Singapore Talk about everything regarding this neighbor of ours

Singaporean Culture

jiinjoo Male
Anchors

#11 Old 28-02-2006 Default

It's ok. Everyone have to learn it at some point in their life. I don't think it's fair to say "HAR?! You mean they don't know how to play miss call?" to a person especially when you don't know the person's background. But then if you grew up wtih handphones, you'd probably have learnt that. Especially back in the days when wireless calls are so expensive and rounds to the minute. I think most plans today round to the second or maybe 6 seconds, so you can still say "I'm here" within 6 seconds.

It's a general case for anywhere in the world lor I feel. I myself grew up seeing people use miss calls to indicate that they are present, or they are ready to fetch a person etc. Did the same in US within Americans (and people from other parts of the world) and now in SG too - although I try to SMS more often now as I just found out I only use some 100 out of the 500 free SMS I get every month
jiinjoo is offline   Reply With Quote
nxwen

#12 Old 12-03-2006 Default

I guess we were taking things for granted. We do things as if we were back home instead of adapting to the local culture. Weeks ago I got a shock when I heard my name being pronounced using Han Yu Pin Yin. I still prefer the Malaysian way of pronouncing it coz it sounded really weird using Pin Yin.

On another issue, I LIKE noodles with tomato sauce!! I guess I'm the one with weird taste huh? When I was young I always put tomato sauce onto fried noodles, the more the better! Till its like eating noodles cooked in tomato souce. So sometimes I feel that there's not enough tomato sauce in the noodles here.
nxwen is offline   Reply With Quote

#13 Old 12-03-2006 Default

according to survey,
singaporean chinese are ashame to be born chinese

they are rootless chinese...
thats the typical singaporean culture there

and men look for wives oversea
they do not want to marry local women
Anchors

#14 Old 12-03-2006 Default

Originally Posted by iQing
and men look for wives oversea
they do not want to marry local women
it's more like local women don't like local men, that's why they prefer to look overseas like Malaysia!

Anyway, you can't believe all these surveys...they take a sample of like 100-1000 ppl and then generalise it.
weich is offline   Reply With Quote