Pre-U/ Undergraduate/ Postgraduate Post your questions on these topics ONLY

South Australian Matriculation (SAM)

#51 Old 30-05-2008 Default

SAM in Intec.

youngyew is offline   Reply With Quote
vikraman Male

#52 Old 31-05-2008 Default

oh cool youngyew.. i got petronas scholarship to study SAM in intec... geophysics.. can u advise me about what subject to take and how is the hostel in intec etc.. any tips about study SAM and all
vikraman is offline   Reply With Quote
La dDa Female

#53 Old 01-06-2008 Default

hello ppl.
im new here.
n i will b taking sam in taylors this july.
thanks for all the useful information.
im so excited!
La dDa is offline   Reply With Quote
skyrainbow Female

#54 Old 02-06-2008 Default

for AusMat in INTEC or SAM. will the assignment/projects marks and internal accesed marks taken into consideration when we apply for australia universities?

#55 Old 02-06-2008 Default

one thing i don't really appreciate bout SAM is that it is based on rankings. You know, brings out the worst in us Asian students in particular(kiasu-ness). In A-levels you would be happy just to get an A. But of course, it is a lot tougher to get an A in a-levels.

What do you fellow recommers think?
sikballa is offline   Reply With Quote

#56 Old 02-06-2008 Default

They have this "collaboration" model where your score actually partly depends on the overall performance of your peers in your school. So say if you get absolutely fantastic score but your peers are all not-too-good, somehow your score would be lower than what you would have if you peers are better. This was what we were told but I am not sure how it works in detail.

nadia.g Female

#57 Old 02-06-2008 Default

They have a special way to assess and scale the students.

http://www.satac.edu.au/satac/Scaling2006.pdf

The page gives u a thorough info about it altho I dun really get it. haha

#58 Old 02-06-2008 Default

This is about scaling between different subjects which is not the same thing as what I said in my previous post. It's very new to me though, nice find Nadia. Basically it says that some subjects may be relatively easier to get higher score than another subject. For example, specialist maths might be harder to score than maths method, so someone would have had unfair advantage if he took maths method compared to specialist maths. Say an average person is able to score 190 for maths method but they are only able to score about 160 for specialist. The scaling will then be done by, say, increasing the specialist's scores so that people getting 160 will now get 190 so that the scores are comparable with people doing methods.

dnsz89

#59 Old 06-06-2008 Default

hello people. im from last years july intake at taylors. under jpa. lemme see altogether there r 8 classes of scholars. we're called the J groups. 2 classes for engineers 2 for med and 1 a mixture of biotechs and meds and last 3 would be the accountants. and for accountants the 5th sub u gotta take is spec maths. believe me ive begged the prog director for a change of sub but she wouldnt budge. im guessin this year there are over a thousand sam students so taylors is kinda overloaded. so anymore ques just fire away. wen do u guys come in anyway? oh and another thing if private students wanna join the july intake studs its possible cos last yer there were 3 privately funded studs.
dnsz89 is offline   Reply With Quote
nadia.g Female

#60 Old 07-06-2008 Default

Hye! a thousand? Are you serious?? Thats a lot. So many medic students. Are they all under MARA only? Or theres JPA student?