All thing Linux Anything related to the penguin.

LINUX FAQ... boleh?

oreoboy

#1 Old 12-10-2003 Default LINUX FAQ... boleh?

hehehe.. just to throw in my permasalahan on linux... me just newbie to linux... so many things still in confuse....

so... can ah if i ask question here....?
oreoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
bachok83 Male
Sleepin' G33k

#2 Old 12-10-2003 Default

sure... you can ask them here.. no worries... say the question is hard, we'll do research together...

bachok83 is offline   Reply With Quote
oreoboy

#3 Old 12-10-2003 Default

wokeh.. wokeh.. tqtq

aderkh.. i've got to go... i've been online for sooooo long today... dialup maaa.. mati woooo!

maybe i am not gonnabe around for 1,2 days.. tired laa.. waiting like jaga in here... got work to do.. bachok knew!!! sssyyyy... ok.. i will be around and be a jaga again later.. daaaaa
oreoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
littlebigone Male

#4 Old 14-10-2003 Default

Need to learn how to use wine....can someone be kind enough to teach?
littlebigone is offline   Reply With Quote
bachok83 Male
Sleepin' G33k

#5 Old 15-10-2003 Default

hmmm.. i've used it before.. i think you can associate the .exe file with wine.. that's how you run it...

in red hat 7.3, it is automatically assigned during the installation... anyway, i'll look at it after class today

bachok83 is offline   Reply With Quote
littlebigone Male

#6 Old 25-10-2003 Default

anyone good enough with linux can teach how to recover from a linux crash? This has happen to me like twice and I don't know how to fix it other than to simply reinstall. So if anyone knows, please share teh knowledge
qedx

#7 Old 26-10-2003 Default

crash macam mana tuh?
qedx is offline   Reply With Quote

#8 Old 26-10-2003 Default

you mean recovering data after the kernel screwed up?
or booting problem?
or corrupted data?
or kernel panick?

why should you reinstall it?.
maybe you want to be more specific when you mean 'crash'

I think the moral is, : always backup the important data.
You can just zip and transfer it to your school account. That's one of the safest place.

If you need to recover, I think it's very hard. We have had once with ReCom server.

We can't get into the system. And the system just didn't boot.

So, we insert the rescue-disk (YOu Must Have This! ), go into the system,
spending around 7hours (around 5 pm - 12.00 am. ) trying bunch of methods, including trying to burn the data into CD, but to no avail.
At last, we manage to copy the data using scp command, tar-zip it, and transfer it to our school account.
(and the problem behave differently from time to time. At that time, we can hardly run ANY command , not even ls command. Strangely, we can use Windoz's dir command. )

So, I don;t think there's one method that manage you to always recover the data. The most important thing when you have problem( classic would be booting problem,) always have rescue disk with you.
And always back-up the data.

After that, you usually want to reinstall Linux again. (since it may corrupt you other data if you keep using it).
masterof_none is offline   Reply With Quote
littlebigone Male

#9 Old 26-10-2003 Default

yah...i couldn't boot up...after power failure......don;t know why.

Then yesterday, i put the hard drive into my regular IDE slot instead of my RAID and it worked. So right now I have no idea what is going on. Maybe RAID and linux is a little unstable rite now.

Anyway, I'm going to sell my com so now using XP again...hehehe....anyone interested?

#10 Old 27-10-2003 Default

did you insert the rescue disk to boot?

I have the same problem before. Did you share the same harddrive with Windows ? ..If yes, that means, it's not your Linux problem, it's Windows'. Windows always want to be in the first partition. and sometime it creates problem.

Using XP again after Linux?. Can you survive without the terminal ?
without gzip, tar , and all wonderful stuff in Unix.?

YOu should try Mac OS X ( now Panther version) . The best Unix box on earth.
masterof_none is offline   Reply With Quote