Malaysia Today Discussion about issues related to Malaysian politics and economy.

General Election 2008

View Poll Results: How many seats can opposition wins in this General Election
0-10 2 4.35%
11-20 2 4.35%
21-30 8 17.39%
31-40 4 8.70%
41-50 3 6.52%
51-75 4 8.70%
76-111 (Deny BN 2/3) 18 39.13%
More than 111 (Opposition wins) 5 10.87%
Voters: 46. You may not vote on this poll

chenchow Male
ReComer

#1 Old 03-02-2008 Default General Election 2008

With election fever coming on, lets have 1 single thread to discuss on General Election.

Lets try to discuss objectively and one of the ground rules, is that lets not make personal attack against anyone, irrespective of which political party they are.

This is a platform for us to evaluate the performance of our elected representatives.
chenchow is offline   Reply With Quote
maxx Male

#2 Old 03-02-2008 Default

let us stop the chaos rally, and voice our views by putting "X" on the box we like....

Don't be cheated
Don't be foolish
Be rational
maxx is offline   Reply With Quote
lazy bunny

#3 Old 03-02-2008 Default

After SPM and STPM results release will be a good time. MORE SCHOLARSHIPS!!! A FAIRER PLATFORM...

BTWW,sorry to ask,what's the main topic of coming GE?
Xon is offline   Reply With Quote

#4 Old 03-02-2008 Default

tis year a bit weird.. ppl dun get as excited as b4 .. like no "promotion", yet
JetLee0510 is offline   Reply With Quote

#5 Old 04-02-2008 Default

Originally Posted by Xon
After SPM and STPM results release will be a good time. MORE SCHOLARSHIPS!!! A FAIRER PLATFORM...

BTW,sorry to ask,what's the main topic of coming GE?
I hate to say this, but i think Malaysians are getting too dependant on the government for scholarships and failed to see any other alternative (private scholarships anyone?). A platform that is totally meritocratic will be nice though.

What is the topic for the next GE?
1. Unfulfilled past election promises
2. racial tension provocated by extremists groups within the government
3. rising daily costs of living
4. scandals
5. corruption
6. totally incapable oppositions

Why is it so quiet? media blackout i guess. The opposition blogs are all over with it already.

lXl Male

#6 Old 05-02-2008 Default

Why is it so quiet ? All government-controlled media (esp TV3-BUletin Utama) is all out campaigning since last December.
ReComer

#7 Old 05-02-2008 Default

Do hope to see more ReComers understand more about General Elections and also try to chip in your thoughts/ideas into it.

Would hope that fellow ReComers would be objective in looking at issues from both angles, from those projects that have been implemented and its impacts, and also from those projects that could have been implemented and its impacts.

Lets look at issues stand point and not be fanatic of taking stands, be it for the government or the oppositiion side.
chenchow is offline   Reply With Quote
Appolo

#8 Old 06-02-2008 Default

Well, the general elections definitely brought a lot of advatnges for the people.As the dates are still in speculations by different parties, the government or in this case the candidates are beating around the clock to win over the votes of people from their respective constituency.With new faces emerging from differemnt different schools of thoughts, it provides voters with more reason to be aware of their rights and their criteria in selecting in representative of the collective voice of voters.

No doubt that some might question that the ruling government is trying its best to "bribe" the people by givibg ouit sweet candies before the elected as raised by commentators in regards to the Budget last year.However, as vseehua pointed out, we are voters much be more aware of the thorny issues happening in our neighbourhood be it the presence of anarchy in the country or social needs of the people of Malaysia.

I believe that the GE actually creates an avenue foe the people to question about the promises made by the politicians in their region.It is more a matter of awareness and what you look forward to in the victory of a particular politician.

Try and ask yourself these questuions:
1) Do I want a representative that is eloquent or a hard worker that hardly thinks that there's a need to speak about his amibiions and promises.

2)Will the condition be improved or worsen after the results are announced?

3) Is there a need to replace the current representative with a much bolder, newer character?

4) What do you look in a leader? Charm? Charisma? Hard Work?

5) Do you think that changes can be made in your are?

6) How do you vote? By party? By skin color? Or by personal preferences?

That's my two cents regarding this matter.
Appolo is offline   Reply With Quote

#9 Old 09-02-2008 Default

Sorry had to move a personal attack to the post hotel:

http://recom.org/modules.php?name=Fo...=151797#151797

youngyew is offline   Reply With Quote

#10 Old 09-02-2008 Default

By the way, I will not give my personal opinion because of such measures in place:

http://educationmalaysia.blogspot.co...-blogging.html

But if anyone is interested in arguments from both sides...

Re BN camp: Read any newspaper.

Re opposition: Read any socio-political blog. Or this summary:

Then you will have a pretty balanced view.

youngyew is offline   Reply With Quote