ReCom Sports Bar Talk about your favorite sports here

Thomas & Uber Cup

chess_the_world

#1 Old 05-02-2008 Default Thomas & Uber Cup

http://www.internationalbadminton.org/Jakarta.asp

From 11 ? 18 May, Persatuan Bulutangkis Seluruh Indonesia (PBSI) will host the Thomas Cup (?Men?s Team World Badminton Championship?) and Uber Cup (Men?s Team World Badminton Championship) in Jakarta.

The event will attract 12 top national teams from the five continents for each of the Thomas and Uber Cup competitions ? (4 from Asia, 3 from Europe and one form Oceania, Africa and Pan-America ? with the remaining places going to the defending Champions, China in both Thomas & Uber Cups 2005 and the host nation ? Indonesia.
BMW R1200GS

Last edited by chess_the_world; 22-01-2011 at 03:04 AM.
chess_the_world is offline   Reply With Quote
chenchow Male
ReComer

#2 Old 06-02-2008 Default

Thanks for starting this thread.

I think the Thomas and Uber Cup Qualifier is coming real soon. Anyone with the info (I know it was published several days ago), could highlight it.
chenchow is offline   Reply With Quote
chess_the_world

#3 Old 06-02-2008 Default

You are welcome. I'm looking forward to it too.
vaporizer

Last edited by chess_the_world; 22-01-2011 at 03:04 AM.
chess_the_world is offline   Reply With Quote
forEVA

#4 Old 06-02-2008 Default

bah... y does it have to be jakarta..? i MIGHT consider flying over to support msia n meet my fav player (see avatar) now that i have a free year ahead, not until august at least. i hope. anyways, anyone going? fly airasia! lol
forEVA is offline   Reply With Quote
haneulsag

#5 Old 06-02-2008 Default

Well...what are the chances of Malaysia winning?Can Malaysia beat those badminton giants like China and Indonesia?

Though Lee Chong Wei (2nd), Koo Kien Keat-Tan Boon Heong (3rd) and Chong Tan Fook-Lee Wan Wah (4th) are all ranked top places in the world...yet...it has been all ups and downs so far...never a consistent performance from our Malaysian players...

Is it the mentality of our players?the problem of coaches?or the lack of rewards and incentives?

Since 1992...we have not been able to lift the trophy...haiz...Juz hope that Malaysia can relive those winning years during the 50s or 60s...
haneulsag is offline   Reply With Quote
forEVA

#6 Old 06-02-2008 Default

msia is no doubt bad in team events. this is weird. they can win in super series' events but not in team events. it's almost like they're lacking team spirit or something..
forEVA is offline   Reply With Quote
chenchow Male
ReComer

#7 Old 06-02-2008 Default

I would say that super series require 1 player or 1 pair to be at top-form, but for Thomas Cup and Uber Cup, we would need to be all rounders for quite a number of players.

Thomas Cup Asia Qualifier:-
Group A: Malaysia, Taiwan, Phillipines, Cambodia
Group B: South Korea, Singapore, Vietnam
Group C: Japan, India, Pakistan
Group D: Hong Kong, Thailand, Sri Lanka, Macau

Uber Cup Asia Qualifier:
Group W: Japan, Thailand, Sri Lanka
Group X: South Korea, SIngapore, Cambodia
Group Y: Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong, Vietnam
Group Z: Malaysia, India

For Thomas Cup, there are 4 slots from Asia, whereas for Uber Cup, there are 3 slots from Asia.

The Asia Qualifier would be on 19th to 24th February at Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam.
chenchow is offline   Reply With Quote
andrewlza Male

#8 Old 07-02-2008 Default

(cancelled)
andrewlza is offline   Reply With Quote
prince_J
Prince in Making

#9 Old 15-02-2008 Default

Hmm... Based on my experience, Malaysia should stand a great chance to land the title this time! Cause Malaysian players are getting more and more consistent now, as in, based in skills, not number of titles!

For Uber Cup, the emergence of Mew Choo and some new players like Julia and Lydia definitely give other nations a run for money! But then, of course, it will already be an achievement if they can proceed to the Finals, which i think they can easily do it!

Malaysia Boleh!
prince_J is offline   Reply With Quote

#10 Old 15-02-2008 Default

The players seem to lack confidence. Koo and Tan falls apart when in stress. Lee Chong Wei seems prone to a fever during important matches as well.
jayden is offline   Reply With Quote