Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Activities Hub > ReCom Fun Center > Walking Along the Path of Life

Walking Along the Path of Life The title says it all. =P

Failed my driving test! Am I the stupidest one here?

View Poll Results: How'd you do on your behind the wheel test?
I passed, anyway. 112 77.24%
I failed either the hills, or parallel parking. 17 11.72%
I failed highway test. 16 11.03%
Voters: 145. You may not vote on this poll

SunMi

#1 Old 17-04-2007 Default Failed my driving test! Am I the stupidest one here?

Yeah, so I'm, ahem, trying to get my license at, shall we say, a more advanced age. And yes, as the thread title indicates, I failed. Not the written one, the behind-the-wheel thingie. It's for the 2nd time!

Why me? WHY? Did anyone else here fail their drivng test? Do you have a story or some wisdom to share, to comfort me?
SunMi is offline   Reply With Quote

#2 Old 17-04-2007 Default Re: Failed my driving test! Am I the stupidest one here?

Originally Posted by SunMi
Yeah, so I'm, ahem, trying to get my license at, shall we say, a more advanced age. And yes, as the thread title indicates, I failed. Not the written one, the behind-the-wheel thingie. It's for the 2nd time!

Why me? WHY? Did anyone else here fail their drivng test? Do you have a story or some wisdom to share, to comfort me?
i had friends who had failed more times than you do.

driving is a stressful activity if you can't do it properly. And i had seen some people who can drive properly even after passing the test. I suggest you talk to your driving instructor to discuss about your mistakes during the driving test and see what you can do about it...

but anyway, like always, failure is just another stepping stone to success...

on the side note: I had also heard of cases where the driving examinator refuses to pass the student without duit-kopi...

yhc

#3 Old 17-04-2007 Default

You are not alone, some of my friends failed their driving test with just some slight mistakes. Even for my sister, she had failed her test for motorcycle for 7 times...at last she had passed the test.
Failed? try again and again till you succeed. All the best to you!!!

the "side note" above happens at my place too... the tester also created shortcuts..hehe
yhc is offline   Reply With Quote

#4 Old 18-04-2007 Default

sometimes, it's better to ask how rather than asking why...especially after failures..

Super Moderator

#5 Old 18-04-2007 Default

I failed 2 times.. the driving part as well. Keep trying.

The first time i failed to look behind my shoulder before switching lanes... there was no car anyways, it was a dead street, but failed irregardless.

the second time, i failed because i forgot to give a my signal lights while doing a K turn, also on a off-street where it was totally dead.

So my advice is, do everything by the book.
Thirdshifter is offline   Reply With Quote

#6 Old 18-04-2007 Default

I hope that people learn to keep their steering steady while glancing back. Last week I almost ran into a concrete barrier because of the driver's ineptitude while doing this.

Basically the driver has just got his license for one year. He is quite unstable on the wheels, and from what I observed he follows the book quite closely while he drives.

We were on a highway when the incident happened. We were taking a highway exit when he decided to change lane. So he did what he was supposed to do - look behind before shifting lane. He couldn't keep his steering still, and after half a second or so the car veered dangerously close to the concrete barrier and almost crashed into it. Just when the car was only one foot from the wall, I reflexively pulled the steering away from the wall and fortunately saved ourselves from a bad accident. And all the while we were travelling at something like 60 - 80 km/h.

The driver could have avoided this from happening if he did not change lane at such a dangerous place (a highway exit, of all places!), and probably, did not watch behind his shoulder for a prolonged duration. And he should have learnt to keep his steering still while glancing back too - the car veers whenever he glances back.

Above is just my two cents about safe driving.

youngyew is offline   Reply With Quote
yhc

#7 Old 18-04-2007 Default

foooh, youngyew, luckily you acted fast enough.

When i was in the process to get my driving licence, i felt so stressful to drive, because my coordinations wasn't good maybe The moment i looked behind, i didn realise my directions; the moment i did that, i forgot my speed....hmm, luckily experienced someone sat beside to control my steering, if not accident would happen already...

..yea...we have to focus and practise road safety when we drive...
yhc is offline   Reply With Quote
Hosea

#8 Old 23-06-2007 Default

I failed my driving test the first time too. ( after close to 30 hours of lessons!) It was in the part when I had to get the car over the hill. I landed on the yellow line just fine. But I probably had not pulled the hand brake all the way up, coz the moment I let go of the brake pedal, the car went sliding merrily backward....
Hosea is offline   Reply With Quote
herm

#9 Old 04-05-2008 Default

lucky i dun fail my driving test.hehehe..jz got my P license March.
anyway,when i was practise driving i do knock into the tiang-tiang thr lah.
i manage to pass with lucksssss.YIPEEE.
herm is offline   Reply With Quote
Chrisntine

#10 Old 04-05-2008 Default

i nearly failed. my car mati enjin 5 times. =.= and the tester still teach me how to drive. such a great guy. ^^
Chrisntine is offline   Reply With Quote