go at da 2nd day they accept gua...at least my sch did...anyway, if u dun wana take form 6 den wad else u wana take?
thx for ur reply.
my choice if not form6 will b doin foundation in uni of nottingham MY campus...im still hesitated whether to risk abit which is enter stpm n enrol into NUS/NTU...as stpm n application into those uni is quite tough...n the most important thing is NUS/NTU r highly ranked in the world, gonna makes me a more competitive person...
lordfoong is offline   Reply With Quote
pinknotebook Female

#94 Old 11-05-2009 Default Re: NUS Orientation/Preparation Queries

@avy: i have a sillier question,

What are you wearing? i figure this is a formal event, but how formal do we have to go? Baju kurung/kebaya? Or business casual (<< regarded informal in certain events)? xD woes of a woman. sigh!

@lordfoong: Haha, no worries. Btw I replied your similiar questions at Lowyat already but am going to reply you here too in case you missed it:

1. No, any way you enroll inside NUS, you will have to start from the first year. And most of us are STPM students, we all have to start from the first year.

Even if you are a 2nd/3rd year student in a university (ie: Monash) and wanted to transfer to NUS. You will still have to start from the 1st year. At most, you will be exempted from a few basic courses.

2. Yes, degree with honours is 4 years.

3. Co-cu (National level ones and above) will give you an advantage over the people who scored the same CGPA as you. Try to have a balance of both Form 6 co-cu is fun! All work and no play makes jack a dull boy.

4. The higher your CGPA the better. So just do your best x) The lowest I heard this year getting into Mechanical Engineering is my schoolmate - 3.62 CGPA
Jailbroken

Last edited by pinknotebook; 20-02-2011 at 01:32 AM.
pinknotebook is offline   Reply With Quote
bubblezlott3 Female

#95 Old 11-05-2009 Default Re: NUS Orientation/Preparation Queries

Originally Posted by pinknotebook View Post

What are you wearing? i figure this is a formal event, but how formal do we have to go? Baju kurung/kebaya? Or business casual (<< regarded informal in certain events)? xD woes of a woman. sigh!
Hahaha. Since you asked, it got me wondering as well. Hm, I am also not sure. lol >_<

#96 Old 11-05-2009 Default Re: NUS Orientation/Preparation Queries

Originally Posted by pinknotebook View Post

Haha, I thought I was the only one who had that in mind. Still have no idea what to wear.
cheanrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
wawa Female

#97 Old 11-05-2009 Default Re: NUS Orientation/Preparation Queries

if you guys are talking about the welcoming tea, smart casual should do, if you want to err on the side of caution. I remember turning up in a NUS T-shirt and jeans to give one of the talks. Its mainly for you guys to figure out whether NUS is for you. (Disclaimer: This was two or three years back, things might have changed since)
wawa is offline   Reply With Quote
lordblood Male

#98 Old 11-05-2009 Default Re: NUS Orientation/Preparation Queries

I'll be heading for the KL one.. I see many recomers going there too.. Hope to meet all of u.. I guess for guys the dressing will be much more easier.. A T-shirt with jeans..
lordblood is offline   Reply With Quote
pinknotebook Female

#99 Old 11-05-2009 Default Re: NUS Orientation/Preparation Queries

Lord! I speak on behalf of many girls in recom. Wear a long sleeved shirt, slacks and shoes. So simple, you will never go wrong +1 on sexiness too

+2 with tie/vest xD

Guys have it too easy *shakes head*
BLUETEC

Last edited by pinknotebook; 20-02-2011 at 01:32 AM.
pinknotebook is offline   Reply With Quote
lordblood Male

#100 Old 12-05-2009 Default Re: NUS Orientation/Preparation Queries

pinknotebook, tak payah tie gua.. soooo formal meh.. -.-"
lordblood is offline   Reply With Quote