Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education

Education This is the place where we would discuss anything about education issues!!!

Is US university good?

nono

#1 Old 30-07-2006 Default Is US university good?

l want to ask:is us university really good?

wat if compared with uk university?
For example;we compare MIT with Imperial n Cambridge.

As we know,american are poor at maths.Take a look at their SAT maths....

Wat is the reason US university like MIT is so famous that so many people want to go there?

N,what if we compare MIT with NUS?

is it true that we dun need to study at the first year n directly go into the second year in MIT if we apply using STPM cos the first year in MIT is learning STPM things?do correct me if l m wrong.

Is it better we directly use our spm n SAT result to apply to US or use the STPM n SAT?

n....can anyone tell me wat r the advantages of MIT,NUS,Cambridge,Imperial over each other?

if i am not mistaken,Singapore Senior Lee Kuan Yew did say that there is decreasing people go to US university becos their educational standart is decreasing with time....

so,handsome guys n pretty girls!!!give ur opinion!!!!!
nono is offline   Reply With Quote
strikingstar

#2 Old 30-07-2006 Default

Go to a UK uni if you are only interested in 1 major. Go to a US uni if you're not sure where your interests really lie and wish to be allowed time to explore and ultimately end up with a double/triple/multiple major.

There are around 3000 unis in the US. MIT is top-notch. You might be interested to know too that MIT is ranked higher than Cambridge by the most recent THES rankings (a British publication), the very same rankings that placed dear UM at 169.

People want to go to top schs like MIT simply because they are the top. Look at the THES rankings again, 12 of the top 20 are in the US. How many from UK? A measly 4. The US has been outstripping UK in terms of education for quite some time now. Harvard perenially hogs the numero uno spot on most respected publications.

(IMO, most rankings are flawed to a certain extent. But it's the closest we have to what can be passed of as fact.)

If you get good enough grades on the STPM, schs may allow you to skip up to one year of study cos it is true that first year college work is about equivalent to the stuff learnt in the STPM. But that's cos college-bound kids in the US would only have had 11 yrs of schooling prior to college. In contratst STPM students have had 12/13 years of sch. An advantage in being able to skip the first yr of sch is that you can complete your Bachelor's in 3 yrs and get your Masters in your final yr.

NUS is just not in the same league as either MIT or Cambridge.
strikingstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Tasslehoff

#3 Old 30-07-2006 Default

Each university is unique... so it really depends on what you are looking for.. as said above ^^, if you are really sure of what you wanna major in... and thats the only thing u want to major in, well, then UK would be good...
however, if you have a shared interest in some other subjects not really related to you major, eg Music + Mechanical Engineering... you definitely cannot do that in UK..

further more, UG research opportunities in UK is almost non existant... compared to US, there are lots of unis which have this program..

so, its really up to you care-less about what others think, and more about WHAT you want, because its your own future anyways....

oh yeah.. one more thing.. 'prestige' isnt everything.. lol.. dont be disillusioned by the Malaysian mindset.
Tasslehoff is offline   Reply With Quote
bush

#4 Old 30-07-2006 Default

.......Imperial offers music+engineering. Oh yes there are UG research opportunities in the UK, it's compulsory in the final year in most engineering and science courses.

What rubbish......Americans suck in maths? The SAT is just a test to assess all college bound students to see if they have what it takes to survive college. The test is not meant to be academic in style.So easy maths questions doesn't mean Americans are mathematically challenged.

MIT,dreadfully difficult to get into. Diverse in terms of research(though MIT is a technology school, it does conduct active research in fields outside of the sciences). Rich, financial aid is available to all.

Cambridge. Old, traditional, collegiate. A good place to get an education. Not cheap.

Imperial. Superb research, many links and tie ups with corporations. The MOST expensive place to study in, possibly the world. Easy to gain admission if one has the grades.

NUS. Affordable education, comparable to top Australian universities.

Harry Lee is senile, so don't buy what he says.
bush is offline   Reply With Quote
Dr_Tay

#5 Old 30-07-2006 Default

US unis are okay if you want to work in a US multinational and if you wanna work in the States. Equally a UK one is good if you wanna work for a British company and to work in the UK. So really there is no right or wrong answer to your question just depends one which one appeals to your senses.
Dr_Tay is offline   Reply With Quote
zingkov Male

#6 Old 31-07-2006 Default

Nowadays I would say US universities are generally much better than UK universities. US unis love talents whereas UK unis love money.

It is so difficult to gain admission to top-notched US unis like MIT, CALTECH, Harvard, Stanford etc. These universities have got the best students from the world. (You can simply take a 'walk' through MIT's various lab websites, then click on their students' CV and you will understand what I mean). For Master program admission for instance, without any research experience during undergraduate study, there is almost no way to get the admission from MIT or CALTECH, even if you are ranked No. 1 in your university). Comparatively, Cambridge and Imperial etc are much easier to enter.

What I want to say is that the quality of a university depends a lot on the performance/quality of its students.
zingkov is offline   Reply With Quote
Jei

#7 Old 31-07-2006 Default

I think US is better for me and i like it education system.
It is because in US uni, u can explore urself to different things.
US uni produce the graduates who are all rounded.
If u are majoring in buss, u may need to take extra one co subject like science subject. This will show that u are able to be well in others too.
So my next destination of studying is US.

#8 Old 01-08-2006 Default

To add on on what Jei said.

You need to complete a number of courses in a diverse range of fields (science, humanities, writing, maths etc) to graduate. So you are basically forced to explore different things in contrast with the UK system.
eslite is offline   Reply With Quote
nono

#9 Old 10-08-2006 Default

"You need to complete a number of courses in a diverse range of fields (science, humanities, writing, maths etc) to graduate. So you are basically forced to explore different things in contrast with the UK system."

can the student just take the science n technology module to graduate?(without taking any humanities,art)
nono is offline   Reply With Quote
bush

#10 Old 10-08-2006 Default

Originally Posted by nono
"You need to complete a number of courses in a diverse range of fields (science, humanities, writing, maths etc) to graduate. So you are basically forced to explore different things in contrast with the UK system."

can the student just take the science n technology module to graduate?(without taking any humanities,art)
That depends on the university.

Even if you need to take subjects unrelated to your major, they would be introductory courses.
bush is offline   Reply With Quote