Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education

Education This is the place where we would discuss anything about education issues!!!

Anwar to speak at Michigan University

#1 Old 09-11-2005 Default Anwar to speak at Michigan University

Context: http://www.jeffooi.com/archives/2005..._away_from.php

Most of you aren't at University of Michigan, but lets just say you could attend the talk, and you were interested in the talk, WOULD YOU IGNORE THE WARNING and attend?

Wolverines rulz!
misled_youth is offline   Reply With Quote

#2 Old 09-11-2005 Default

Go Blue!
(pointless post)
topdog is offline   Reply With Quote
__earth Male

#3 Old 09-11-2005 Default

go blue!

(u of m, not m u)

#4 Old 09-11-2005 Default

i hope he comes to my uni too.

#5 Old 09-11-2005 Default

Originally Posted by zAiTsEv
your uni will first have to decide if he's worth the $ they'll have to fork out...
topdog is offline   Reply With Quote

#6 Old 09-11-2005 Default

Originally Posted by topdog
Originally Posted by zAiTsEv
your uni will first have to decide if he's worth the $ they'll have to fork out...
if you were to be given a choice to decide, do you think it's worth it?

#7 Old 09-11-2005 Default

A big, resounding YES. The letter alone makes me want to attend just for the heck of it. But Anwar is an intellectual as well so that's an added bonus.

Besides, why are Msia so concerned about pembangkang? They're supposed to help make the country better through constructive criticisms. If they hate them so much, just eliminate them out of the Perlembagaan lah and be done with this farce they call Democracy.

However, i would be a bit worried about being identified though. I guess I'll just wear a ski mask or something. And make sure to tape a sign in my back that says:

"I'm not a Terrorist. I am merely banned from attending this lecture by my country. Please refrain from taking off my mask, as it is not funny."

Of course, that last statement will have the same effect as the letter above.
bush

#8 Old 09-11-2005 Default

.......NIASI*G, what rubbish is this.........Walaupun saya ditaja oleh kerajaan BN, ini tidak bermaksud bahawa saya setuju akan dasar dan pandangan kerajaan BN terhadap isu-isu tertentu.

Orang masuk universiti ialah untuk membuka minda bukan belajar menjadi robot.......
bush is offline   Reply With Quote
Salvation

#9 Old 09-11-2005 Default

Its not even BN's money, its the taxpayer's money.
Salvation is offline   Reply With Quote
digimushu Male
Prototyper

#10 Old 09-11-2005 Default

Technically, this was not "dianjurkan oleh parti pembangkang". From the website:

http://www.umich.edu/~iinet/iisite/e...20ibrahim.html

"Sponsored by: CICS, Institute for the Humanities, International Institute, U-M Law School, and Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy "