Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Activities Hub > ReCom Runway > Singapore

Singapore Talk about everything regarding this neighbor of ours

What to do after school / work in Singapore?

jiinjoo Male
Anchors

#1 Old 13-01-2007 Default What to do after school / work in Singapore?

Attend concerts of course! Here's my shameless plug again

http://www.philharmonicwinds.org

The Philharmonic Winds in Concert: An Evening with John Boyd

John Boyd, Conductor
Dai Zhonghui, Trumpet

SHOSTAKOVICH Festive Overture
WAGNER Trauermusik
BACH Toccata (from Toccata, Adagio and Fugue)
WILLIAMS Symphonic Suite
ARUTUNIAN Trumpet Concerto
MUSSORGSKY Pictures at an Exhibition
No. 9 The Hut on Fowl's Legs (Baba Yaga)
No. 10 The Great Gate of Kiev

Of course there are lots more lined up in the year la, I'll put up slowly on this thread.

And of course there are other things to do too - do share

Oh ya, why should you attend a concert:

1. It's cheap - It's *$12 compared to your normal movie ticket at $9, not much diff but you get 100 people entertaining you. Perfect for the evening after dinner.

2. It's good - The scientist all say listening to music can improve your chances of getting straight As in school and get a scholarship. Really! I did!

3. It's cheap and good - due to the NAC grants, lots of performing arts group here gets partial funding from the government, that's why the tickets are at rock bottom prices to attract people like you to come. If you're a school student, you can buy it through your school and get a whoping 60% of the ticket prices back as a form of reimbursement. If you buy in bulk you get 20% off. So imagine trying to get your classmates to come. If 10 of them come, and you get the school to buy, you essentially pay $12 x (100% - 60% - 20%) = $2.40. Wanton mee outside cost $2.50 on average.

*prices exclude $1 sistic fee.
jiinjoo is offline   Reply With Quote
koln_auhc

#2 Old 13-01-2007 Default

dang, terms and conditions always apply

**prices exclude $1 sistic fee

Any recommendations? I like orchestra performance but not every piece of them though.
koln_auhc is offline   Reply With Quote
jiinjoo Male
Anchors

#3 Old 13-01-2007 Default

you come first la... you can get lots of recommendation @ esplanade.
koln_auhc

#4 Old 13-01-2007 Default

dang, i no longer live in singapore la. back home at jb le.
koln_auhc

#5 Old 13-01-2007 Default

aha, another direct scholar. when were u in hc?
chenchow Male
ReComer

#6 Old 14-01-2007 Default

Those in Singapore should go to support jiinjoo! Supporting a fellow ReCom member in performance!
chenchow is offline   Reply With Quote

#7 Old 15-01-2007 Default

Wow... it's on my birthday (21st Jan... *hint hint*).

My family is coming down... but I doubt they will be interested. If they are fine with it I'll ask them to go then... haha...
Anchors

#8 Old 17-01-2007 Default

I have 2 complimentary tickets. If you can get your whole family to come I'll give you the tickets

Unless someone beats you to it - faster tell me!
jiinjoo Male
Anchors

#9 Old 31-01-2007 Default

Another thing to do after school / work is to Exercise!

Ok, actually the thing is I know most of the schooling peeps does it in school, but it would be fun to do it elsewhere sometime! Swim in a CC, play badminton behind some HDB flats, or, join me to go running in ECP! Wouldn't you want to get out of school sometimes?
jiinjoo Male
Anchors

#10 Old 11-05-2007 Default

Publicizing an interesting event for a friend:

TDM (The Digital Movement) is organizing an event called "Blog Out" @ the Geek Terminal (55 Market Street, near Raffles Place MRT) for people in the (local) blogosphere to meet (face to face *gasp*).

This will be on 24 May 2007, 7pm onwards till late. Details on the website:

http://www.thedigitalmovement.org/blog/out/

Yes there will be booze... Yes I think it's a bit like speed dating... Yes I am going... No I'm not going to get drunk... No I have no idea why I'm going also... No you don't have to pay anything...