Jokes + Words of Wisdom + Interesting Articles Combination of smile, laughters and perhaps a tinge of tear

Life Coaches

View Poll Results: When you wake up in the morning, what do you usually feel?
Wonderful - Hey world, today's a new start and here I come!!! 8 17.02%
Great - I know there's something going to happen today and I'm prepared for it. 7 14.89%
Oh, it's tomorrow already? Dunno, dun care. 5 10.64%
It'll be a terrible day for me again... I just know it. 2 4.26%
Huh? Can't I sleep for the next 10 minutes? 25 53.19%
Voters: 47. You may not vote on this poll

ElansarGelmir Male

#91 Old 20-07-2004 Default

"...........they who have no central purpose
in the their life
fall an easy prey
to petty worries, fears , troubles and self pitying,
all of which is indication of weakness......

......... road to self control & true concentration of the thought.
even if he fail again and again
to accomplish his purpose
( as he necessarily must until weakness is over come.),
the strength of the character gained will be measure of his true
success............ "

--jame allen
author of As a Man thinketh

#92 Old 20-07-2004 Default

" it is up to you.
you can read this book or other self-help tomes,
watch all the high energy ,
all promising video
or to attend paradise like weekend retreat,
but at the end of the day,
it is you and you alone
who have to make things happen.
the cold hard truth is that
the outside influence can only propel you so far.
the drive has to come from within you.
whether it is this book or anything else you may come in contact with,
you have to apply what you learn on a daily basis."

--Dave Peter

author of HELP YOURSELF
(finding hope courage and happiness)

#93 Old 20-07-2004 Default

I'd Pick More Daisies

" Of course, you can't unfry an egg, but there's no law against
thinking about it.

If I had my life to live over, I would try to make more mistakes. I
would relax.
I would be sillier than I have been this trip. I would be less
hygienic. I would go more places. I would climb more mountains and
swim more rivers. I would eat more ice-cream and less spinach. I
would
have more actual troubles and fewer imaginary troubles.

You see, I have been one of those fellows who live prudently, hour
after hour, day after day. Oh, I have had my moments. But if I had it
to do over again, I would have more of them - a lot more. I never go
anywhere without a thermometer, a map, a raincoat and a parachute. If
I had it to do over, I would travel lighter.

If I had my life to live over, I would start going barefoot a little
earlier in the spring and stay that way a little later in the fall. I
would have more dogs. I would keep later hours. I would have more
sweethearts. I would fish more. I would ride more merry-go-rounds. I
would go to more circuses.

In a world in which practically everybody else seems to be
consecrated
to the gravity of the situation, I would rise to glorify the levity
of
the situation. For I agree with Will
Durant, who said, "Gaiety is wiser than wisdom." If I had my life to
live over, I'd pick more daisies."
--Don Herold

#94 Old 20-07-2004 Default

bEliEve iT..aNd mAkE tHe RiTe cHoIcE...

A woman came out of her house and saw 3 old men with long white beards sitting in her front yard. She did not recognize them. She said "I don't think I know you, but you must be hungry. Please come in and have something to eat." "Is the man of the house home?", they asked. "No", she replied. "He's out." "Then we cannot come in", they replied. In the evening when her husband came home, she told him what had happened. "Go tell them I am home and invite them in!" The woman went out and invited the men in" "We do not go into a House together," they replied. "Why is that?" she asked. One of the old men explained: "His name is Wealth," he said pointing to one of his friends, and said pointing to another one, "He is Success, and I am Love." Then he added, "Now go in and discuss with your husband which one of us you want in your home." The woman went in and told her husband what was said. Her husband was overjoyed. "How nice!!", he said. "Since that is the case, let us invite Wealth. Let him come and fill our home with wealth!" His wife disagreed. "My dear, why don't we invite Success?" Their daughter-in-law was listening from the other corner of the house. She jumped in with her own suggestion: "Would it not be better to invite Love? Our home will then be filled with love!" "Let us heed our daughter-in-law's advice," said the husband to his wife. "Go out and invite Love to be our guest." The woman went out and asked the 3 old men, "Which one of you is Love? Please come in and be our guest." Love got up and started walking toward the house. The other 2 also got up and followed him. Surprised, the lady asked Wealth and Success: "I only invited Love, Why are you coming in?" The old men replied together: "If you had invited Wealth or Success, the other two of us would've stayed out, but since you invited Love, wherever He goes, we go with him. Wherever there is Love, there is also Wealth and Success!!!!!!" MY WISH FOR YOU... -Where there is pain, I wish you peace and mercy. -Where there is self-doubting, I wish you a renewed confidence in your ability to work through it. -Where there is tiredness, or exhaustion, I wish you understanding, patience, and renewed strength. -Where there is fear, I wish you love, and courage.

#95 Old 20-07-2004 Default

If you live this day to the fullest, there are regrets that you
will never have to know. Make the most of each moment, and there
are pains you will never need to experience.

Think of how many of your most difficult burdens are largely of your
own making. By virtue of the actions and choices you make on this
very day, you can avoid so very many similar burdens in the future.

The things you do right now, and the choices you make today,
can affect every day for the rest of your life. That can either be a
golden opportunity or a wicked curse, depending entirely of what
choices you make.

Just imagine all the great and wonderful things you can begin to
create right now. Just think of all the things you could do that
would soon have you looking back on this day with gratitude and
satisfaction.

Five years from now, you can look back on today and be overwhelmed
with joy, or overwhelmed with regret. Now is the time when you can
decide which one it will be.

#96 Old 20-07-2004 Default

The Frogs

A farmer came into town and asked the owner of a restaurant if he
could use a million frog legs. The restaurant owner was shocked and
asked the man where he could get so many frog legs! The farmer replied,
"There is a pond near my house that is full of frogs ---millions of them.
They all croak all night long and they are about to make me crazy!" So the
restaurant Owner and the farmer made an agreement that the farmer
would deliver frogs to the restaurant, five hundred at a time for the next
several
weeks.

The first week, the farmer returned to the restaurant looking rather
sheepish, with two scrawny little frogs.

The restaurant owner said, "Well... where are all the frogs?" The
farmer said, "I was mistaken. There were only these two frogs in the
pond. But they sure were making a lot of noise!"

< < <Next time you hear somebody criticizing or making fun of you,
remember, it's probably just a couple of noisy frogs. Also remember that
problems always seem bigger in the dark. Have you ever laid in your bed at
night worrying about things which seem almost overwhelming like a million
frogs croaking? Chances are pretty good that when the morning comes, and
you take a closer look, you'll wonder what all the fuss was about. > > >

#97 Old 20-07-2004 Default

The Pretty Lady

Once upon a time a big monk and a little monk were travelling together.
They came to the bank of a river and found the bridge was damaged.
They had to wade across the river. There was a pretty lady who was
stuck at the damaged bridge and couldn't cross the river.

The big monk offered to carry the pretty lady across the river on his
back. The lady accepted. The little monk was shocked by the move
of the big monk."How can big disciple brother carry a lady when we are
supposed to avoid all intimacy with females?" thought the little monk. But
he kept quiet.

The big monk carried the lady across the river and the small monk
followed unhappily. When they crossed the river, the big monk let
the lady down and they parted ways with her. All along the way for
several miles, the little monk was very unhappy with the act of the big
monk. He was making up all kinds of accusations about the big monk in his
head. This got him madder and madder. But he still kept quiet. And the
big monk had no inclination to explain his situation.

Finally, at a rest point many hours later, the little monk could not stand
it any further, he burst out angrily at the big monk.
"How can you claim yourself a devout monk, when you seize the first
opportunity to touch a female, especially when she is very pretty?
All your teachings to me make you a big hypocrite."
The big monk looked surprised and said, "I had put down the pretty
lady at the river bank many hours ago, how come you are still carrying
her along?"

< < <This very old Chinese zen story reflects the thinking of many people
today. We encounter many unpleasant things in our life, they irritate us
and they make us angry. Sometimes, they cause us a lot of hurt,
sometimes they cause us to be bitter or jealous. But like the little
monk, we are not willing to let them go away. We keep on carrying the
baggage of the "pretty lady" with us. We let them keep on coming
back to hurt us, make us angry, make us bitter and cause us a lot of agony.
Why? Simply because we are not willing to put down or let go of the baggage
of the "pretty lady". We should let go of the pretty lady immediately after
crossing the
river,immediately after the unpleasant event is over. This will immediately
remove all our agonies. There is no need to be further hurt by the unpleasant
event after it is over. It is just that simple.> > >

#98 Old 20-07-2004 Default

The Turtles

A turtle family decided to go on a picnic. Turtles,being naturally slow
about things, took seven years to prepare for their outing. Finally the
turtle family left home looking for a suitable place for their outing.

During the second year of their journey they found a place ideal for
them at last! For about six months they cleaned up the area, unpacked
the picnic basket, and completed the arrangements. Then they discovered they
had forgotten the salt. A picnic without salt would be a disaster, they all
agreed. After a lengthy discussion, the youngest turtle was chosen to
retrieve the salt from home. Although he was the fastest of the slow
moving turtles, the little turtle whined, cried, and wobbled in his shell.

He agreed to go on one condition: that no one would eat until he returned.
The family consented and the little turtle left. Three years
passed and the little turtle had not returned. Five years... six
years... then on the seventh year of his absence, the oldest turtle
could no longer contain his hunger. He announced that he was going to
eat and begun to unwrap a sandwich.

At that point the little turtle suddenly popped out from behind a tree
shouting, "SEE! I knew you wouldn't wait. Now I am not going to go get
the salt."

< < <Some of us waste our time waiting for people to live up to our
expectations. We are so concerned about what others are doing that
we don't do anything ourselves.> > >

#99 Old 20-07-2004 Default

One day a father of a very wealthy family took his son on a trip to the off
country with the firm purpose of showing his son how poor people can be.

They spent a couple of days and nights on the farm of what would be
considered a very poor family. On their return from their trip, the father
asked his son, "How was the trip?"

"It was great, Dad."

"Did you see how poor people can be?" the father asked.

"Oh Yeah" said the son.

"So what did you learn from the trip?" asked the father proudly.

The son answered: I saw that we have one dog and they had four.

We have a pool that reaches to the middle of our garden and they have a
creek that has no end.

We have imported lanterns in our garden and they have the stars at night.

Our patio reaches to the front yard and they have the whole horizon.

We have a small piece of land to live on and they have fields that go
beyond our sight.

We have servants who serve us, but they serve others.

We buy our food, but they grow theirs.

We have walls around our property to protect us, they have friends to
protect them."

With this the boy's father was speechless.

Then his son added, "Thanks, Dad, for showing me how poor we are."

Too many times we forget what we have and concentrate on what we don't
have. What is one's persons worthless object is another's prize possession.
It is all based on one's perspective. Makes you wonder what would happen if
we all gave thanks for all the bounty we have instead of worrying about
wanting more.

Take joy in what you have and see the treasure in it.
--Author Unknown

#100 Old 20-07-2004 Default

In a university commencement address several years ago, Brian Dyson, CEO of Coca Cola
Enterprises, spoke of the relation of work to one's other commitments:

"Imagine life as a game in which you are juggling
some five balls in the air. You name them work,
family, health, friends and spirit - and you're
keeping all of these in the air. You will soon
understand that work is a rubber ball. If you drop
it, it will bounce back. But the other four balls
- family, health, friends and spirit - are made of
glass. If you drop one of these, they will be
irrevocably scuffed, marked, nicked, damaged or
even shattered. They will never be the same. You
must understand that and strive for balance in your life."

How?

Don't undermine your worth by comparing yourself
with others. It is because we are different that each of us is special.

Don't set your goals by what other people deem
important. Only you know what is best for you.

Don't take for granted the things closest
to your heart. Cling to them as they would your
life, for without them, life is meaningless.

Don't let your life slip through your fingers by
living in the past or for the future. By living
your life one day at a time, you live ALL the days
of your life.

Don't give up when you still have something to
give. Nothing is really over until the moment
you stop trying.

Don't be afraid to admit that you are less
than perfect. It is this fragile thread that binds
us to each together.

Don't be afraid to encounter risks. It is by
taking chances that we learn how to be brave.

Don't shut love out of your life by saying it's
impossible to find. The quickest way to receive
love is to give it; the fastest way to lose love
is to hold it too tightly; and the best way to
keep love is to give it wings.

Don't run through life so fast that you forget not
only where you've been, but also where you are going.

Don't forget, a person's greatest emotional need
is to feel appreciated.

Don't be afraid to learn. Knowledge is weightless,
a treasure you can always carry easily.

Don't use time or words carelessly. Neither can be retrieved.

Life is not a race, but a journey to be savored
each step of the way. Yesterday is history,
Tomorrow is a Mystery and Today is a gift: that's
why we call it The Present.