SPM & STPM Post questions on SPM and STPM topics ONLY.

SPM Studying Tips

ElansarGelmir Male

#61 Old 16-06-2004 Default

Originally Posted by Sylvia
for history, i never really memorise the whole thing.

the most important part is to remember the keywords.i like to use highlighter to colour code keywords and do some simple notes/summary of the topics.

trust me it really works
For history, during my time, the best way to remember the facts is remember that People act for money. THen it will help me remember the Revolutions better.... The World War better... but too bad, i believe these have been scrapped off from your text books and are replaced by some detailed account of tamadun Islam.

#62 Old 16-06-2004 Default

yeah...there's nothing about the world war(s) ...as far as I know anyway.

a lot of petty detail on the bani's though...bani umaiyah and all those stuff. They seem to think that they made the renaissance period possible?

<strike>such big heads...</strike>

#63 Old 17-06-2004 Default

then that's too bad for u guys

the world war is the easiest and the best part to learn.i can remember the whole sequence and series of event that lead to the world war 2 coz it is just interesting to know.

bsides,i never really study the bani thing,i jus pray for it to not come out in exam.

err...not a good thing to follow.
Sylvia is offline   Reply With Quote
deaf-knee

#64 Old 17-06-2004 Default

bani is half a chapter. lol. the first part of the chapter is kulafah al rasyidin, then after that EVERYTHING bani.

and then the next chapter is EVERYTHING about islam and what good it brought to malaysia. omg.

and I wonder why I just got 61%.

lol.

#65 Old 17-06-2004 Default

hahahhah... I skipped chapter 2 which is about islam last year for my SPM and i still managed to get A1 for it. I found it kinda hard to remember those weird name and bani's stuffs. I wondered why the new history syllabus emphasis so much about islam, personally i think it is not necessary for us especially the non-muslim to study 5 chapter about islam civilisation. It would be not fair for the non-muslim since most of the muslim already studied about islam civilisation in Islamic study. It just like a refresher for them(muslim). I admitted that the fact where islam civilisation was once the greatest civilisation in the past but it is not necessary for us to cover 5 chapters for it. There are still a lot of great event in the past apart from islam civilisation. Wondered why the government change it...
kevinkhoo1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
chenchow Male
ReComer

#66 Old 17-06-2004 Default

While I take SPM in the old syllabus, I think it is still crucial for us to learn entire syllabus. Build an interest in it. There is no limit in learning and I would say that the stuff in Islamic Civilization is essential for learning. Build an interest and learn it.
chenchow is offline   Reply With Quote
zillion

#67 Old 18-06-2004 Default

what? took off the world war?? but why?!!!
I think that chapter is very beneficial and interesting...

haha... everyone always skipped bani umaiyyah or the rest of the weird names...maybe that is the reason they make it half a chapter??? then mayb the students will finally study it?

Anyway...dun b intimidated by the names and the long chapter.. study with patient and interest............

#68 Old 18-06-2004 Default .

I recommend u guys go to pusat tuision kasturi.
the sejarah teacher (cikgu daiva) tips are very accurate.....
under him i manage to write on 10 pieces of papers in my SPM Sejarah... tangan sakit.. wow.. hehe
deaf-knee

#69 Old 18-06-2004 Default

Could you kindly help me get Cikgu Daiva and Pusat Tuisyen Kasturi to move to Kuching? For 4 months. Not long really.

Cikgu Daiva will have so much fun swinging on trees with orang utans.

After all everyone in Sarawak live on trees, right?

*winks*

#70 Old 18-06-2004 Default

I agREE with iQing!

My sis n i went to Kasturi too. Mr daiva is great! besides, Sir Murugan is a good Eng teacher.

Form 6 students can also go for Peter Hong chem teacher...he is extremely good and uses simple teaching method. he taught form 5 too last year.