Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Malaysia Today

Malaysia Today Discussion about issues related to Malaysian politics and economy.

Malaysia's 'Tulen' policy: Smokescreen for pirated goods?

View Poll Results: Have you bought a 'Tulen' product only to find that it's actually 'Palsu'?
Yes 2 50.00%
No, must be you dreamed it la 2 50.00%
Voters: 4. You may not vote on this poll

oneforthelord

#1 Old 14-11-2005 Default Malaysia's 'Tulen' policy: Smokescreen for pirated goods?

I'm sure everyone is aware that the Malaysian government has placed stickers on products that are certified as 'Tulen' by the authorities in order to help curb piracy. It enables authorities to easily identify products as pirated or real. However, is this really a means to battle piracy?

I want to share a story of what I discovered earlier this year: That sometimes, those products sold in shops that are tagged with the tulen tag and are more expensive than your regular pasar malam products can be pirated as well.

One day in early June, I happened to walk into an anime shop, intending to browse the titles for fun. I saw that Howl's Moving Castle had come out, and since I liked the movie very much I decided to buy it. I assumed that it was an original. THen, when I started watching it, I was slightly irritated that the quality was not 100% clear. It was a little fuzzy, but very watchable still. Oh well, never mind I thought. The sound was alright, not bad quality. The subtitles were weird, though it's to be expected. However! When I reached a scene near the middle of the movie, I got a shock. I saw, moving around at the bottom of the screen, the dreaded hantu kepala! It appeared suddenly, and began moving towards the side of the screen. No wonder the quality of the video was not good! Somebody filmed it in a cinema and sold it as an original. Argh.

Honestly. How the heck did the authorities let this get the 'tulen' sticker? I paid extra for what I thought was an original cd, but in the end I found out that it was actually an unauthorized copy. Is our anti-piracy authority actually doing it's job?

Does anyone have any similiar experiences?
oneforthelord is offline   Reply With Quote
whatever

#2 Old 14-11-2005 Default

Is the shop you bought it from a 'respectable' shop? If so, bring it back to get a refund, if at all posh. Otherwise, bring the case to CASH, which would probably do nothing. But no harm trying, right?

How much did the DVD cost?
whatever is offline   Reply With Quote

#3 Old 14-11-2005 Default

is the tulen tag a holographic sticker or just another ordinary sticker? Can it be replicated easily?

Original cds have a certificate kind of thing stuck to it, make sure you check that as well..
Zeroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Maxforce

#4 Old 14-11-2005 Default

sure la... its a lousy move
waste money oni
take it from someone in the tobacco industry
- now cigarettes should have the "security ink" my to show it is genuine
but guess what, it also can be forged!!!
wats more of a lousy hologram sticker
or how bout HP catridges? lousy hologram security!!! oso forged!!!
those pirates are oso very smart wannnn
Maxforce is offline   Reply With Quote

#5 Old 14-11-2005 Default

Why commit 'crime' when so smart?

I think they have sources that provides them with those stuff.. As in, insiders?
Zeroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Maxforce

#6 Old 14-11-2005 Default

maybe coz they earn more than u and i combined!???
and perhaps the insider they have are informers??

u see, in tobacco industry, the so called security ink is supplied by third party. so how difficult is it to reproduce something similar? besides, you have heard of counterfeit one ringgit coin, havent you? so if the $1 oso can be counterfeit, whats more of some lousy ink and hologram sticker?
Maxforce is offline   Reply With Quote
deRame

#7 Old 15-11-2005 Default

oneforthelord,

one more thing, u should write a letter of complaint to the kementerian dalam negeri concerning this matter. it might alert them to do some investigation since they might not aware that their hologram tulen tag can be counterfeited. and so that with their intelligence units, they can tracked down the culprit.

*digress*

the fake RM1 coins are so easily to be identified laaa. but still the coins are in the circulation. IMO it's the habit of our people who let it to happen anyway. they prefer to use fake coins rather than throw it away. they don't do their part to prevent the counterfeit. truthfully, they don't want to be the rugi ones.
deRame is offline   Reply With Quote
oneforthelord

#8 Old 15-11-2005 Default

I thought of writing to suratkhabar to complain, but I thought it would be pointless, so I didn't in the end. At that time I didn't know I should contact kemetrian dalam negara. Now it's nearly half a year after that leh, will they still decide to investigate?

What I fear is that there are some corrupt people inside KDN actually conspiring with the pirates, and nothing will happen in the end. Is my concern wrongful? Pls advise
oneforthelord is offline   Reply With Quote
deRame

#9 Old 15-11-2005 Default

it doesn't matter actually when the incident happened since fake tulen tag is quite a serious problem. they will definitely give attention to this matter. if u don't trust the people at KDN, try to write to the ones who hold the top posts of KDN such as Datuk Shafie Apdal (minister), Datuk S Veerasingam (vice minister) or Mr. Hoo Seong Chang (setiausaha parlimen KDN). alternatively, u can also write to the state customer association and let them do the job for u. writing the complaint to the newspapers would be the last resort if nothing happens.

well, it may looks troblesome for u to write so many letters but it's our job to prevent piracy and counterfeit. what u will be doing might be a great step to prevent other customers been cheated.
deRame is offline   Reply With Quote

#10 Old 15-11-2005 Default

try to direct download from internet
many anime series are not licenced and it is legal to download them...