Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education

Education This is the place where we would discuss anything about education issues!!!

dilemma of speaking english

henry_yew Male
The Iron Boot

#71 Old 15-01-2009 Default Re: dilemma of speaking english

Well, at least here in Tronoh where my campus is located, the locals, though are not very well educated, respect the fact that not ALL Chinese students can speak Mandarin or Cantonese/Hokkien/Hakka. Thus, not only have the hawkers here taken the trouble to provide an English-translated menu for the Chinese illiterate students, they have also taken the initiative to understand some English themselves.

With such a positive learning attitude as displayed by the locals here "in the middle of nowhere", it has actually helped them made more business. Also, with such a positive learning attitude as displayed by the locals here "in the middle of nowhere", I'm actually quite surprised that there are people in big cities like Penang reprimanding others for using English, and in quite a rude manner, too.

This inferiority complex, I hope, will gradually wear off.
Super Moderator

#72 Old 16-01-2009 Default Re: dilemma of speaking english

Somehow, from what I observed, most Chinese who couldn't speak Mandarin can speak at least one dialect, it's very rare to see Chinese who can speak only English and BM, or at least I haven't met any so far...

Miracles happen everyday
Miracle_seed is offline   Reply With Quote
henry_yew Male
The Iron Boot

#73 Old 16-01-2009 Default Re: dilemma of speaking english

Well, then you haven't met my friend who can speak neither a dialect nor Mandarin. XD

Such people do exist, only at smaller numbers.

But even if they can speak a dialect, for example, Cantonese, it will be quite useless in places where Cantonese is not spoken by the locals (except by people of Cantonese origins), and if you do not know Mandarin, you are pretty much stuck with either English or BM.

#74 Old 16-01-2009 Default Re: dilemma of speaking english

Originally Posted by Miracle_seed View Post
In Malaysia, we should know when and where to speak English, since not all Malaysians understand English. Some people might get mad just because they don't understand the language while thinking you're trying to show off. For me, in daily activities, I wouldn't have English as my first choice, Mandarin/Cantonese/Hokkien would be my first choice with Chinese depending on places and definitely BM with Malays, of course I mean in public places or government department. I've heard of a similar story, that someone get scolded in government office for using English: You ingat sini mana? Malaysia ke England?
Exactly! Can't help agreeing with you! I, too, had quite a bad time while I was studying in KL as many of the hawker stall owners didn't speak Mandarin but Cantonese instead, which I was yet to get a grasp of.(No one spoke Cantonese in my hometown). And so, I was forced to make my order in English which resulted in a few unpleasant incidences(i.e; being told not to show off). Also, I have to admit that I'm a very poor Malay speaker and I was literally left with only two choices, English, or the dialect I used to speak back home which no one understood. Obviously, I chose the former.

#75 Old 16-01-2009 Default Re: dilemma of speaking english

Originally Posted by Miracle_seed View Post
Somehow, from what I observed, most Chinese who couldn't speak Mandarin can speak at least one dialect, it's very rare to see Chinese who can speak only English and BM, or at least I haven't met any so far...
I'm guilty of that.

(unless you count kindergarden-level Mandarin...)
eve88 is offline   Reply With Quote
tent

#76 Old 18-01-2009 Default Re: dilemma of speaking english

This is a never ending discussion. I am surprised when it comes to discussing this subject hardly anyone addresses the issue of the importance of reading at early age. It is unfortunate that this is also overlooked in the education system. There is the Nilam project that is supposed to promote reading among school children. However, sadly to say the approach is not right.

The Nilam project does not promote reading as in to inculcate the love of reading but rather who is the champion as judged by the nos. of book read by a child per year. In addition, a child's reading progress is not monitored except probably by a few concerned parents.

When it comes to children, the school and parents must work hand in hand. My mum had the opportunity to work at a primary school in UK and one of her task is to listen to readers. It is such a joy to see the children developing their capability in reading. In addition to that in their English lesson, besides reading the children are also taught to retell the stories that they have read in writing. The children gradually develop the skills in writing and more importantly at expressing themselves. These are being taught to the children at the age of 5. While she is concentrating at teaching her older children and younger adult how to write, reading and writing at such early age must be considered as well.

Fortunately for me, I come from an English speaking background. Most of my friends too come from the same background but I noticed that their command in English can be somewhat terrible at times. I guess parents too have to play their role in educating their children about the importance of mastering this language.

I was quite disappointed that the government failed to recognize the importance of this language until maybe recently. For example, it is a MUST to pass your BM paper in SPM in order to get your cert, should you fail the subject, you would fail all your papers but it is ok if you fail your English paper because all you have to do is just take that subject again in college/uni level.

I remember going for an interview for a part time job with a call centre which requires you to be 100% fluent in English and they gave really tough questions which I can't really remember now and gosh, I did take quite some time in answering it and making sure that my answers are relevant to the question as well.

My two sen in this subject matter =)

Last edited by tent; 18-01-2009 at 02:07 PM.
tent is offline   Reply With Quote
wei0927 Female

#77 Old 11-05-2010 Default Re: dilemma of speaking english

i really hope can improve my english skills,but the ppl around us didn't like to use english to communicate,so until nw i oso can't corrrect my improper english,damn sad.hmm,i have a suggestion that can anyone do as my english teacher?
wei0927 is offline   Reply With Quote
Dominic Male

#78 Old 12-05-2010 Default Re: dilemma of speaking english

Originally Posted by wei0927 View Post
i really hope can improve my english skills,but the ppl around us didn't like to use english to communicate,so until nw i oso can't corrrect my improper english,damn sad.hmm,i have a suggestion that can anyone do as my english teacher?
try watching more english television series. it'll help with your pronounciation of words. read more too so you can learn new words and phrases.
Or hand to hold, or hell to pay,
What do you say,
What do you say?"

And thus laments the hopeless romantic that is yours truly.
Dominic is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Dominic For This Useful Post:

#79 Old 12-05-2010 Default Re: dilemma of speaking english

Originally Posted by wei0927 View Post
You are doing pretty well. From what I could tell, you seemed to have translated directly from Chinese language when you wrote the above (I really hope can improve my English skills). To be able to write and speak English better it's important to do the whole sentence construction in English instead of translating from Chinese. In Chinese we say 我真的希望可以, but in English we say "I really hope I could".

youngyew is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to youngyew For This Useful Post:
wei0927 Female

#80 Old 12-05-2010 Default Re: dilemma of speaking english

Originally Posted by Dominic View Post
try watching more english television series. it'll help with your pronounciation of words. read more too so you can learn new words and phrases.
thx for yr advice o!!!i will try to do it.n yr blog is very nice...

Originally Posted by youngyew View Post
You are doing pretty well. From what I could tell, you seemed to have translated directly from Chinese language when you wrote the above (I really hope can improve my English skills). To be able to write and speak English better it's important to do the whole sentence construction in English instead of translating from Chinese. In Chinese we say 我真的希望可以, but in English we say "I really hope I could".
ya...u r right,my english is mainly translate from chinese to english,because before that no someone correct my mistake until nw.hehe,but fortunately,i met u,really appreciate yr correction .thx so much!..i got a blog,aim is improve my writing skills,if u free,can go 2 visit it,n can oso help me correct my mistake in tat writing.(xiao0927.blogspot.com).haha,sry for making u trouble!.

Last edited by wei0927; 12-05-2010 at 10:46 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
wei0927 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to wei0927 For This Useful Post: