Malaysian Students' Magazine Project This is the forum for ReCom members to discuss the implementation of Malaysian Students' magazine.

New ReMag

#11 Old 03-05-2008 Default

is remag a printed magazines??? is it selling in the market??? anyway, i would like to help in this project... maybe i can help in providing some issues or news...
Gabrielle90 is offline   Reply With Quote
vimal06 Male

#12 Old 15-05-2008 Default

Originally Posted by Gabrielle90 View Post
is remag a printed magazines??? is it selling in the market??? anyway, i would like to help in this project... maybe i can help in providing some issues or news...
Yeah same here.. I'd really love to help out with this mag.. Any seniors can enlighten us on this issue??
vimal06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Olataro

#13 Old 20-05-2008 Default

I DUN THINK REMAG is published??

Plus..........i mistaken Vseehua for a babe

*vomit*

How much of a loser i could become?????
Olataro is offline   Reply With Quote
Glassylicious Female
The Iron Fist
Chief Editor of ReMag

#14 Old 20-05-2008 Default

From what I can gather, it seems that the person initially spearheading this project has left/quit. Why a new leader has not been elected, or why this project board hasn't been scrapped despite zero progress remains as one of Recom's greatest mysteries though. *spooky music plays*

Friend: "I've discovered something that's even better than sitting on a chair and spinning on it -- sitting on a chair BACKWARDS and spinning on it!" *spins around in glee*

Compliment yourself today!
Glassylicious is offline   Reply With Quote

#15 Old 20-05-2008 Default

Thanks for your attention guys. In fact this ReMag thingy was there even before I joined ReCom (nostalgic and patriotic music plays in the background)... And as you know, most of the veteran members are no longer active here.

I will bring their attention to this thread, and I look forward to their replies.

Last edited by youngyew; 20-05-2008 at 08:21 AM.
youngyew is offline   Reply With Quote
jiinjoo Male
Anchors

#16 Old 20-05-2008 Default

Who wants to start a magazine!

ReMag used to want to look like a mix of http://www.thecicak.com/ and http://www.tinkosong.com/ both which has since been rather successful in their own endeavors. Fundamentally, it was the recognition that people still wants to read "quality" stuff, and there can only be that much "popularity" can equate to "quality" (the basis of putting up sticky threads, in my opinion, is a low cost, user generated version ReMag). It was also partially a reaction during that time to the kind of censorship that our generation tend to loath, and it was the beginning of the opening up of the Internet as a medium of exchange.

Now probably a bit different - look, all UMNO members got blogs, ReCom and other online platforms have since gathered sufficient traction to survive with or without the draconian laws as self-censorship is always the best means of making a conducive environment for exchange (and reflecting high level of civility). If ReMag were to be revived, there needs to be a clear vision of what it needs to achieve - what's next?

As the word "Mag" was used, there has been countless impressions that it should be printed. Alas, I wish it was so easy (then the Internet won't be so powerful you see...) besides the logistics and sheer cost and financing involved, there's also the political side of things, the regulatory side of things, and finally, there's the leadership side of things. I always thought that if ReCom were to be a company the first product it would naturally lend itself to is a magazine. But if you're a bland non-partisan magazine no one will buy, there must be a cause that it serves, education perhaps?

What is your vision for an education magazine?

Accelerate 2010: Apps, Access, Asia, Powered By SingTel Innovation Exchange. 22-23 September 2010 Suntec Singapore http://accelerate.six.sg
jiinjoo is offline   Reply With Quote
lazy bunny

#17 Old 20-05-2008 Red face

Originally Posted by jiinjoo View Post
Who wants to start a magazine!

ReMag used to want to look like a mix of http://www.thecicak.com/ and http://www.tinkosong.com/ both which has since been rather successful in their own endeavors. Fundamentally, it was the recognition that people still wants to read "quality" stuff, and there can only be that much "popularity" can equate to "quality" (the basis of putting up sticky threads, in my opinion, is a low cost, user generated version ReMag). It was also partially a reaction during that time to the kind of censorship that our generation tend to loath, and it was the beginning of the opening up of the Internet as a medium of exchange.

Now probably a bit different - look, all UMNO members got blogs, ReCom and other online platforms have since gathered sufficient traction to survive with or without the draconian laws as self-censorship is always the best means of making a conducive environment for exchange (and reflecting high level of civility). If ReMag were to be revived, there needs to be a clear vision of what it needs to achieve - what's next?

As the word "Mag" was used, there has been countless impressions that it should be printed. Alas, I wish it was so easy (then the Internet won't be so powerful you see...) besides the logistics and sheer cost and financing involved, there's also the political side of things, the regulatory side of things, and finally, there's the leadership side of things. I always thought that if ReCom were to be a company the first product it would naturally lend itself to is a magazine. But if you're a bland non-partisan magazine no one will buy, there must be a cause that it serves, education perhaps?

What is your vision for an education magazine?
my 2 cents about...
vision of new remag..
> of course,a better understandings about malaysia educational system and hence know where we stand in the world...

> expose malaysian students to the world,drive international students to malaysia....

> help in tighten the relationship of malaysian in other words this new remag might help to produce "bangsa malaysia"

ahahaha my sugestion might sound vague.sorry.

i agree,there is political thingy and financial thingy to be really considered. and what's the point having ReMag,when most infos can be accessed from the net? Hmm... New ReMag must be really special and extraordinary......

尔俸尔禄,民脂民膏,下民易虐,上天难欺。
Xon is offline   Reply With Quote
vimal06 Male

#18 Old 24-05-2008 Default

how can sumone be a part of this remag?? How do we actually be a part of this??
vimal06 is offline   Reply With Quote
lazy bunny

#19 Old 24-05-2008 Default

Originally Posted by vimal06 View Post
how can sumone be a part of this remag?? How do we actually be a part of this??
a good question. maybe,just wait for a PM or an official email from the staffs of Recom.Org?
by the way,what's the new vision of ReMag? let say,if you're to be involved? what's the purpose of ReMag new edition to you,personally?

尔俸尔禄,民脂民膏,下民易虐,上天难欺。
Xon is offline   Reply With Quote
Scott

#20 Old 25-05-2008 Default

How can i help then?my blog is scott1302.blogspot.com and chedetphooi-scott.blogspot.com. Add some of my info in my blogs in. Thx. Pls help to introduce my blog to PR fans if possible. Hope someone can help me to become a malaysia Today member(RPK)blog. Thx a lot.

In addition, please be informed that my nbr has changed from 0167855443 to 0164950665 aldy. I would love to help out. Thx.

How bout ReCom set up a blog at blogspot. Its free. just typr blogspot. u nd an email account only. U can edit/customise ur blog then online. Its very interesting. Dear moderators, i would love to see Recommers own a blog just like other bloggers and politicians besides this forum blog. Then maybe u jz assign another fellow to take care of the blogspot. What's ur say? Also we may get together apply for a Malaysia Today membership, then we can get fame indirectly too? Anyway, i jz started my blogs not long ago, so still need upgrading works. By the way, it's feel good to post up our campaign for PR via blogspot. Furthermore, its free. Hope you do consider it. Thx

Last edited by Scott; 25-05-2008 at 07:21 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Scott is offline   Reply With Quote