| Jabatan Perkhidmatan Awam (JPA) Scholarships Everything about scholarships provided by the Public Services Department of Malaysia |
Super Moderator
I would say, great chance, if only results is considered. I don't know about others.....
Geez, I feel tempted to quote you but the page will be dragged down for sure.
2) I do not mean that liberal arts and others are inferior to others. Just that instead of going into main stream, why not consider other alternatives? Alternatives doesnt necessary means inferior. Yes, I know A1s are not indicator of cleverness but it does when it comes to JPA judgment. Look, 10A1s are excellent in my opinion. But to JPA and other sponsors, you are still one class lower than those with 12A1. And 12A1 are still in lower class than 14A1s. As for Medic, you do know that Medic is hot cake to all SPM grad. Obviously, the standard will be raised when there were too many good students applying for the scholarship. And in that case, your chances will be slimmer if your results are just "good". 3)Both of our statements are mere asusmption. There are people who do bad in their SPM but excels in their Pre-U and there were people who did excellent in SPM but terribly in Pre-U. The main point here is that SPM do not indicate good result in Pre-U. I do not wish to diminish or make others doubt of their ability. What i meant here is that, do not chase blindly to the major course. Take a deep breath, rethink what you really want. Thats all. I am sorry if you feel that way. Btw, I do know about US education and I think their system is great. If I am not mistaken, during the first two year, you ought to take the courses from all 4 disciplines. In the third year only you will be taking courses related to your major. P/S: I am no medic scholar nor i did get 14A1s. Heck, I didnt even get 10A1s! lol Last edited by davidchak; 21-03-2008 at 03:30 AM. Reason: New ideas! |
Well, the number of A1s doesn't really determine whether the student gets the course of their dreams or not. Just look around you guys, i'd bet there are students that only have 6As and still managed to get into the medical programme
"Never argue with an idiot (or a troll)… they’ll just drag you down to their level and beat you to a pulp with their experience." -Internet 1:1 It is always good to be naive, for when we cease to be naive, it is the end of life as we know it! Check out our ReCom wiki! Do contribute by writing or editing the existing articles so that everyone now and in the future can benefit from it! |
The amount of A is really the indicators of success in securing the JPA scholarship... He never mentioned As are the indicators of success in future... Davidchak never implied anything that Biotech or Liberal Arts are inferior.. He promoted the equal in nobility of all kind of jobs - He wrote 行行出状元, "all jobs is good jobs"! Last edited by Al-Bert; 21-03-2008 at 09:57 AM. |
Rereading it, I find that his (davidchak's) words are not insulting by themselves, that I have to admit.
But reading them under the heading "Are you good enough for JPA?" made me raise my eyebrows. Coz' when I connect the statements to the heading, I read nuances... and his usage of ( "good" ) made me think he's implying 10 1As is a horrible result. If I think that something is good, but not great, then I differentiate the two by saying: you need great results to secure Medic- good results might be insufficient in the eyes of JPA... rather that "good" results... I usually use " XXX" to emphasize on sarcasm. (the quotation marks is used to indicate sarcasm- geez I am wording this badly) Perhaps I am just oversensitive- overanalyzing and thinking too much- making deductions out of nothing of substance. *bow head* I apologize. Gomen! Oh. David. I agree about the JPA and SPM student perception on 12 1As and Medic. It shows the mentality... Sadness in mentality. Where has true passion gone? A good number of those who are studying medic (source from a JPA medic scholar in Manipal) take it merely because it has good prospects. good money etc. I'm not entirely sure I want someone so nonchalant about the profession treating me! Think properly before you decide- I have had establish doctors in my local hospital advising me against taking medicine. (hence I have never even entertained thoughts of taking up medic) Don't jump on the bandwagon. Look beyond what's popular to what you're truly passionate about. oh. and you did get the gist of US education. That's why I love it so much. =D I can study close to anything I want if I have the time and if the university offers it
"Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the decision that something else is more important than fear. The brave may not live forever, but the cautious do not live at all." --- Ambrose Bierce |
"Never argue with an idiot (or a troll)… they’ll just drag you down to their level and beat you to a pulp with their experience." -Internet 1:1 It is always good to be naive, for when we cease to be naive, it is the end of life as we know it! Check out our ReCom wiki! Do contribute by writing or editing the existing articles so that everyone now and in the future can benefit from it! |
| Bookmarks |