SPM & STPM Post questions on SPM and STPM topics ONLY.

SPM Studying Tips

joan2468 Female

#251 Old 27-04-2011 Default Re: SPM Studying Tips

Originally Posted by clarrie93 View Post
Same here, but i manage to gain an A+ for A.Math in SPM.. so dont let yourself to feel down..
For me, A.Math required you to know the basic, dont think that you HATE it since if your mentality is telling you that you hate a certain subject, then it will keep you from understand (most cases). Practice is also necessary in A.Math. Dont study like h*ll one day and leave it for a month. Most probably you gonna forget everything..try to do a least one practice a day, everyday.. ^^ good luck!
I try to do a little every day, though sometimes I get so swamped in homework I forget

Originally Posted by marczeman View Post
Tuition is always a good idea when it comes to add maths.
I take 2 tuition classes a week. One private tuition and the other at a small tuition centre.

I only got a C when I did my first Intervensi, I'm hoping I can do better for the coming Diagnostic exam.
joan2468 is offline   Reply With Quote
marczeman Male

#252 Old 27-04-2011 Default Re: SPM Studying Tips

Originally Posted by joan2468 View Post
I take 2 tuition classes a week. One private tuition and the other at a small tuition centre.

I only got a C when I did my first Intervensi, I'm hoping I can do better for the coming Diagnostic exam.
Well I didn't take any tuition through form 4 and the best I ever got was a 50+, in my finals. Obviously I wasn't satisfied lah, so I started at a centre during the hols and sat in the front row(I cannot begin to tell you how much that helps) and at the first monthly in Form 5, I got a 100 believe-it-or-not. To say I was surprised would be an understatement. Everyone else was absolutely bewildered too. Since then I've gotten A's all the way, including a 92 for trials. I'm not bragging or anything (okay maybe a little ), but just trying to tell you that if your current tuition isn't very effective, don't hesitate to hop around man.

And of course getting the class math geek to explain things to you can be a tremendous help. Man I used to love when the girls came to me for aid hahahahaha.
But seriously, don't give up.

#253 Old 27-04-2011 Default Re: SPM Studying Tips

Well I can't exactly hop around...the tuition places I go to happen to be the most convenient ones, and my parents aren't going to send me any furhter So I'm stuck there. The classes are okay, but not great or anything I guess.

Doesn't help that my add. math teacher is frequently absent and teaches at the speed of light >_>

The math geek of my class has never gotten a 100 before, but she does consistently score A+.
joan2468 is offline   Reply With Quote
melindaL

#254 Old 27-04-2011 Default Re: SPM Studying Tips

go to website www.shortsquarestudy guide.com or berry berry easy
melindaL is offline   Reply With Quote
marczeman Male

#255 Old 27-04-2011 Default Re: SPM Studying Tips

Originally Posted by joan2468 View Post
Well I can't exactly hop around...the tuition places I go to happen to be the most convenient ones, and my parents aren't going to send me any furhter So I'm stuck there. The classes are okay, but not great or anything I guess.

Doesn't help that my add. math teacher is frequently absent and teaches at the speed of light >_>

The math geek of my class has never gotten a 100 before, but she does consistently score A+.
Well then I guess the best advice I can offer is to try getting a front row seat at tuition, to minimize distraction. I think that was the key for me, trivial as it may seem. Easy to get lost with add maths. Miss even a little of what your teacher is saying and you're a goner. My 2 cents worth =D (I've noticed that phrase is pretty common around ReCom)

#256 Old 27-04-2011 Default Re: SPM Studying Tips

from my point of view....
i tin for spm ..
al of the state trial papers is crucial ....
those paper are important for u to know some of the spoted questions...
n trial paper standard are also quite comparable to real spm...

hope tis wil b helpful~
jellywjyj is offline   Reply With Quote
clarrie93 Female

#257 Old 27-04-2011 Default Re: SPM Studying Tips

Well then I guess the best advice I can offer is to try getting a front row seat at tuition, to minimize distraction. I think that was the key for me, trivial as it may seem. Easy to get lost with add maths. Miss even a little of what your teacher is saying and you're a goner. My 2 cents worth =D (I've noticed that phrase is pretty common around ReCom)
my thought exactly...i think if you are going for an A.Math tuition, maybe it would be wise not to go with your friends, since you will ended up talking more than studying.. i think its easier for me to learn account since im the only one taking the class and i barely speak a word during tuition..
Because tomorrow may bring a different result..
If that doesnt work, then take another step, and another,
do your best and move forward!
One day your hard work will pay off

By: Koizumi Risa (Lovely Complex)
clarrie93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Anxious93

#258 Old 27-04-2011 Default Re: SPM Studying Tips

The best thing for ad math (in my opinion) is to do and really understand the past year questions(u get to know the patterns of d ques), then do lots of exercise (within the time limit, if possible finish it with abt 30 mins or longer to spare), then go on to the trial papers from all the states....
Anxious93 is offline   Reply With Quote
AnnieChan Female

#259 Old 27-04-2011 Default Re: SPM Studying Tips

the latest years (2000 onwards) are really easy.. try polishing your basics and try harder questions, like those from 1995-1999. it helps. alot. =)

#260 Old 29-04-2011 Default Re: SPM Studying Tips

Well I didn't take any tuition through form 4 and the best I ever got was a 50+, in my finals. Obviously I wasn't satisfied lah, so I started at a centre during the hols and sat in the front row(I cannot begin to tell you how much that helps) and at the first monthly in Form 5, I got a 100 believe-it-or-not. To say I was surprised would be an understatement. Everyone else was absolutely bewildered too. Since then I've gotten A's all the way, including a 92 for trials. I'm not bragging or anything (okay maybe a little ), but just trying to tell you that if your current tuition isn't very effective, don't hesitate to hop around man.

And of course getting the class math geek to explain things to you can be a tremendous help. Man I used to love when the girls came to me for aid hahahahaha.
But seriously, don't give up.
LOL what marczeman here is forgetting to mention is that our teacher(i was from his class) would make everyone ask him to explain things to them! Nobody did it voluntarilyyy! haha sorry Marc, i couldn't resist. But yeah, Marc was a maths pro alright.

Anyway, for MY 2 cents worth, I think you should really give it your all during the last few months when the tuition centres are having their revision 'intensive' programs. It works wonders for lots of peeps. Including me. I suddenly started to realize that I was getting the hang of add maths! haha and of course marczeman tutored me a little on that stupid differentiation and log. HATED those.
liza93 is offline   Reply With Quote