Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education > SPM & STPM

SPM & STPM Post questions on SPM and STPM topics ONLY.

Foreign University Application for STPM students

aikws

#1 Old 11-10-2006 Default Foreign University Application for STPM students

I notice many A level or Government sponsored students receive lots of advice and help from their respective colleges in applying to overseas universities. I hope this thread is able to provide STPM students some help if they are interested in applying to foreign universities.

For current STPM students, drop any question you like. For STPM leavers, drop any tips you have. Hope this helps more STPM students to achieve their dreams.
aikws is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to aikws For This Useful Post:
sunshine88

#2 Old 11-10-2006 Default

cool aikws...u've opened one useful thread for form six students.Applauding u for your consideration for others.
Ok,i shall post the first question here.
For the time being,i possess my GCSE 1119 as my english language qualification.....And if i wish to take IELTS,it will cost me RM510.Now,some unis in UK accept this GSCE 1119....However,i suspect that applicants who has IELTS will be given top priority than applicants with GSCE 1119...Can this be true?
Is it advisable for me to take IELTS to be on the safe side......
sunshine88 is offline   Reply With Quote
aikws

#3 Old 11-10-2006 Default

Usually you only take IELTS after you have received your conditional offer. So, I dont think they take IELTS into consideration when deciding the conditional offer. You should wait for the university to tell you whether to take IELTS.
aikws is offline   Reply With Quote
sunshine88

#4 Old 11-10-2006 Default

thank u,aiwks....I find that it's not easy to apply for a medic course especially in USA.i searched some websites,and they don't even ask the applicants to submit SAT scores...They want the applicants to have at least studied one year at accredited colleges in USA or Canada.While applying for a medic course in UK,i.e cambridge,oxford.. isn't a piece of cake too...Their BMAT test...espcecially section 3 is terrifying... 8O hey,aiwks,u applied for medic huh...?have u sat for BMAT?What sort of question u got/choose for section 3..?tough?.any tips
bush

#5 Old 12-10-2006 Default

Originally Posted by sunshine88
thank u,aiwks....I find that it's not easy to apply for a medic course especially in USA.i searched some websites,and they don't even ask the applicants to submit SAT scores...They want the applicants to have at least studied one year at accredited colleges in USA or Canada.While applying for a medic course in UK,i.e cambridge,oxford.. isn't a piece of cake too...Their BMAT test...espcecially section 3 is terrifying... 8O hey,aiwks,u applied for medic huh...?have u sat for BMAT?What sort of question u got/choose for section 3..?tough?.any tips
That's because medicine is a graduate degree. SAT is only for those applying for an undergrad degree.

Not too sure about that. I believe you need to have a first degree before you can apply to med schools. Which means, what you said is not true. I may be wrong.
bush is offline   Reply With Quote
chenchow Male
ReComer

#6 Old 12-10-2006 Default

For application to US/Canada medical school, you would need to have a basic bachelor's degree first. For UK/Aus/M'sia and elsewhere, you could go there for your 1st degree.

So, if you plan to go to US for medical school, you would need to take a degree in any field (really, it is any field), although if you could have it more aligned to medical field (eg: Biotech, Biomedical, Biology etc) would be better. There are students with music, English major getting into US universities for medical school.

You would need to take MCAT, which is the standardized exam, if you want to pursue studies at US for medical school.
chenchow is offline   Reply With Quote
sunshine88

#7 Old 12-10-2006 Default

huh..in that case...i should prepare myself for other countries like australia and UK...
Daniel

#8 Old 12-10-2006 Default

Hi guys, i need your advice. Before i got started, let me just go through my problems. recently i have been accepted to study at CUNY (city university of new york or the so called poor harvard by the wikipedia...)

-I have a sister which is currently living in new york with her own family

-Next month, my parent are going to migrate to new york as well since they have got their PR. So i will be lonely at here...

-My sister and my mother encourage me to further my study/migrate to new york. And after a few months they will try to apply for my PR as well(since i will be entering US with student visa) and stay permanently at USA

My father oppose it because he afraid that nobody is able to bear my education fund. Furthermore i have been admitted into one of the public University with a course that i wanted so much in Malaysia. If i choose to enter CUNY, i will have to start all over again. It's just like wasting a year.

My problems is that
1.I have been admitted into CUNY in Accountancy course. Which i not really keen to study. But then, my sister said that the most important thing is to get my student visa and enter new york. And after that i can still manage to change my course to engineering course

2.As a non-resident in new york, i will have to pay around 2K in us dollars in order to support my education fees and living expenses. My sister said that she is going to bear part of it, but the problem is how am i going to find the other part? My sister also said that it's very easy to find job for a student like me at new york in order make end meet. But i wonder is it true that a student at there is able to earn that much to support his/her own living expenses? Especially when i am a foreign student.

3.Once i have gratuated from CUNY, is it my engineering course will be recognised by our country?

at the moment, i am very blur about my future, should i just continue my study at malaysia or should i migrate/study to new york in order to have a better future and more opportunity?? haiz...
Daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Faith_chris

#9 Old 13-10-2006 Default

Hehe, a realy good thread started here.

Daniel, I think U shouldn't be too worried bout the money matters.
Coz from what I know, what ur sis told u is more than true, and some even can start a saving from the salary!!
So, it is reall all up to ur own decision of country and course.
actually, I think that a person's future is not dependant on the place that we get our degrees and stuff. If u really have the semangat to do great things in ur life, local U is not a deterrent.
Well, unless u have the desire to try out a whole new life in a whole new place, which is quite adventurous and lots of great challenge ( nice challenge that makes ur life's story colourful )!!
whatever ur decision is, all the best!!
Faith_chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Faith_chris

#10 Old 13-10-2006 Default

hey, do anyone have any good recommandation for a to-be STPM leaver this year?? I mean, which country actually accepts STPM other than singapore (preferably with good scholarships)??
I am currently taking STPM in less than 40 days and really worried about where to go and what to do after this, I really dun want to miss any good chance that is still out there......

And as for my juniors, please make up ur mind if u r going to go for US, dun wait too long, coz I did that, and now, I have missed the chance d.
Faith_chris is offline   Reply With Quote