Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Debates

Debates Nothing senseless here. Argue your points and stands here.

Movies and religion

#1 Old 10-03-2006 Default Movies and religion

Lately, we talk a lot about religion, but lets talk about something that talks about religions - Movies.

One of the latest examples is Kingdom of Heaven. Its message was simple: God is universal. Your god, is my god.

The only problem I had with it was that it took a politically correct crusader from Franch to figure it out. damn.

Anyway, here are notably good films that touch on religion, or OVERTLY disects religion:

- Matrix - Buddhism, Monotheism (e.g. Jew/Christ/Muslim), Hinduism, Zen, Advaita Vedanta (e.g. One-ness)

- Fight Club - Taoism (e.g. Duality, Yin-Yang), Buddhism (e.g. detachment), Zen (e.g. bliss), Advaita Vedanta (e.g. One-ness).

- Star Wars - Advaita Vedanta (e.g. The source/force, Supreme consciousness), Zen, Monotheism (e.g. Good vs Evil)

- The Message (aka The Messenger: The story of Islam) - The story of Islam (no images of prophets, not even Ali).

Well, these are a few that have got me thinking. Next, I plan to get hold of some Rajini movies (the older Rajini of course).

Any more to share?

===

I know some truth seekers would scoff at the notion that Tao, Vedanta, Buddhism, Zen is a religion, but I say it in a lose sense of way lah...

Zen, Buddhism, Vedanta, Tao doesn't need faith, technically not a religion.
misled_youth is offline   Reply With Quote
bush

#2 Old 10-03-2006 Default

The message?

where can I get it?
bush is offline   Reply With Quote

#3 Old 10-03-2006 Default

Bleach seems 2 be religious too....
meselsohnstahl

#4 Old 10-03-2006 Default

prince of egypt (199
meselsohnstahl is offline   Reply With Quote

#5 Old 10-03-2006 Default

fearless...

#6 Old 10-03-2006 Default

the mummy returns

the scorpion king