SPM & STPM Post questions on SPM and STPM topics ONLY.

Stpm 2009

yanagii

#11 Old 17-01-2009 Default Re: Stpm 2009

Is anyone interested in setting up a small discussion group over the Internet to practise speaking? We can use software like Teamspeak or Skype..I know its a dumb idea but the problem is none of my friends speak english in normal conversations and I believe there are recomers who face the same problem...This could be a good way to improve everyone's speaking fluency..pray that streamyx doesnt mess with us. hahaha
yanagii is offline   Reply With Quote
lawteoh Male

#12 Old 18-01-2009 Default Re: Stpm 2009

Originally Posted by Li Shan Shung View Post
My MUET result is horrible, unbelievable, devastating you name it. A Band 5 !!!! Retaking again of course.
what marks did u got for it?
lawteoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Johnivan Male

#13 Old 24-01-2009 Default Re: Stpm 2009

Wow, i didn't know that band 5 is considered bad...
I plan to take MUET in April too, and if i get band 5, i won't decide to retake anymore...

I have some tips for Writing, question 1:

The essay must have:
1. an Overview (O) - "The graph shows..."
2. an Overall Trend (OT) - an overall description of the visual: going up, down...
3. Key Features (KF) - must state ALL the items involved. If there's a comparison on 5 types of fruits, you must mention all five, you can't just tell about 3 or 4...

The difference between Analysis (A) and Description (D):
1. Analysis is stating the values and the key features: "There were 1000 people in year 2004, while it increased to 2550 people in year 2005"
2. Description is only describing (nonsense...): "There was an increase in the number of people from year 2004 to year 2005."
Please use Analysis! Use Description only when there's no figures...

Synthesis (S):
The analysis in an analysis: You analyse the figures. It requires some simple counting... - "There was an increase of 1550 (not shown in the graph) people from year 2004 to 2005."
Do you get me? This is also very important compared to analysis. Which means, a good essay must have both...

Conclusion (C):
Here is the part where you add in the linear text (newspaper clippings, footnotes found after the graph...)

Assumptions (Assm):
Never put in assumptions! Like - The amount of people decreased because of @#$! There will be no marks for reasons...

150 to 200 words:
Never go beyond 200 words, cos they won't even look at them. Make sure your conclusion is before your 200th word...

Hope that helps!

Last edited by Johnivan; 29-01-2009 at 11:29 PM.
Johnivan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Johnivan For This Useful Post:
henry_yew Male
The Iron Boot

#14 Old 24-01-2009 Default Re: Stpm 2009

Originally Posted by yanagii View Post
Is anyone interested in setting up a small discussion group over the Internet to practise speaking? We can use software like Teamspeak or Skype..I know its a dumb idea but the problem is none of my friends speak english in normal conversations and I believe there are recomers who face the same problem...This could be a good way to improve everyone's speaking fluency..pray that streamyx doesnt mess with us. hahaha
Well, as far as I am concerned, I have quite frequently experienced good connection with Skype. I find that communicating through Skype to practise speaking isn't a bad idea at all! Sure, it would be better to communicate face-to-face, but when you can't do that, then Skype is not a bad alternative!

#15 Old 28-01-2009 Default Re: Stpm 2009

haha. i've got my muet results. band 5, n five more points close to band 6 yeap devastating yeah.

hey listen, is anybody here taking ekonomi in stpm? i'm self studying that subject with a friend in my school, as NO SCHOOL in our district offers that class for stpm. just wondering. maybe we can share some question papers and strategies on answering questions. or maybe share texts (i have a few texts specified on the syllabus to complement all the ref books available).
lilyth is offline   Reply With Quote
Johnivan Male

#16 Old 29-01-2009 Default Re: Stpm 2009

Originally Posted by lilyth View Post
haha. i've got my muet results. band 5, n five more points close to band 6 yeap devastating yeah.

hey listen, is anybody here taking ekonomi in stpm? i'm self studying that subject with a friend in my school, as NO SCHOOL in our district offers that class for stpm. just wondering. maybe we can share some question papers and strategies on answering questions. or maybe share texts (i have a few texts specified on the syllabus to complement all the ref books available).
No school in your district offers that? That's odd, cos Kluang has many schools which offers that subject, and it is the easiest to score among all the other art stream subjects... I'm sure you'll do well... I'm even worse than you: I took further maths T which i don't think any school in Johor offers at all...
Johnivan is offline   Reply With Quote
trivngan90 Female

#17 Old 02-02-2009 Default Re: Stpm 2009

Originally Posted by lilyth View Post

usually my econ. teacher gave us all the past year question 2 do as exercise... but quite challenging

anyway, guyz.. nid ur help here... any1 can post their Math S paper here... coz m oso self studying dat particular subject

Last edited by trivngan90; 09-03-2009 at 09:42 PM.
trivngan90 is offline   Reply With Quote
mitsukolyn Female

#18 Old 03-02-2009 Default Re: Stpm 2009

Originally Posted by Johnivan View Post
I plan to take MUET in April too, and if i get band 5, i won't decide to retake anymore...

The essay must have:
2. an Overall Trend (OT) - an overall description of the visual: going up, down...
3. Key Features (KF) - must state ALL the items involved. If there's a comparison on 5 types of fruits, you must mention all five, you can't just tell about 3 or 4...

1. Analysis is stating the values and the key features: "There were 1000 people in year 2004, while it increased to 2550 people in year 2005"
2. Description is only describing (nonsense...): "There was an increase in the number of people from year 2004 to year 2005."

Synthesis (S):
The analysis in an analysis: You analyse the figures. It requires some simple counting... - "There was an increase of 1550 (not shown in the graph) people from year 2004 to 2005."
Do you get me? This is also very important compared to analysis. Which means, a good essay must have both...

Conclusion (C):
Here is the part where you add in the linear text (newspaper clippings, footnotes found after the graph...)

Assumptions (Assm):
Never put in assumptions! Like - The amount of people decreased because of @#$! There will be no marks for reasons...

150 to 200 words:
Never go beyond 200 words, cos they won't even look at them. Make sure your conclusion is before your 200th word...

Hope that helps!
wow...thanks a lot for sharing...it's really really helpful to us...Thnks buddy!!
Btw...i got some confusion...Why it is not recommended to put assumptions(the sentence structure u gave as an example)? I mean like if the question ask to state the reasons...so how am i going to write?

Last edited by mitsukolyn; 03-02-2009 at 01:58 AM. Reason: forget to ask question
mitsukolyn is offline   Reply With Quote
markwongsk Male
Developer

#19 Old 03-02-2009 Default Re: Stpm 2009

Originally Posted by Johnivan View Post

The essay must have:

Synthesis (S):

Conclusion (C):

Assumptions (Assm):

150 to 200 words:

Hope that helps!
Wow, there's definitely a load of differences compared to the old MUET =D
markwongsk is offline   Reply With Quote
sugarspice Female

#20 Old 05-02-2009 Default Re: Stpm 2009

Hey guys, is there any cert for our GCE O lvl english (NOT 1119)?

I have just got my SPM07 cert, i wonder when will our GCE O cert arrive (if there is)..
sugarspice is offline   Reply With Quote