Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education

Education This is the place where we would discuss anything about education issues!!!

dilemma of speaking english

Dominic Male

#81 Old 12-05-2010 Default Re: dilemma of speaking english

Originally Posted by wei0927 View Post
thx for yr advice o!!!i will try to do it.n yr blog is very nice...

ya...u r right,my english is mainly translate from chinese to english,because before that no someone correct my mistake until nw.hehe,but fortunately,i met u,really appreciate yr correction .thx so much!..i got a blog,aim is improve my writing skills,if u free,can go 2 visit it,n can oso help me correct my mistake in tat writing.(xiao0927.blogspot.com).haha,sry for making u trouble!.
haha...I'm the exact opposite of you. My Mandarin isn't very good so I usually translate from English to Mandarin...
Or hand to hold, or hell to pay,
What do you say,
What do you say?"

And thus laments the hopeless romantic that is yours truly.
Dominic is offline   Reply With Quote
bush

#82 Old 12-05-2010 Default Re: dilemma of speaking english

As long as one is determined to learn and to improve, everything else is not important. So what if other people ridicule you for trying to speak proper English? Biarlah, you syok sendiri sudah lah, orang lain bohsiong, dia punya problem.

I'm learning french.......but very koyak, I don't care, I speak to everyone,french girls find my french cute, I suka, I syok sendiri.
bush is offline   Reply With Quote
wei0927 Female

#83 Old 12-05-2010 Default Re: dilemma of speaking english

Originally Posted by Dominic View Post
haha...I'm the exact opposite of you. My Mandarin isn't very good so I usually translate from English to Mandarin...
hehe,then we can learn from each other lo.i learn english from you n you learn chinese from me.haha..

Originally Posted by bush View Post
As long as one is determined to learn and to improve, everything else is not important. So what if other people ridicule you for trying to speak proper English? Biarlah, you syok sendiri sudah lah, orang lain bohsiong, dia punya problem.

I'm learning french.......but very koyak, I don't care, I speak to everyone,french girls find my french cute, I suka, I syok sendiri.

ooo.u study at french??..haha..first time known someone who can speak french,happy,nice 2 meet u

Last edited by wei0927; 12-05-2010 at 01:27 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
wei0927 is offline   Reply With Quote
bush

#84 Old 12-05-2010 Default Re: dilemma of speaking english

hehe,then we can learn from each other lo.i learn english from you n you learn chinese from me.haha..

ooo.u study at french??..haha..first time known someone who can speak french,happy,nice 2 meet u
You have the vocabulary, but the tenses and syntax semua kelam-kabut. Reading will help. Try harry potter or something less intense. If you don't want to spend money, just surf the BBC, read everything they have on their site. BBC English is particularly good for learning English.

I am not in France. Once you have had enough of English, you could learn French. Learning French after English makes English so much more sensible.
bush is offline   Reply With Quote
Dominic Male

#85 Old 12-05-2010 Default Re: dilemma of speaking english

LOL! Great idea!
What do you say,
What do you say?"

wei0927 Female

#86 Old 12-05-2010 Default Re: dilemma of speaking english

Originally Posted by bush View Post
You have the vocabulary, but the tenses and syntax semua kelam-kabut. Reading will help. Try harry potter or something less intense. If you don't want to spend money, just surf the BBC, read everything they have on their site. BBC English is particularly good for learning English.

I am not in France. Once you have had enough of English, you could learn French. Learning French after English makes English so much more sensible.
undoubtedly,i agree of you.my grammar all kelam kabut....ok,thx yr suggestion so much!....

LOL! Great idea!
haha,can describe as 一举两得.....

Last edited by wei0927; 12-05-2010 at 02:06 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Dominic Male

#87 Old 12-05-2010 Default Re: dilemma of speaking english

undoubtedly,i agree of you.my grammar all kelam kabut....ok,thx yr suggestion so much!....

haha,can describe as 一举两得.....
??? Sorry, can't understand Chinese words...
What do you say,
What do you say?"

wei0927 Female

#88 Old 12-05-2010 Default Re: dilemma of speaking english

??? Sorry, can't understand Chinese words...
its means one stone can kill two birds.haha
CelineD Female

#89 Old 12-05-2010 Default Re: dilemma of speaking english

Same here... In my case I'll speak Mandarin to my Chinese friends, and then I run out of words and add English...

(off topic sharing)Being a Chinese legally but not technically can be quite weird sometimes, but it's fun! I have a Chinese legal name and all, but because I'm half-Indian people usually think that I'm either a Malay or Punjabi...(Yay, 1Malaysia!).
The fun stuff I did with my friends

I notice that some pure Chinese I know are a bit shy to talk to me...so what I do is I'll go talk to them in Mandarin, and they'll be BOTH shocked and feel funny at the same time, then they'll get all curious and ask more about this. (in the end some of these friends are now my best friends!)

And, if people are gossiping about me or someone else in Chinese thinking I don't know it, I somehow like to barge in and nicely interrupt IN Mandarin, and I love seeing the looks of it on their faces! MWAHAHA...(sound evil leh) Now I wished i can understand tamil...(end of off-topic sharing)

Actually I think that one does not have to speak with their friends in English when they feel more comfortable in mother tongue...that's why normally I speak Chinese to a Chinese, Malay to a Malay...don't know Tamil but if I did I would say it to an Indian as well. It opens up people to you

Here's my blog/writing wonderland: Deb's Ink Trail

nice to meet you :D
Twitter
CelineD is offline   Reply With Quote

#90 Old 12-05-2010 Default Re: dilemma of speaking english

I believe you guys can learn English much faster if you stop using short-forms or sms-speek here. ;) Plus, it makes your posts a lot easier to read.

The Following User Says Thank You to vseehua For This Useful Post: