Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education

Education This is the place where we would discuss anything about education issues!!!

brain drain in malaysia

View Poll Results: where are the elites going?
asian countries (singapore) 8 33.33%
australia & new zealand 7 29.17%
european countries 6 25.00%
america 2 8.33%
other countries 1 4.17%
Voters: 24. You may not vote on this poll

evening_go_jogging

#1 Old 22-04-2007 Default brain drain in malaysia

what's your opinion pertaining to the above statement?
where are the elites going?
is it because of the remuneration or the quality of life?
what are the contributing factors?

please vote!
evening_go_jogging is offline   Reply With Quote
gabrielle

#2 Old 22-04-2007 Default

hmmm.....Singapore has sucked a huge portion of our creme through the ASEAN scholarship (strategically offered for std6, form 3 and form 5 studs so that they'll be singaporenised for a long time by the time they're ripe and ready for tertiary education) but of course, many of these studs conitue to pursue their studies at european/ american/australasian unis after their A levels...

which brings me to a question... not all students study and settle in the same country for years. suppose someone studied in singapore at secondary and pre u level and country B at tertiary level, then proceeded to work at country C, technically were thay "drained" to singapore, country b or C?
gabrielle is offline   Reply With Quote
sore_four_eyes

#3 Old 22-04-2007 Default

Originally Posted by gabrielle
hmmm.....Singapore has sucked a huge portion of our creme through the ASEAN scholarship (strategically offered for std6, form 3 and form 5 studs so that they'll be singaporenised for a long time by the time they're ripe and ready for tertiary education) but of course, many of these studs conitue to pursue their studies at european/ american/australasian unis after their A levels...

which brings me to a question... not all students study and settle in the same country for years. suppose someone studied in singapore at secondary and pre u level and country B at tertiary level, then proceeded to work at country C, technically were thay "drained" to singapore, country b or C?
I think that would be... drained to country C, because it'll be country C who gets the benefit of their productivity and etc. Well, if our beloved country decides to be more fair and offer quality education opportunities based on merit and not on keturunan, then only can the 'brain drain' be snubbed out effectively.

But until then, it's over the seas for the 'ACCESS DENIED' victims.
sore_four_eyes is offline   Reply With Quote
limeuu

#4 Old 23-04-2007 Default

eh....................to some people, this is called "trouble drain"..........a phrase 1st coined by our 2nd PM................

and in any case, the favourite words of our ruling poiltical party is "kalau u tak suka, boleh keluar"................so what's new?............
limeuu is offline   Reply With Quote
evening_go_jogging

#5 Old 23-04-2007 Default

yeah, i agree with limeuu.
once someone said "if you (foreign tourists) don't like the way the malaysian police act, then don't come to malaysia."
summer_wizard

#6 Old 23-04-2007 Default

too many unfairnesses in malaysia...education, employment, etc etc...
that's y people going elsewhere...
summer_wizard is offline   Reply With Quote

#7 Old 23-04-2007 Default

Originally Posted by summer_wizard
too many unfairnesses in malaysia...education, employment, etc etc...
that's y people going elsewhere...

yea...agree..
IMO, racial polarisation in the education system is the main factor...
is there still any meritocracy in current education system??? 8O
sAmurAi-X is offline   Reply With Quote
capablanca Male
Laziest

#8 Old 23-04-2007 Default

Worst thing is the low income and priority to bumi.
capablanca is offline   Reply With Quote
evening_go_jogging

#9 Old 23-04-2007 Default

may i know what is IMO?

#10 Old 23-04-2007 Default

In My Opinion

variation: IMHO, In My Humble Opinion