Meet the Moderators Get to know your moderators here.

Everybody Loves Youngyew

#1 Old 15-03-2008 Default Everybody Loves Youngyew

Or so I hope.

I am not sure whether some have interpreted Leen's thread as some sort of self-publicity or attention seeking behaviour, but I am sure she meant well. Therefore I shall create another thread for myself, so that she doesn't appear to be the only one doing the "meet the moderator" thread and perceived as vain or anything like that.

I am a full time procrastinator, part-time ReCom addict, and I hope to be a zero-time medical student. (Sigh). Let's know each other better!

p/s: Of course not only moderators are going to introduce themselves in ReCom, I would love to see everyone know each other better too. Do make good use of our social and entertainment corner for social purposes.

Eer... -.-" Zero response here.

Last edited by youngyew; 15-03-2008 at 06:34 PM.
youngyew is offline   Reply With Quote
chiachean Male

#2 Old 16-03-2008 Default

I will be the first...
Hai..
chiachean is offline   Reply With Quote
lazy bunny

#3 Old 16-03-2008 Talking Lol

I second. Xp

尔俸尔禄,民脂民膏,下民易虐,上天难欺。
Xon is offline   Reply With Quote
Al-Bert

#4 Old 16-03-2008 Default

A cliche question here: why do you want to be a doctor?

And i always thought medical students have a hectic and busy life... Wondering why you seems so free most of the time? ( Being ReCom addict and dedicated blogger )

#5 Old 16-03-2008 Default

Originally Posted by Al-Bert View Post

And i always thought medical students have a hectic and busy life... Wondering why you seems so free most of the time? ( Being ReCom addict and dedicated blogger )
I am curious as well. Young yew??
caramel_nut is offline   Reply With Quote
tezuka87

#6 Old 16-03-2008 Default

Me too. Me too. How do you do it?
tezuka87 is offline   Reply With Quote

#7 Old 16-03-2008 Default

Originally Posted by chiachean View Post
I will be the first...
Hai..
Originally Posted by Xon View Post
I second. Xp
Hi chiachean and Xon! Hah I guess I don't really need to introduce myself to you, do I?

Originally Posted by Al-Bert View Post

I kind of wrote about "why I chose medicine" in the past...
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?p=57402

But to keep it short, it's basically due to a few main reasons. One is influence from family members (a few of my siblings are doctors). But the other important reason was that I love helping people, and the satisfaction of seeing something I did that works. Yes it sounds cliche but anyone who knows me well enough would understand my passion for providing helps.

As for being ReCom addict and a blogger... Eeer... -.-" That's my weakness actually. The reason is because I am an incurable addict. I ought to stop posting more here. Instead I'm planning to stop frequenting ReCom for the next few months as I have a research report coming up really really soon.

tanyijing2007 Male

#8 Old 29-04-2008 Default

Originally Posted by youngyew View Post
Would you mind to provide the source saying that 5 billion is given to each public university each year? As far as I know, 42 billion ringgit is allocated for the whole education in the latest budget, 30 billion of which is for MOE while the rest is for MOHE. 5 billion to each public uni doesn't sound right to me.

176 billion ringgit was the total budget for 2008, 42 billion from which was for education (around 25%, which is close to 30%).
Youngyew, may you answer some of my questions specially for you? (Some quite stupid questions... As you are really admirable for your knowledge and your language ability.)
1. Are you english-educated?
2. How old are you?
3. Are you a JPA scholar? or any other corporates' scholars?
4. How can I improve my language ability, i mean that, English proficiency.
tanyijing2007 is offline   Reply With Quote

#9 Old 29-04-2008 Default

Moved the two posts.

You are flattering me... There are many ReCommers out there who are more knowledgeable and write much better than me. Anyway, for your questions:

1. I was Chinese-educated and went to Chinese school up to Form 5.

2. Hint: <------

3. I am under JPA.

4. In terms of writing, the best way and possibly the only way to improve your command is to read and write more. There isn't really any shortcut to improve one's language. Learning vocabs and memorising sentences might help you write one or two good sentences, but even so if you do not have a good grounding in your language, the one or two better words and sentences are going to stick out like a sore thumb - it can make you sound "fake". Also, some people have the habit of applying obscure vocabs they learned off thesaurus, but often they are used in the wrong context, so those vocabs actually magnify their incompetency in the language.

Last edited by youngyew; 29-04-2008 at 01:31 PM.
ZhannaC

#10 Old 29-04-2008 Default Perasan..

Sorry, that's my first impression of your thread. When I saw the title 'Everyone Loves Youngyew', I thought, gee, this guy has some crazy fans out there.

Then I saw the thread starter's name..

Anyway, hi hi. I joined this forum recently and thought it was the kinda 'look look see see abandon' forum.. then over the past few days I find myself logging in more and more..

Great job, mods! This is the only forum I've been where people don't get scolded for going off-topic. You mods ever so kindly just move posts to where they ought to be. Hehe. Will post at the other mod's threads when I've more energy later.. just thought I'll start with the most perasan thread.
ZhannaC is offline   Reply With Quote