Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education

Education This is the place where we would discuss anything about education issues!!!

The competencies of matrik VS STPM!

Athersin

#1 Old 18-04-2009 Default The competencies of matrik VS STPM!

UM Medicine student intake in 2008 has total of 205 students.
Out of this amount, only 28 people (14%) from STPM, whereas 177 students (86%) from matriculation. ** (i think the article wrote wrongly as 199 students)
hopefully you all can clarify the exact details when doing jifen...

In fact, this problem has been arose since the introduction of meritocracy in 2004.
I think all these 28 students from STPM are chinese and indian, while total number of chinese (8 and indian (12) is 100 students this year.
That means, ratio of matriculation to STPM is about 7:3!!
Why this things happen?
Don't ever tell me that matriculation students are much much intelligent than STPM students...
It should be around 5:5 in normal case because both matriculation and STPM have top students...
This scenario reminds us the story of apple and orange as well as discourage students to enter STPM

Conclusion??
Matriculation easier??
Why not everyone just entering matriculation or STPM and standardise everything to achieve the real meritocracy!

** UM medicine intake is use for comparison just because a lot top students (4As) are applying for it~
Athersin is offline   Reply With Quote
choogirl

#2 Old 18-04-2009 Default Re: The competencies in matrik VS STPM!

Hmm... I have heard of a malay girl who did not get straight a's (dunno in stpm or matriks) in art stream but got into UM for medic.

Actually, even if that's true, it's still worth taking STPM. STPM opens up so many opportunities for you even in overseas (all uni accept STPM same level as A-level) but matriks is only accepted in Malaysia. Besides, it's quite unfair to just see one course and one particular year to judge everything... No one said Matriks and STPM ratio was supposed to be 1:1
choogirl is offline   Reply With Quote
luminodreamer89

#3 Old 18-04-2009 Default Re: The competencies in matrik VS STPM!

Of course it's worth taking STPM, unless your mind has been set to stay in local uni-s.
This same old issue has been discussed over and over again. I guess, it wont be solved in near future, at least in the next 2-3 years.
Well, what we can do is to source for our own ways out.
luminodreamer89 is offline   Reply With Quote
wenghong Male

#4 Old 18-04-2009 Default Re: The competencies in matrik VS STPM!

yeah..matrix is forever local..and if u're a non-bumi, u dont really stand a chance lo..bumiputeras are the 1st for the government..

actually form 6 aint that bad after all..its only kinda tough but if ones work hard, the word tough wont really exist..=]
wenghong is offline   Reply With Quote
Athersin

#5 Old 19-04-2009 Default Re: The competencies in matrik VS STPM!

It is of the weightages that count. U see, guys, STPM open many doors thus more difficult and need a couples of years to complete it compared to Matriculation.

I am one matric students and i dun think it is rather easy if u happen to see our PSPM2 papers. It is quite tricky the question and need a logical thinking and application of theory, i dare said that it is not about fair or unfair, u get what u sow.
For matric, the marking standard may not be that strict. BUT, we can just ended up in local uni...the chances going overseas is pretty slim. but still possible.

If i were the edu minister, i will sure abolish all the quota thingy, select those who are really competent regardless of skin color, interview is one way to ensure the effectiveness in the filtration process!
supergoh Male

#6 Old 19-04-2009 Default Re: The competencies in matrik VS STPM!

UM Medicine is not as prestigious as before.In fact ,the standard of medical education in local public universities is dropping faster than the popularity of Barisan Nasional.

Check out this website
http://blog.limkitsiang.com/2008/07/...tudent-intake/
supergoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Super Moderator

#7 Old 19-04-2009 Default Re: The competencies in matrik VS STPM!

Back to the first question of this thread, like it or not, it's a fact that the higher ranked universities in Malaysia would favor matriculation students over STPM students for medicine, if you go from UM to UKM to USM, you can see the ratio changes from 7:3 to 6:4 to perhaps 5:5. There is nothing to do with competency, I would rather say, it's policy, sort of discrimination against STPM students.

However, on the other hand, if you score 3.88 in STPM, you still stand a chance to get a place for medicine in UMS, while for matriculation students you might need more, say 3.92.

Miracles happen everyday
Miracle_seed is offline   Reply With Quote
Athersin

#8 Old 19-04-2009 Default Re: The competencies in matrik VS STPM!

Nowadays, or perhaps in future, STPM would be more recognised by gov. Many malays do study STPM, it is not saying that more malays in matric, thus the priority is given to them , and on the other hand, more non bumi take STPM and being sidelined by gov. It is just all about how well u fare in both exams.

As for the CGPA point and the seection process into respective courses, it shud be transparent than b4..just hoping that the hard work that everyone strive out would be payed off by getting ur favoured courses at IPTA.
Getting a course out of ur 8 choices is rather pathetic which i hope it would never ever happen to me.
supergoh Male

#9 Old 19-04-2009 Default Re: The competencies in matrik VS STPM!

If Pakatan Rakyat really wins the next general elections ,there will be only one common route to IPTA for Malaysians.Hopefully Pakatan Rakyat is also able to restore the reputation of medical education in public universities.

So all of us must vote carefully in the next general elections.

It is true that many Malays do take STPM,but most of them take art stream.

Actually,it is discrimination against non Malay rather than against STPM students.It is hard to imagine a Malay who scores four flat in STPM(science stream) ,but is not offered a place in IPTA medicine.Or maybe he or she is immediately sent overseas to study medicine.
supergoh is offline   Reply With Quote
SapphireDragon Male

#10 Old 19-04-2009 Default Re: The competencies in matrik VS STPM!

Originally Posted by supergoh View Post
If Pakatan Rakyat really wins the next general elections ,there will be only one common route to IPTA for Malaysians.Hopefully Pakatan Rakyat is also able to restore the reputation of medical education in public universities.

So all of us must vote carefully in the next general elections.

It is true that many Malays do take STPM,but most of them take art stream.

Actually,it is discrimination against non Malay rather than against STPM students.It is hard to imagine a Malay who scores four flat in STPM(science stream) ,but is not offered a place in IPTA medicine.Or maybe he or she is immediately sent overseas to study medicine.
hey, have u all heard what one UMNO leader said in the UMNO General Assembly? He said that all vice-chancellors and deputy VCs in public unis should be UMNO loyalists so that they are in control. What outdated and uncivilised thinking. Shouldn't politics and education not mix in the very 1st place?
SapphireDragon is offline   Reply With Quote