Every Little Thing About Medicine Discussion for Doctors, Pharmacists, Potential Doctors, Patients and also Nurse :on Everything about Medicine!

What's Doctor's Salary?

View Poll Results: Guess: Ordinary Government Doctor (MO) Paycheck
<RM2000 11 15.49%
<RM3000 19 26.76%
<RM4000 18 25.35%
<RM5000 13 18.31%
<RM8000 10 14.08%
Voters: 71. You may not vote on this poll

tehjiao

#41 Old 17-05-2008 Default

Originally Posted by duke23 View Post
i sense a tinge of sarcasm there.You dont have to cong"AR"tulate me if i can afford to study abroad.but at the same time i 'd really appreciate it you could remain within context here.Are u faulting me because i can afford to study in a developed country?

I just want to make some things clear.It seems that the local graduates love to harp on the fact that ct scan is easily available abroad.I agree that ct scans are easily available in most developed countries..But just in case you didnt kn ow 1 ct scan = 250 chest x -rays.An astute clinician will easily be able to decide when a CT scan is warranted for and when its not because no doctor will want to predispose a patient to such huge amounts of radiation and potentially put the patient at risk for other pathology( ie malignancies) down the road.Have you checked the CPG's in the United states for headaches ?if yeah show proof..dont tembak about the ct positive and ct negative headache.maybe you can tembak to the young recommers who have no experience in the medical field yet..but not everyone is that gulible or uninformed.All the CPGs in north america,australia,canada,UK other countries are evidence based not based on bullshit ( i deduce that was what you were trying to imply in your post).Dont generalize based on the American qualified internist at your hospital.If that's the case,there are hundreds of incompetent local medical graduates out there too.

i rest my case here.
i'm not here to look for a fight. As u said, i haven't read US protocol for ct scan. So does it mean that i can't comment on it? If yes then I would keep my mouth shut for everything regarding medicine as i don work there, i don study their protocol. Is that what u mean?
Back to topic, i've come across a medical journal article (which i couldn't recall which and when, my bad ok?) discussing about defensive medicine in developed country including US/UK increasing depending on advance technology to make a diagnosis, or at least, to make sure nothing they miss. The article did reveal that with the facility available (eg CT/MRI/PET scan) in developed country, more and more patients were referred for many investigations which maynot be Necessary/Indicated if same patient present in developing country. So does this answering your question?

Originally Posted by Lalala11 View Post
Hey tehjiao! I got d jpa scholarship 2 do med. Looks lk i'll be studying overseas anyway. Thanx 4 ur advice Really appreciate em.
Congratulation and wish u all the best. Don't forget to share with us your learning experience over there.

Last edited by tehjiao; 17-05-2008 at 12:29 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
tehjiao is offline   Reply With Quote
blaxice Male

#42 Old 21-05-2008 Default

i love to be a doctor n help people but i love to be wealthy too. lol..
blaxice is offline   Reply With Quote
vaanbalthier Male

#43 Old 21-05-2008 Default

haha, so is evryone....who doesn't want to be wealthy? consider the price of the food and other basic neccessities(how do u spell it??), earning a nice sum of money is wat evryone needs to actually survive in tis world.
people from big cities like kl need to spend a lot of money right??? a plate of nasi lemak here is only rm1-3 at most but at kl the price usually ranges between rm2-28(i had a plate of nasi lemak at madam kwan and it's rm15!!!!)
vaanbalthier is offline   Reply With Quote
Yvonne90

#44 Old 22-05-2008 Default

tehjiaois really nice to hav a doctor here to share their experince with us...well, i wonder,hav u ever feel like u regret being a doctor (since the job seem so hard and is not very rewarding in terms of pay) ? wat u really like and dislike as a doctor.if i work in the public hospital, does tat mean tat i won really hav time for family?
Yvonne90 is offline   Reply With Quote
tehjiao

#45 Old 23-05-2008 Default

Originally Posted by Yvonne90 View Post
tehjiao is really nice to hav a doctor here to share their experince with us...well, i wonder,hav u ever feel like u regret being a doctor (since the job seem so hard and is not very rewarding in terms of pay) ? wat u really like and dislike as a doctor.if i work in the public hospital, does tat mean tat i won really hav time for family?
u r welcome.
I never regret to be a doctor, however, the hectic life style at Government Hospital is definitely pushing me away to continue serving as MO at Gov Hosp. unless u become a specialist or only serving as MO at Gov clinic. Not worth the money and time, as your superior (Head of Department, Health Director, HEalth Minister/politician) won't appreaciate your effort or your welfare is none of their interest. The public/patients also not appreciating your good work/sacrifice as they don't understand "Supply/Demand", "Pay for what u Get", "Your Body is your own Responsibility" and will continue blaming the frontline health worker which is the MOST HELPLESS group.
xiangling Female

#46 Old 17-05-2009 Default Re: What's Doctor's Salary?

hi, I attended the "program pendedahan kerjaya doktor" thingy for all jpa medical applicants. And out of 10 doctors we met, 9 and a half doctors out of 10 of them discourage us from being a doctor.

1. a doctor's welfare is just not cared for. NO MC, gila punya. Sick how aso nid work...

2. I saw how the superiors shouted at the interns in front of the patients. All lumbering bunch of asses they are

3. 36 hours non stop working??? er... can I differentiate left and right then? doubt soo.... (oh, I was working at starbucks... so coffee, well I like coffee, keke)

4. some of the doctors I saw were really stressed out. and i mean really... she practically cried telling us about her life ... agaaah

5. NO DATING! ARRRRRRRGGGGGGHHHH. There's no point... your partner, she or he'll suffer...

and then I ask myself ... still wan become doctor ah?

then I heard myself answer...

ya la.

LoL... wat am I thinking ....
xiangling is offline   Reply With Quote

#47 Old 17-05-2009 Default Re: What's Doctor's Salary?

Who's the half?

youngyew is offline   Reply With Quote
liewxin

#48 Old 18-08-2009 Default Re: What's Doctor's Salary?

waaa....doctors life really that terrible meh??eat oso no time ar???omg!!!ermm..dun they get like a vacation o holiday once in a while??lol...
liewxin is offline   Reply With Quote
davinci518 Male

#49 Old 08-09-2009 Default Re: What's Doctor's Salary?

hey i have a scenario here.. my friend who is a jpa medic scholar at monash is beginning to regret choosing medic since he has to work for the government for 10 yrs to serve the bond when he graduates in the near future. he says that is it possible for him to break the bond and work in australia to pay up the penalty to the government? i personally think he should have thought about it seriously before he signed the contract..

please let me know your views
davinci518 is offline   Reply With Quote

#50 Old 08-09-2009 Default Re: What's Doctor's Salary?

Originally Posted by davinci518 View Post
hey i have a scenario here.. my friend who is a jpa medic scholar at monash is beginning to regret choosing medic since he has to work for the government for 10 yrs to serve the bond when he graduates in the near future. he says that is it possible for him to break the bond and work in australia to pay up the penalty to the government? i personally think he should have thought about it seriously before he signed the contract..

please let me know your views
Break it and let himself be condemned by the hundreds of other students who failed to get the scholarship. He should have thought about his commitments before taking up the offer. 13 years working with the government is not a short time mind him.