Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education

Education This is the place where we would discuss anything about education issues!!!

Tibet issue: Western media declaring war on China?

bluez_aspic

#41 Old 19-04-2008 Default

Originally Posted by youngyew View Post
Mind elaborating a bit?
Perfectly in jest ;)

Here's expecting another series of admonitions via MSN tonight hehe.
bluez_aspic is offline   Reply With Quote

#42 Old 21-04-2008 Default

So it came to Malaysia, and _earth had a harrowing experience:

http://kl4freetibet.wordpress.com/20...hugs-from-prc/

Sigh.

By the way, CNN's news identified Marina Mahathir as an "Malaysian actress". LOL.

http://edition.cnn.com/2008/WORLD/as...alaysia.torch/

Last edited by youngyew; 21-04-2008 at 08:23 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
youngyew is offline   Reply With Quote
kintaro_kun

#43 Old 21-04-2008 Default

ok, i laughed. those several students' behaviour was inexcusable, but no less comedic than the protestors protesting for a non-issue. however, i find it quite rather unsettling that the blogger sorta connected the students' actions to the PRC, being sorta "condoned" or "sponsored" by the chinese government through its embassy. are these claims supported by hard evidence or mere speculation or are typical CNN "facts"? i dun think we'd be quite happy if ppl think that msians smuggling drugs overseas is sponsored by wisma putra.

anyway, if one were to have china chinese students as friends(which i dun think those few protestors do), one were to know pretty well that the mood among those students wasnt exactly positive and friendly, after their country is being bashed so generously by the western media and "7 years in tibet" hippies, they needed no official encouragement from their embassy to support the torch rally.

anyone up for a boycott for the london olympics over the freedom of scotland, wales, and ireland? i expect those msian protestors to be in the news 4 years later. unless, of course, this whole enterprise is country specific, instead of focussing on issues. having my fingers crossed. ;) i hope the CIA isnt reading this. oops.

Last edited by kintaro_kun; 21-04-2008 at 10:15 PM.
kintaro_kun is offline   Reply With Quote
__earth Male

#44 Old 22-04-2008 Default

Originally Posted by kintaro_kun View Post
ok, i laughed. those several students' behaviour was inexcusable, but no less comedic than the protestors protesting for a non-issue. however, i find it quite rather unsettling that the blogger sorta connected the students' actions to the PRC, being sorta "condoned" or "sponsored" by the chinese government through its embassy. are these claims supported by hard evidence or mere speculation or are typical CNN "facts"? i dun think we'd be quite happy if ppl think that msians smuggling drugs overseas is sponsored by wisma putra.

anyway, if one were to have china chinese students as friends(which i dun think those few protestors do), one were to know pretty well that the mood among those students wasnt exactly positive and friendly, after their country is being bashed so generously by the western media and "7 years in tibet" hippies, they needed no official encouragement from their embassy to support the torch rally.

anyone up for a boycott for the london olympics over the freedom of scotland, wales, and ireland? i expect those msian protestors to be in the news 4 years later. unless, of course, this whole enterprise is country specific, instead of focussing on issues. having my fingers crossed. ;) i hope the CIA isnt reading this. oops.
It was obvious that these youths are from PRC. They accent was thick and their English was not typical of that from Malaysia and typical of people from the PRC. I was there to know it.

And I didn't say they were sponsored. I said they're from the PRC. I just want to avoid confusion because there are Chinese Malaysians (and there are Chinese Malaysians that disagree with the PRC). If I had used simply the word Chinese, somebody might have mistrued it.

But regardless, they were volunteers of the Beijing Olympics. And who do you think is managing that Olympics? The IOC?

But how do you know that they are students?

And there are differences about Tibet and Scotland, Ireland etc. They have elections and are free to move forward motion for independence to their Parliaments if they wish to do so. Even in Quebec where independence movement is popular, elections have proven that the slim majority still wanted association with Canada. So, that is their rights and they still part of Canada. When the people voices are heard, there is no need to criticize these democratic state. Separatists are given peaceful opportunity to promote their agenda.

Tibet however have been prevented from exercising that rights by the PRC. If in Malaysia we complain about unfairness in elections, why does China get to get away with not having it at all?

And these matters are entirely based on issues. If China respected liberty associated with these issues, I am sure China would not be so heavily criticized. If we criticized the US of occupying Iraq, why would China not receive the same criticism?

edited for grammar. wrote it in a rush earlier.

Last edited by __earth; 22-04-2008 at 02:46 PM.
__earth is offline   Reply With Quote
Olataro

#45 Old 22-04-2008 Default

THe americans are juz a bunch of sissies>> trust me.

What happens when i say that South America wana leave North America?

Or, Some part of England decides to self govern? Wat they would say?

America criticised our economic plans. And now they are following it....ironic isnt it?
Olataro is offline   Reply With Quote

#46 Old 22-04-2008 Default

I think you mean Southern US states want to leave US.

luke Male
KittyLover

#47 Old 22-04-2008 Default

Originally Posted by Olataro View Post
THe americans are juz a bunch of sissies>> trust me.

What happens when i say that South America wana leave North America?

Or, Some part of England decides to self govern? Wat they would say?

America criticised our economic plans. And now they are following it....ironic isnt it?
That's like a bunch of "what ifs" to me ...

What happens if I say that those "what ifs" have no relevance whatsoever to the issue of Tibet? What would you say?

Ironic, isn't it?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Appeal_to_probability (this link has no relevance whatsoever with this post)

#48 Old 22-04-2008 Default

Secession is a wonderful game that all can play! (and it's easy to trump up legitimate reasons since ALL governments infringe upon the rights of the individual) The Western Australian Secession Movement actually gain majority support in a 1933 referendum but the results were spurned (how undemocratic). And there's also the Hutt River Principality and the Gay and Lesbian Kingdom of the Coral Sea Islands off the Queensland coast which __earth might want to show some love too.

Secession of the opposition states / Eastern Malaysia from the Malaysian Federation - anyone?
bluez_aspic is offline   Reply With Quote
__earth Male

#49 Old 22-04-2008 Default

Originally Posted by bluez_aspic View Post
Secession is a wonderful game that all can play! (and it's easy to trump up legitimate reasons since ALL governments infringe upon the rights of the individual) The Western Australian Secession Movement actually gain majority support in a 1933 referendum but the results were spurned (how undemocratic). And there's also the Hutt River Principality and the Gay and Lesbian Kingdom of the Coral Sea Islands off the Queensland coast which __earth might want to show some love too.

Secession of the opposition states / Eastern Malaysia from the Malaysian Federation - anyone?
What if I say I would actually support a referendum for Malaysian Borneo?

And wrongs in the past do not make wrongs by China any more acceptable. Wrongs by others should be criticized just as China deserves to be criticized. Two wrongs don't make a right.

It's tiring to see pro-Beijing people citing others faults to justify China's fault. Both are wrong. Quit citing others' wrongs to justify China's wrong. If the US torture people in Guantanamo, does that give China the moral authority to torture the Falun Gong? If the US oppressed the native Americans so long ago, does that justify China oppressing civil liberty in Tibet?

Furthermore, it is as if this issue is between Western World vs. China, when in fact, it is not. It is about liberty, about issue but pro-Beijing is trying to paint it as if it is about clash between the West and China.

Again, two wrongs don't make a right. So, quit citing others' faults to justify China's.

Last edited by __earth; 22-04-2008 at 05:00 PM.
__earth is offline   Reply With Quote

#50 Old 22-04-2008 Default

Originally Posted by __earth View Post
It's tiring to see pro-Beijing people citing others faults to justify China's fault. Both are wrong. Quit citing others' wrongs to justify China's wrong.
I think the sentiment is more of that aversion to moral high horse some seem to ride on when they criticise the Chinese government. In other words, the way some seem to think that they have no faults when it comes to human rights and is a sinless moral arbitrator.