Originally Posted by day_dreamer
Originally Posted by kpchen
Originally Posted by day_dreamer
OK... Wei_Ming,
Mind telling me in detail of how to fight for a place in Medic for NUS ?
How about participation in the National Science Fair ? A High Distinction in Kuiz Kimia ? Toppled up with 4 As in STPM plus Muet Band 6 ??
Also ... Will fluency in Japanese helps in getting admission ?
Just wanna interrupt, my friend who got 3A, 1A- was shortlisted for the NUS Medicine interview this year. Band 6 for MUET (very important it seems). Didn't participate in any major academic quizzes/competitions. But she's a sterling qu zhen player. Of course, I'm not sure whether she mentioned that in her application form =)
And the reputation of the school you studied in during Form Six might play an important part as well.
Probably they want an all-rounded student instead of a book worm ??
Ok, first off, get yourself shortlisted for the interview. I dunno how to advice you on that cos I dunno the absolute criteria they use for short-listing students and I dunno how the competition from your batch may be like. This year's short-list is already out and the essay tests are over. Studying in Singapore and being a guy gives you an advantage for getting short-listed as I said.
After you get short-listed, now that's a different story, you'll have to do pretty well in both the essay tests and the interview and you'll stand a very good chance cos by then, they probably think your results and other stuff are good enough, they just wanna know how you think and react under pressure. So just do some research on the ethics of being a doctor, the controversy on the HOTA Act and stuff, plus some more on the current needs of Singapore as it strives to become a medical hub in the region.
They might ask you, would you pursue a career in clinical research instead of going down the practical track? If you say yes, might stand you an advantage cos Singapore is currently short of clinical researchers with an MBBS qualification.
I cannot guarantee the questions that will come out but you'll have to help yourself by doing enough research and getting well prepared for the interview and essays. They might ask you about something besides medicine and Singapore. Might even ask you to tell a story regarding your life and stuff. Just be confident of yourself and look confident, dun get flustered under stress.