Education This is the place where we would discuss anything about education issues!!!

Mathematics Help

newell

#1 Old 10-10-2006 Default Mathematics Help

(A n B) u (A' n B') = (A u B') n (A' u B)

can anyone try to solve this?! i find it really tricky....
Thanks!!!!!
newell is offline   Reply With Quote
newell

#2 Old 10-10-2006 Default tough times!!!

help on the above question!!!! please.... thanks!!!!

#3 Old 10-10-2006 Default Re: need help & solution!!!!!

Originally Posted by newell
(A n B) u (A' n B') = (A u B') n (A' u B)

can anyone try to solve this?! i find it really tricky....
Thanks!!!!!
Starting from LHS:

(A n B) u (A' n B')
= [ (A n B) u A' ] n [ (A n B) u B' ]
= [ (A u A') n (B u A') ] n [ (A u B') n (B u B') ]
= [ U n (B u A') ] n [ (A u B') n U ] ..... U stands for universal set
= (B u A') n (A u B')
= RHS

I am not sure but if Venn's diagram is allowed for this kind of problem, but if it is, you wouldn't need any calculation at all - the result is very obvious if you draw the diagrams.

youngyew is offline   Reply With Quote
chenchow Male
ReComer

#4 Old 11-10-2006 Default

newell, thanks for posting in ReCom.

One suggestion I have when you or any other ReComer post homework/practice questions in ReCom, try to attempt it first and post the first few steps that you know how to attempt.

This will help you more, rather than post and wait for ReComers to help solving the problems, ok?
chenchow is offline   Reply With Quote
newell

#5 Old 12-10-2006 Default

thanks chenchow...next time i will put in the first few steps that i had attempted...

thanks everyone for helping out here...really appreciated it...

by the way, i have attempted this question many times before but, come to no conclusion...
Jei

#6 Old 12-10-2006 Default

this is what level de math ?

#7 Old 13-10-2006 Default

Originally Posted by Jei
this is what level de math ?
I guess STPM lower 6 gua....coz the question is pretty similiar to the question I did under Chapter I:Sets and Numbers

I oso find tat STPM maths is tough....not taking tuition currently....coz I think it won't help me much oso if I dun do practice and exercise by my own.....plus, I gt some Maths geniuses in my class....
4seasonspring is offline   Reply With Quote
Smilehoe

#8 Old 13-10-2006 Default

Hi, seasonspring. hasn't seen you for a while. Seems like you are still around. Oh ya, that's because I haven't visiting recom since a time I can't recall anymore. Anyway, wishing you a belated birthday.

P.s. Moderators, sorry for the out of topic, there will be no more discussion here.
Smilehoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Faith_chris

#9 Old 14-10-2006 Default

hahaha, tuisyen is of no nedd. Definitely!!!! I support whole way.
I dun know why, but I just hated those teachers that have tuisyen classes outside school. Its very respectable if they teach exactly like what they did in school when giving tuisyen, but I found that very few. Very, very few.
Most of them r teaching far more better in those paid tuisyen and more lively too!! Well, maybe coz the smell of money huh!! its so not fair for those that thrusted them so much in school!!

Sorry for running out of topic...... just venting some of my anger here.

coming back to the topic, yeah, STPM math, especially lower six, juz the text book is more then enough. But I really advices u all to really look out for the small details or some " seemed-too-logic-to-bear-in-mind" laws, coz they r the one that can bring U far in doing challenging questions!! however complicated something is, juz remember the basics and start from there. Although slow at 1st, but in time, U will found urself doing exams questions in a wink!!
Good luck!!
Faith_chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Smilehoe

#10 Old 14-10-2006 Default

But I really advices u all to really look out for the small details or some " seemed-too-logic-to-bear-in-mind" laws, coz they r the one that can bring U far in doing challenging questions
Ya, I agree. Most of the time, those challenging questions require understanding in the underlying fundamental concepts. They aren't out of syllabus, it is just that they don't appear in a direct way which you can just substitute the values into the formula.
Smilehoe is offline   Reply With Quote