Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education

Education This is the place where we would discuss anything about education issues!!!

is tuition good or bad for the students

meiso

#1 Old 27-04-2007 Default is tuition good or bad for the students

Ya, anybody interested in discussing about this topic, you are welcomed to discuss here. lately we have heard a lot about people complaining about teachers doing tuition during their free time.But what we know is that these teachers are making living thro' hard work and at the same time helping students to excel, it is a win-win situation, why are these people so jealous and envious of these group and go to the extent of voicing their discontent in the newspaper. Why don't these people talk or complain about government servants doing part-time or direct sale during the office hour which is meant to serve the tax payers. these people are thinking the tuition teachers are bluffing their ways thro' tuition. why don't they give tuition themselves if they are teacher or qualified professionals if earning thro' tuition is that easy.
meiso is offline   Reply With Quote
skygurl89

#2 Old 28-04-2007 Default

teachers can give tuition classes to supplement their income but they mustn't neglect their responsibilities in school. there r teachers who refuse to give further explanation to their school students and will only teach wholeheartedly in tuition classes.
skygurl89 is offline   Reply With Quote

#3 Old 28-04-2007 Default

Originally Posted by skygurl89
teachers can give tuition classes to supplement their income but they mustn't neglect their responsibilities in school. there r teachers who refuse to give further explanation to their school students and will only teach wholeheartedly in tuition classes.
yea yea.. there're some teachers doing tis - "Come to my tuition clas at XXpm tonite, in my house if u wan to noe more."

but tis is only a tiny number... most of them nt teruk sampai this stage...
JetLee0510 is offline   Reply With Quote
Tasslehoff

#4 Old 28-04-2007 Default

I think your title is abit misleading..

Tuition FOR the students... well it really depends on each individual. If the teachers in school are incompetent, then yeah tuition would be benificial FOR the students. If the teacher in school is about average, one can enhance his/her knowledge by attending ADVANCED (aka one form higher) tuitions. If the teacher in school is good, and the kid still insists on going for tuition... I'ld rather he donates the tuition money for a better cause.
Tasslehoff is offline   Reply With Quote
-ELaiNE-

#5 Old 28-04-2007 Default

I find this statement as most unfair to school teachers who give part-time tution with good intentions. I don't see what's wrong in wanting to provide extra help to students in their studies as school hours are limited..besides, schools these days have various other activities that occupy both teacher and student's time(e.g.rehearsals, competitions, celebrations, meetings, etc) Sometimes assembly itself takes up more than 1 teaching period..who is to be blamed? Honestly, i didn't manage to study a lot in school. I used to think that we should only go to school to sit for exams. Since we learn more and better at tuition why don't everyone just attend tuition instead of school? Come on, teachers too have family to support. Giving tuition to gain extra income is understandable. Looking at the condition of schools these days, tuition is definitely essential for students. The proposal to curb school teachers from giving tuition is ridiculous.
-ELaiNE- is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to -ELaiNE- For This Useful Post:

#6 Old 28-04-2007 Default

Originally Posted by -ELaiNE-
I find this statement as most unfair to school teachers who give part-time tution with good intentions. I don't see what's wrong in wanting to provide extra help to students in their studies as school hours are limited..besides, schools these days have various other activities that occupy both teacher and student's time(e.g.rehearsals, competitions, celebrations, meetings, etc) Sometimes assembly itself takes up more than 1 teaching period..who is to be blamed? Honestly, i didn't manage to study a lot in school. I used to think that we should only go to school to sit for exams. Since we learn more and better at tuition why don't everyone just attend tuition instead of school? Come on, teachers too have family to support. Giving tuition to gain extra income is understandable. Looking at the condition of schools these days, tuition is definitely essential for students. The proposal to curb school teachers from giving tuition is ridiculous.
yes, but to hold up teaching in school so that the students can 'get extra info by taking tuition' from them is ridicules...

#7 Old 28-04-2007 Default

Originally Posted by JetLee0510
Originally Posted by skygurl89
yea yea.. there're some teachers doing tis - "Come to my tuition clas at XXpm tonite, in my house if u wan to noe more."

but tis is only a tiny number... most of them nt teruk sampai this stage...
ya lor ya lor..
white2020 is offline   Reply With Quote

#8 Old 28-04-2007 Default

Originally Posted by vseehua
Originally Posted by -ELaiNE-
yes, but to hold up teaching in school so that the students can 'get extra info by taking tuition' from them is ridicules...

ridiculous...
white2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
meiso

#9 Old 28-04-2007 Default is tuition good or bad for students

Ya, regarding the above topic, we are talking whether tuition is good or bad for students. if the student go for tuition to learn then it really benefits them a lot, as i believe the tuition teachers are giving their best for the price the student pay, in a way to return the service to the student. in school the tuition teachers are teaching with their expertise i believe as tuition teachers are teaching day in and day out on their pakar subject, so undoubtedly, they will perform the duty well. As some parents complain that the tuition teachers are not performing as well as in the tuition class, i would like to ask these parents whether they know about the condition in school.We all know that a school teac not only teach but also do tonnes and variety of work other than teac, like collecting fees, displining the stud, clerical job,and all those donk job which are not concerned teaching.if there are displinary cases, then those teac concerned have to deal with the parents, police if the case is serious like fighting case and undeniably nowadays we can see alot of coverage on studentsfighting etc. Whereas in tuition centre, the teac just concentrate on teac and discussing the questions concerned and nothing else as the stud come to tuition is merely to study and not to..... Another thing, for those teachers not giving tution, are they teaching properly? Actually the ministry of education can carry out some questionaires in sch among the students to find out whether the teachers giving tuition fare better than those counterparts not doing anything extra but wathching tv during their leisure time? If tuition is good for the stud, then why the hustle to make life hard for the teachers as these teac are just erking living thro' the hard work. Just imagine no tuition teac aroung what would happen to the results of the stud, i guess there won't be many high flyers aroung, those concerned should thank the tuition teachers for their hard work in helping to lift the standard of the students in the country!!!
meiso

#10 Old 28-04-2007 Default

ridiculous...
ya, white 2020, what do you mean by ridiculous, is anything wrong with what elain has voiced out regarding teacher doing tuition as part-time job.? Can't you give proper opinion regarding the topic we r discussing?please dont give conclusion based on Inductions 8O