Every Little Thing About Medicine Discussion for Doctors, Pharmacists, Potential Doctors, Patients and also Nurse :on Everything about Medicine!

Doctors, Why U Are So Irritable?

tehjiao

#21 Old 08-06-2008 Default

Originally Posted by Miracle_seed View Post
Hi, I was wondering, since so many academically excellent students aim for medicine nowadays, I wonder how many of them do really know how's a doctor's life... I doubt many students apply for medicine just because their results are good...

tehjiao, do you know anyone who after completion of their studies, regret choosing medicine as their career? Mind to share any interesting stories regarding this?
they are some and i don't think it is "Interesting" other than a tragedy. Anyway, i would be glad for those who are brave enough to change their lane of journey when they realize that this isn't what they want as u no need to waste the rest of your life.

A number of doctors quit this field after working for first few years. They may start a new life in health-care related field eg.
-Cosmetic: Hyperbaric wound healing
-Lab base: Pathlab/ BP
-Drug representative
-Food Supplement direct sale
-Insurance-medical card
-Web page about health care

Life is yours. Make your own choice and responsible for that.

#22 Old 15-07-2008 Default

Funny article, but related...

but don't take it too seriously ;)

41 Things that you doctor will never tell you

my favourite quote? Here it is:

• It really bugs me when people come to the ER for fairly trivial things that could be dealt with at home.
--ER physician, Colorado Springs, Colorado

#23 Old 15-07-2008 Default

Originally Posted by vseehua View Post
Nice link, vseehua. But my favourite is this: When a doctor tells you to lose 15 to 20 pounds, what he really means is you need to lose 50.

Come on docs, just go ahead and break the patients' hearts by telling them exactly how fat they are . Joke joke. Don't kill me

jayden is offline   Reply With Quote
alamanda_star Female

#24 Old 20-07-2008 Default

i got one experience that made me realize that studying medicine in malaysia is far more better than abroad.

last year, i got this allergic reaction. then i went to see a doctor. then, the doctor asked me, " ya, kenapa?" and i said to the doctor, "saya ada hives". i used the word hives as i don't know what they called it in malay. the doctor didn't understand me because maybe she thaught it was a malay word because i think it's quite impossible for her not to know what hive is. after that, she asked me to show it to her. Unfortunately, the hives had disappeared because it took me hours to go the clinic (the only reason i go to the clinic was because my mom keep on nagging). and then, she asked me, " dia macam sopak garam kah? " i was like, what the hell is sopak garam? ( but of course i didn't say it loudly). Instead, i answered, " err.. urticaria". i used the medical jargon, hoping that she would understand but she kept asking me whether it's sopak garam and i was getting annoyed. sigh~

the whole situation makes me realize, how i'm gonna work in local hospital later if i dunno what is the local term for certain disease.

and one more word that i keep wondering since ages is "urat". what is "urat"? is it nerve or blood vessel? anybody knows?
alamanda_star is offline   Reply With Quote
extreme Male

#25 Old 20-07-2008 Smile

Originally Posted by alamanda_star View Post
i and one more word that i keep wondering since ages is "urat". what is "urat"? is it nerve or blood vessel? anybody knows?
i think it's more to blood vessel... nerve is called saraf if i'm not mistaken
3. Don?t say inside, what you cannot say outside.
4. Don?t say unless it is true, useful or kind.

Somewhere, somehow
extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
tehjiao

#26 Old 21-07-2008 Default

urat basically refer to muscle,blood vessel and nerve as it's non-specific layman term as for local public.
Al-Bert

#27 Old 24-07-2008 Default

Not sure if this is the right thread for me to come up with this question....

I'm wondering what kind of obstacle or difficulty would be encountered by doctors if they do not possess any knowledge in advanced maths?

#28 Old 24-07-2008 Default

It depends on what you mean by advanced maths. If you mean trigonometry, calculus etc, then as you would expect they have zero bearing on a doctor's competence. But in order to be involved in research or keep up with the latest research, doctors should be pretty well versed in some basic statistics stuff, as it's used in a majority of papers in literature. Most decent university medical courses do provide training in this regard.

Apart from statistics, and probably some basic unit conversions, I would say that maths is not too important in medicine.

Last edited by youngyew; 24-07-2008 at 02:35 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
youngyew is offline   Reply With Quote
tehjiao

#29 Old 19-09-2008 Default

Another example to explain that why doctors nowadays are so irritable

http://darrenmagic.blogspot.com/2008...-question.html
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Million Dollar Question

Ya I have a million dollar MCQ here. Choose the best answer:

It's 4am. Sleeping time for every normal human. Somehow (I really dunno how), you realized your lips are quite dry. Maybe cracked a little bit. You will:

A. Continue to sleep.
B. Drink more water.
C. Get up from sleep, drive to hospital emergency department and see doctor.
D. Call ambulance to come get you to go hospital to see doctor.

If you choose either A or B, it's very likely that you're doing something normal ppl will do. If you chose either C or D, and so happen that you're seen by a tired mad doc, beware that you stand a high chance to get admitted. Yes admitted for dry lips. To a special ward. It's called psychiatric ward.

I have no idea what's in certain patients' mind nowadays. This "tragedy" happened to me, that while I was doing night shift, having seen all the crazy cases that drained me physically and mentally dried, I still had to see all the "non-emergency cases" that came in continuously. (Night shift is something scary, that one people is covering all 3 zones).

So I was very, truly deeply shocked by this young man, 24 year-old, healthy-looking, came to casualty at 4am, telling me that he found his lips dry, and slightly cracked. And pls believe in me that, HE HAS NO OTHER COMPLAINTS. I examined him with my widest imagination of all possibility of diseases but in the end the final diagnosis would just be: cracked lips. Treatment - the simplest being "pls drink more water", or if not, maybe a lip balm can help.

4am. Cracked lips. Drink more water will do.
Can someone tell me what's the urgency to see doc?! This is not something normal people will usually do right..

Sooner or later, maybe it's the poor doc who'd be forced to go mad and be admitted to psychiatric ward!=)
Athersin

#30 Old 20-09-2008 Default

a marvellous posts and thread by tehjiao. Keep ur good job!

One thing i really wondering is what do doctor do when they get sick? Self-treatment?

I admit that being a doctor is really irritable. sometimes we have to be very patient towards our patients.PATIENCE is vital element in doc jobs.

DOctor sometimes would get into a chronic diseases too. How do they feel? i am very curious thinking bout that.
Being a doctor must possess a healthy characters? do u all agree?
Also, a doctor normally know best how to treat their body well and maintain their well being all the time.Agree?
Athersin is offline   Reply With Quote