JPA Law

white_clouds2903 Female

#61 Old 28-05-2008 Default

Has anyone of you filled up the application form for Taylor's yet? What subjects did you pick?
white_clouds2903 is offline   Reply With Quote
Tzezumi

#62 Old 28-05-2008 Default

Originally Posted by white_clouds2903 View Post
Has anyone of you filled up the application form for Taylor's yet? What subjects did you pick?
The ones required for Law. Econs, accounts, english, legal studies and mathematical studies
Tzezumi is offline   Reply With Quote
ZhannaC

#63 Old 28-05-2008 Default

Originally Posted by white_clouds2903 View Post
JPA picks for us.

That's what happened for previous years anyway.
ZhannaC is offline   Reply With Quote
WallJ

#64 Old 29-05-2008 Default

Originally Posted by ZhannaC View Post
JPA picks for us.

that's true because when i approached taylor's office in penang, they told me this also.
But when i ask why we have to do 6 months longer than other SAM students, they say we have to because we cannot catch up the exam date. I thought we have to do 6 months of english preparotory course?
WallJ is offline   Reply With Quote
ZhannaC

#65 Old 29-05-2008 Default

Originally Posted by WallJ View Post
that's true because when i approached taylor's office in penang, they told me this also.
But when i ask why we have to do 6 months longer than other SAM students, they say we have to because we cannot catch up the exam date. I thought we have to do 6 months of english preparotory course?
Yep, we have 6 months of learning English. Correct! Hehe. I believe July intake SAM students have an exam after 1 year usually.. Different from the Jan/March intake.. not too sure though.

But yes, we do have to learn English.
sikballa

#66 Old 29-05-2008 Default

Originally Posted by Tzezumi View Post
Nope, I'm from a pure science class..all chem, bio and physics. I never enjoyed studying any of my science subjects, an A2 for bio anyway, so thats why I applied for law, i guess the biggest mistake of my life is not going to the art class, but I guess I'm lucky to get accepted by JPA to study law.

same here dude...i did not enjoy science...i was..and still is...an arts person.

Originally Posted by ZhannaC View Post
Complaining? ... Gee hope I don't become hated too. Haha!

Haha. Hey I've got a question to ask.. do they(your enemies, the JPA law scholars) have to take Math for SAM? Do you know what subjects they take?

I duwan Math. Haha. thanks.
Me too...i'd take psychology anytime

Is it possible for me to replace Economics with psychology? I don't really mind maths but I never study econs be4 maybe it'll be a problem.
Wor, sounds like a real battle for the law students...I guess its best to ignore that?haha..sounds scary..I guess best for us to just care bout out studies..
econs is actually not that bad...if you were always interested in how the economies around the world tick...you would enjoy it...

i did it for 3 months in a-levels while waiting for the scholarship results...pretty tough though...lots of memorising...but since we are gonna do law,,,i guess that is something we have to be very accustomed to...

I am glad to hear that there is a number of us that are gonna do law in australia. ZhannaC, Tzezumi, WallJ....i am really looking forward to meeting you guys in taylors come july...hope we can catch a drink together...thanks for actively involving yourself in my thread mates(lol). You guys have been very informative.

Now, time for me to tell you guys the bits of info i have been able to get my hands on...

First and foremost...i have been told by my lecturers in KDU that SAM is only slightly tougher than SPM...the reading/exam part anyway...we will have to hand in truckloads of assignments/projects..which will make a huge bulk of our results....

another thing is...in order to get into the more prestigious australian uni's...our marks will need to be next to perfect..bloody hell...i am talking bout 90+ out of 100...

I read that there are only a few uni's that let us finish our law degrees in 3 years...as stated in our official letter...the only prestigious one is Sydney U right? holy crap....we are gonna have to work our butts off for a place...I hope jpa has made a mistake in this respect...

to every other jpa scholars doing law..i hope we can meet up, hook up, and become comrades in our pursuit o a law degree...lets brave the storm together...hopefully all of us will get a place in a prestigious uni in aussie-land.

chowz....

Last edited by sikballa; 29-05-2008 at 01:40 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
sikballa is offline   Reply With Quote
Tzezumi

#67 Old 29-05-2008 Default

Originally Posted by sikballa View Post
same here dude...i did not enjoy science...i was..and still is...an arts person.

Me too...i'd take psychology anytime

econs is actually not that bad...if you were always interested in how the economies around the world tick...you would enjoy it...

i did it for 3 months in a-levels while waiting for the scholarship results...pretty tough though...lots of memorising...but since we are gonna do law,,,i guess that is something we have to be very accustomed to...

I am glad to hear that there is a number of us that are gonna do law in australia. ZhannaC, Tzezumi, WallJ....i am really looking forward to meeting you guys in taylors come july...hope we can catch a drink together...thanks for actively involving yourself in my thread mates(lol). You guys have been very informative.

Now, time for me to tell you guys the bits of info i have been able to get my hands on...

First and foremost...i have been told by my lecturers in KDU that SAM is only slightly tougher than SPM...the reading/exam part anyway...we will have to hand in truckloads of assignments/projects..which will make a huge bulk of our results....

another thing is...in order to get into the more prestigious australian uni's...our marks will need to be next to perfect..bloody hell...i am talking bout 90+ out of 100...

I read that there are only a few uni's that let us finish our law degrees in 3 years...as stated in our official letter...the only prestigious one is Sydney U right? holy crap....we are gonna have to work our butts off for a place...I hope jpa has made a mistake in this respect...

to every other jpa scholars doing law..i hope we can meet up, hook up, and become comrades in our pursuit o a law degree...lets brave the storm together...hopefully all of us will get a place in a prestigious uni in aussie-land.

chowz....
Haha, I'm no dude just a dudette, but, yes lets say "no" to science.

I hope to meet you guys/gals there on the registration date, it'll be cool to get some friends first even b4 we start.

JPA picks for us.

So, we just leave the subjects column in the application form empty 4 SAM?
Tzezumi is offline   Reply With Quote
ZhannaC

#68 Old 29-05-2008 Default

So, we just leave the subjects column in the application form empty 4 SAM?
Don't know?

I haven't even gone through the documents thoroughly. So many forms it's overly overwhelming.
lerk Female

#69 Old 30-05-2008 Default

m also a jpa law scholar, will be doin sam in taylor oso........
but still cant decide whether to accept the scholarship onot........
lerk is offline   Reply With Quote
nadia.g Female

#70 Old 01-06-2008 Default

hye.. sorry. altho im not taking law. jus wondering. do u all haf bonding to work with the govt? if so, r u guys going to be the DPP?