Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Malaysia Today

Malaysia Today Discussion about issues related to Malaysian politics and economy.

Manglish makes us true Malaysians

#1 Old 25-08-2006 Default Manglish makes us true Malaysians

therefore we must master our beloved Manglish to show our love for the country !

learn proper Manglish here and be a true Malaysian

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manglish

and also

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British...sh_differences

it is also wise to read about our counterpart Singlish on wiki as the analysis on it is extremely detailed and systematic compare the wiki page of Manglish. it even analyses the usage of low class, middle class and high class of singlish and a long list of vacabulary and explaination is also available.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singaporean_English

from now onwards I urge all recomers to communicate strictly in Manglish to show our identity as true Malaysian.

Waaahhh like that oso can ah?
Wei_Ming

#2 Old 26-08-2006 Default

You didn't even use manglish until the last sentence. Which was rather forcefully inserted into your entry. Doesn't sound convincing to me...
Wei_Ming is offline   Reply With Quote
Dr_Tay

#3 Old 26-08-2006 Default

My Shanghainese students seem to think that Manglish is low class working people's English, improper compared to American and British English. Well, I laugh and think that we in Malaysia don't really know the difference. Only in China that the tone is more important than the consonant and the other way around in English speaking countries.
Dr_Tay is offline   Reply With Quote

#4 Old 26-08-2006 Default

Originally Posted by Dr_Tay
My Shanghainese students seem to think that Manglish is low class working people's English, improper compared to American and British English. Well, I laugh and think that we in Malaysia don't really know the difference. Only in China that the tone is more important than the consonant and the other way around in English speaking countries.

if he can think like that I can say Shanghaiise is the chinese version of brutal mafia? how is that? he is playing the "supremacy game" eh?
Shanghaise accent suxx

low class? aint texas english dialect or the hard hard new zealand dialect low class English low class too? has he read socialogy or linguistic? (yeah I might LOL at him too)

Wei Ming, I am just kidding BTW

#5 Old 26-08-2006 Default

here in sydney, manglish is identity. People will know you are malaysian just because the way you speak. I have many ang moh ppl that say 'lah' too.. haha!
Zeroth is offline   Reply With Quote

#6 Old 26-08-2006 Default

Originally Posted by Zeroth
here in sydney, manglish is identity. People will know you are malaysian just because the way you speak. I have many ang moh ppl that say 'lah' too.. haha!

yeap it is natural way of how languages are form. that is if you study linguistic properly and it is nothing to be ashame of and dont get the guilt just because some of the hyprocrite people criticise you for not speaking "proper English"
you can tell these hyprocrites to walk the talk and speak proper heavy British accent. Dont they know there are weird english accents like texas and NZ accents? Even in UK there are varieties of English as well.

So as Malaysian, it is our identity to be what we are.
dont you know? even foreigners try to speak like us
www.shaolintiger.com
Wei_Ming

#7 Old 26-08-2006 Default

Wei Ming, I am just kidding BTW
Sorry sorry. Haha! Low sense of humour.

In Singapore, we identify ourselves by the way we speak even without the lahs and mahs. It's really different in a subtle way. Whether mandarin or english or malay.
Wei_Ming is offline   Reply With Quote
YJ

#8 Old 26-08-2006 Default

Originally Posted by iQing
Originally Posted by Zeroth

yeap it is natural way of how languages are form. that is if you study linguistic properly and it is nothing to be ashame of and dont get the guilt just because some of the hyprocrite people criticise you for not speaking "proper English"
you can tell these hyprocrites to walk the talk and speak proper heavy British accent. Dont they know there are weird english accents like texas and NZ accents? Even in UK there are varieties of English as well.

So as Malaysian, it is our identity to be what we are.
dont you know? even foreigners try to speak like us
www.shaolintiger.com
However, my previous English lecturer strictly discourage we use Manglish...She said " We are learning British English, so speak english in British way."American english is also discouraged.
YJ is offline   Reply With Quote

#9 Old 26-08-2006 Default

yeah she or he is encouraging you to speack unnatural "high-class-ish" version of English.

come on man this is Malaysia not England.

Well it is good if he or she ask you to speak in proper grammar but asking you to speak in proper, british Queens language with the accent like Hugh grant and Harry Potter is.... WTF !

Just look at one of the episodes of Phua Chu Kang where he pretends to speak perfect British accented English and see how fake and hyprocrite he looks. very unsingaporean and immitating.

try to speak like a true British to your friends.

Language is for communication. Dont use it as a show-offs to make yourself look high class. Yes we should speak with proper grammar but not speaking in an unnatural manner.
bush

#10 Old 27-08-2006 Default

correct loh........grammar is the key, not accent.
bush is offline   Reply With Quote