Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education

Education This is the place where we would discuss anything about education issues!!!

Application to UK university

aikws

#11 Old 11-10-2006 Default

Yes, fill it in there.
aikws is offline   Reply With Quote
YiYang

#12 Old 11-10-2006 Default

Thanks,Wei Shen.

1)Do you mean that I would have to fill in the STPM results at the UCAS also?

2)Is there a minimum standard that must be reached for the conditional offer to be made for engineering courses for Universities like ICL?
What if my Predicted Grades in school does not appear to be excellent?Will it pull down my application to place like ICL,UMIST?
or
They stress more on the real results?

Thanks a lot.
YiYang is offline   Reply With Quote
bush

#13 Old 12-10-2006 Default

Originally Posted by YiYang
Thanks,Wei Shen.

2)Is there a minimum standard that must be reached for the conditional offer to be made for engineering courses for Universities like ICL?
What if my Predicted Grades in school does not appear to be excellent?Will it pull down my application to place like ICL,UMIST?
or

Thanks a lot.
There is a lot of confusion in this area. I hope I can help.

Generally, offers(conditional) are made from october to January, that is if you apply immediately or one-two months after the new cycle opens. If you apply at a later date, you should receive an answer from the respective universities 2 months after you have submitted your application. If you are applying for critical courses at good schools(excluding Oxford or Cambridge), please apply before January.

As you can see, most students would not have written their finals yet when they submit their application, so this is where the forecast result comes in. It is absolutely vital that your forecast is good if you're aiming for popular courses at good schools because the schools will use this forecast result to determine, to guage what conditions to set.

If your forecast is BBB, it is unlikely that you would score an AAB or AAA in your a-level, STPM or whatever, which means, there is a high possibility that the university will turn down your application. That is assumming the minimum requirements for the course that you are applying to is higher than BBB.

One may argue that the actual result is all that matters. I agree, because the actual result either confirms your place at a university or 'rejects' your place. But in order for this confirming and rejecting to occur, you need to have something to confirm and reject first. That 'something' are the offers from universities. To get these offers, you need to have a good forecast(for good schools), a decent PS and preferably an exceptional reference letter.
bush is offline   Reply With Quote
THe-uNprEDiCtAblE

#14 Old 12-10-2006 Default

I think for those ppl applying for competitive courses, it is better to finish your application by Oct. I am not sure, but this is what my college counsellor told me to do. btw, applying now or later before january does not make any difference except that the latter is being later than the others. So, why not apply now. It makes no harm but might be an advantage.
THe-uNprEDiCtAblE is offline   Reply With Quote
YiYang

#15 Old 12-10-2006 Default

Thanks for all the replies.

1)If I listed my Results section as results pending, and update that only when my real STPM results are released,then would this put me at a disadvatage?

2)The universities starts to process the STPM applicants from what date?

3)Could I sign in to UCAS to update that section once my results are released?
YiYang is offline   Reply With Quote
THe-uNprEDiCtAblE

#16 Old 13-10-2006 Default

[quote="YiYang"]Thanks for all the replies.

sorry for the fact tat i am not a STPM applicant. So i dont have much to help. However, i don think they will like kind of process applicants at different time. I suggest u to acquire information from mabecs. I believe they can help to clear your doubts.
THe-uNprEDiCtAblE is offline   Reply With Quote
bush

#17 Old 13-10-2006 Default

1)If I listed my Results section as results pending, and update that only when my real STPM results are released,then would this put me at a disadvatage?

You don't need to update, in fact you can't change anything once you have submitted your application. That is why it is important to have everything in working order. Also, this is were your forecast comes into play.

They(universities) will start reviewing your application once the they receive your application.

They will reply, usually with conditional offers, unless you are really so lousy that they can't offer you a place ie DDD, EEE or so.

Once the STPM results are released. Either go to the ministry to ask them to send an official copy to the university or get a certified true copy from your school. I'm not too sure about this but there are thre parties involved. The examining board, UCAS and the university. UCAS may or may not have contacts with the lembaga. Either way, see what MABECS can do for you at this stage.
bush is offline   Reply With Quote
aikws

#18 Old 13-10-2006 Default

Do not worry about when they process your STPM results. remember to send in your predicted grades. Once STPM results released, just send a certified true copy in. It will be alright as A level result will be released later than STPM result. So, worry not about it.
aikws

#19 Old 13-10-2006 Default

Thanks,Wei Shen.

or

Thanks a lot.
If you are somehow good and have the confidence to score well, or rather have the chance to score well in actual STPM, ask the school to predict good results for you regardless of your trial examinations. It is vital to have good predicted grades for good uni and competitive courses. For how you would want it to be predicted, I leave it to your discretion.
wandkey

#20 Old 13-10-2006 Default

Hi, I'm from Sarawak, that's in East Malaysia. I'm currently in upper 6 science side, and hope to pursue a degree in pharmacy. And personally, I don't know many people from my school who would apply for UK universities, due to the high cost...

Concerning the UCAS application, I'm getting mixed signals. To my understanding, the application is done entirely online. However, I've also heard that it can be done by post? Is that so?

And another question, would any documents need to be certified, eg. forecast results, SPM results. And if so, how? Since application is online...
wandkey is offline   Reply With Quote