Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Window to the World

Window to the World Discussions of global issues and latest news.

I have the right to choose to die!

#1 Old 21-05-2008 Default I have the right to choose to die!

Apparently, some in the UK are giving out cards that lets people to tell the doctor not to treat them in case of a life threatening condition.

The card that lets you choose death

#2 Old 21-05-2008 Default

It has actually been practised in US for a while:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Do_not_resuscitate

youngyew is offline   Reply With Quote
Al-Bert

#3 Old 21-05-2008 Default

Doctor and physician do not have the right to keep someone alive?

#4 Old 21-05-2008 Default

The idea of DNR (do not resuscitate) is, everyone has the right to specify that in a terminal, emergency condition where the most likely outcome is being kept alive by artificial ventilators, they don't want to be resuscitated or kept alive artificially.

I think it's fair enough.

youngyew is offline   Reply With Quote

#5 Old 21-05-2008 Default

doctors and physicians do have the obligation to keep people alive... but then, people have the right to choose to stay alive or die... people's decisions to die make doctors and physicians' life hard... it is very immoral to leave someone to die without saving them... but due to the people's decisions to die, the doctors and physicians have to respect their decisions not to treat them... can u see the struggle in doctors and physicians mind??? it is such a contradictions...
Gabrielle90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Jace

#6 Old 21-05-2008 Default

is dis legal in malaysia? coz my grandpa was in dis condition n my family chose DNR cz even if he's kept alive, he'll hav 2 live on an artificial ventilator...it's sad to see him dying away when da nurses pulled away da machine frm his mouth when he was brought back frm da hospital into our house....the nurses oso cant help but cry..

Last edited by Jace; 21-05-2008 at 05:26 PM.
Jace is offline   Reply With Quote
celestial_sacred Female

#7 Old 21-05-2008 Default

Better die than suffer but this really depends on the individual.

#8 Old 21-05-2008 Default

once/if i hit 80 i'm going to tattoo "Do Not Resuscitate" on my chest, heh.
Shoblast is offline   Reply With Quote
kintaro_kun

#9 Old 21-05-2008 Default

in that case, this sets a precedent for the legalisation of suicides, on their own definition of "unbearable living conditions".

#10 Old 21-05-2008 Default

Its nothing really new anyway.

Doctors have been forced to watch as patient die from easily curable injuries because the patient is a Jehovah's Witness and those loonies refuse blood transfusions.
Shoblast is offline   Reply With Quote