Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Window to the World

Window to the World Discussions of global issues and latest news.

Think that English is no use?

#11 Old 05-12-2006 Default Re: Think that English is no use?

Originally Posted by vseehua
For those who think that English is no use in their lives...
Haha, that's funny!

Anyway, isn't it more common for people to mishear "thinking" as "sinking", instead of the other way round?

youngyew is offline   Reply With Quote
whatever

#12 Old 05-12-2006 Default

why hasn't the mods shifted this topic? isn't this what theu're good at doing?
whatever is offline   Reply With Quote

#13 Old 05-12-2006 Default

Probably, because this might be considered the right sub-forum? Seriously, find me "mis-moved" threads and give me good reasons, and I will help you move them to the right sub-forum. Please don't generalize all moderators as ruthless thread-movers who acts by their whims and fancies.

whatever

#14 Old 06-12-2006 Default

Originally Posted by youngyew
Please don't generalize all moderators as ruthless thread-movers who acts by their whims and fancies.
did anyone say that? siapa makan cili, dia rasa pedasnya...

Window to the World
Discussions of global issues and latest news.
i don't see how that applies here; the entertainment et al. forum suits this thread better, imho....
whatever is offline   Reply With Quote

#15 Old 06-12-2006 Default

While the advert is very funny to look at, it's also a message about the importance of language in communication between humans. How is language and culture not a global issue?

#16 Old 06-12-2006 Default

Originally Posted by whatever
Originally Posted by youngyew
Please don't generalize all moderators as ruthless thread-movers who acts by their whims and fancies.
did anyone say that? siapa makan cili, dia rasa pedasnya...

Window to the World
Discussions of global issues and latest news.
i don't see how that applies here; the entertainment et al. forum suits this thread better, imho....
Sigh, instead of arguing over "XX forum suits this thread better", shouldn't we divert more attention to having more constructive discussions?

It's funny you said "siapa makan cili, dia rasa pedasnya", when I didn't quote your post at all. From your post "Why hasn't the mods shifted this topic? Isn't this what theu're good at doing", if "they" don't refer to the moderators, maybe I need to relearn my English.

Please, be responsible about your statements by proving your point, instead of shifting the burden of proof to me by playing games like "Eih I got say I refer to you meh? You sendiri perasan lah...". This does not help in any discussion at all.

By the way, regarding the suitability of this topic in this section, I agree that it might belong to the Entertainment section as well. However, since vseehua gave a good reason for this thread to be in the Windows to the World section, I think let's just move on.

#17 Old 29-12-2006 Default

I would love to be intelligent enough to speak several languages. lanugguages are such a hastle.
PJKru is offline   Reply With Quote
Estrella

#18 Old 08-01-2007 Default

funny ad!!! cant he just use his common sense??? LOL
Estrella is offline   Reply With Quote
haneulsag

#19 Old 08-01-2007 Default

English is undeniably important in the global society today...while Mandarin is getting much popularity, being able to cope with the language gives you the extra edge...

It's such a pity that many students in Malaysia are still not good in English especially in communicating verbally...can't they realise the simple fact? English opens the door to the world!!

Pull up your socks and polish up your English!
haneulsag is offline   Reply With Quote