| Education This is the place where we would discuss anything about education issues!!! |
hi everyone
i see that there are many JPA sponsored Recomers who are studying in USA (JPA sends more to US ? less in UK & Australia) So, do u all face any problems communicating with the locals there? Is their english easy to be understood or their accent is very strong ? Well, i just want to know whether u all can cope with that and how u do that For those who study abroad , is ur english will improve by leaps and bounds compared to before u go overseas? Since speaking english has been constantly a major problem for malaysian graduates( majority i mean.....no offence) , i hope that those who are well-versed in english can give some tips on how to improve the proficiency of english Hope that more people will visit this thread to voive their opinions and views regarding to english Thank you |
In my opinion, communication is the best tool to improve one's language proficiency. In local, we are lacking of english speaking environment in our daily social life,thus we do not utilise the powerful tool of communication to brush up our proficiency. For those abroard, studying environment is a perfect place for them to interact with others, hence they are able to improve their speaking skill in English more efficiently as compared to us in local.
I have a good example of myself. Even though I am a chinese, I barely speak Mandarin before getting myself inevitably into a Mandarin speaking environment during my undergraduate study in local. Years of practising on speaking mandarin through my daily interaction with friends there has made me fluent in speaking mandarin.
yekban81 , so u come from english speaking environment?
i thought that students studying in local colleges especially in KL usually speak english ? because my friend from kt also who is now studying at taylor said no mandarin at all at her college ! |
do watch south park if you have the chance. watch chappelle's show too. they are all nasty, but at least they help me to communicate with my homies better.
dont be budak skema saying that "ooh, this is inappropriate". when talking informally to ur close buddies, you dont want to sound like you're taking an English Oral test or something. think about it. |
ReComer
I think one of the important ways to learn English is don't be shy and try to speak.
I am fortunate to have a bunch of friends in ATU 5 who have helped me a lot. I still remember vividly those of my friends who have encouraged me to watch some VCDs to learn English, some of my friends who helped me to correct my grammatical errors and sentence structures of my application essays, some who speak purposefully slower for me to comprehend etc. Those helps are really helpful. So, I think the best way is strive harder and get your friends to help you. Joining debates club is a good way to learn too. It will be difficult at first, but I think it will give you a good learning curve.
ReCom.org - The Worldwide Malaysian Students Network. Chen Chow's Personal Blog ReCom.org Wiki PitchYourTalent.com US Applications Workshop & Resources (KK & Kuching - 19th June 2010, Penang - 26th June 2010, Klang Valley - 25th July 2010, 2-day workshops - 7th and 8th August 2010 |
i think in communicating, if both parties understand what each other are talking about then it's fine.
my english is not good. my malay too. but for casual or communicating purposes I guess people can still understand me. But I wish I can do better in writting. i heard (not a very concrete evidence) most malaysian students studying in english speaking country (usa or uk, etc) are doing well in written english but not me. I got a C+ for my basic writing class. yes a C+. But as speaking goes, most of my friends and aquaintance are local students. I have no problem interacting with them.Sometimes you tend to 'adapt' to their accent, slang and pronounciation. it's fine.but don't try to hard to sound 'american'.they understand your asian accent, don't worry. but try adapting their words and slang more. I mean such as "cart" instead of "trolley" or "cracker" instead of "biscuit." don't fret. you should be fine. besides south park and dave chappell show, watch family guy too. it's funny :D ps: i still wish i can write better. |
__________________________________________________ ___ tak kenal maka tak cinta |
i also know of some ppl (chinese) who are very proficient in english but could not speak mandarin at all. they just look very cocky and look down upon those poor in english.
they think that they are more superior ! i mean some only...no offence at all :D :) |
it's not merely a matter of worth or not worth. as a chinese, i believe it is a must to know how 2 speak mandarin. a man who doesn't know or learn how 2 appreciate his culture is nothin more than a rootless tree. [/quote]
i agree wholeheartedly with u |
| Bookmarks |
| Tags |
| education, english, improvement, language, recommendation, tips |