AUSMAT in INTEC

Closed Thread

qtezt_gurlz

#1 Old 24-06-2005 Default AUSMAT in INTEC

i juz wondering how izzit life for AUSMAT program in INTEC ??...any seniors here from INTEC ??...i hope u can share ur experience here wif us.....AUSMAT quiet tough huh ??...some seniors said they din sleep until 5.30 in the morning..huhu !!....sound scary ... and i oso heard that mostly ppl who cannot go to oversea came from AUSMAT program....b'coz the pointer needed to apply for the university in Australia very high.....pleaseeee share wif us ....
hercules

#2 Old 24-06-2005 Default

there was one malay bombarded our seniors so many questions when the briefing was being conducted, was that you?
chongstk

#3 Old 24-06-2005 Default

Hey hercules, I'm Chong Wee. I think you know me, don't you?

Yeah, what the seniors have told really freaked me out. Is AUSMAT programme really that tough? If yes, can anyone tell me it is tough in what way? Cannot sleep until 5 in the morning is extremely scray you know... Let alone doing housechores and washing our own clothes

I also wonder what we are going to do in this six-month time.
hercules

#4 Old 24-06-2005 Default

My name is teng jing kai. Chongtk, You will be doing architecture in australia,right? you scored 12A1s,right?i am so lonely now, everyone has gone back except me.
chongstk

#5 Old 24-06-2005 Default

Originally Posted by hercules
My name is teng jing kai. Chongtk, You will be doing architecture in australia,right? you scored 12A1s,right?i am so lonely now, everyone has gone back except me.
Yupz you are right

Why are you staying in hostel? You should go back like us.

#6 Old 24-06-2005 Default

Hello, welcome to AUSMAT 17 in INTEC, juniors!

I am your senior from AUSMAT 15, and am now doing medicine in the University of Melbourne. It seems that it has been a tradition for seniors to scare juniors about the perils of AUSMAT programmes in the orientation programme, years after years...

For your information, I have already written two posts in ReCom about life in AUSMAT. Some are general and some are more specific about application for medicine in Australia.

Links:
General Description
Workload in AUSMAT

Read them, and feel free to ask any follow-up questions here!

qtezt_gurlz

#7 Old 24-06-2005 Default

Originally Posted by hercules
there was one malay bombarded our seniors so many questions when the briefing was being conducted, was that you?
Briefing huh ?? when ?? i din go la i think coz i din know there's a briefing for AUSMAT... ( one of the complains : not organized...jgn marah ar seniors ...peace !!....)

Tell me wat the briefing is all about ??...duh !! how come i din know...??
qtezt_gurlz

#8 Old 24-06-2005 Default

Originally Posted by youngyew
Hello, welcome to AUSMAT 17 in INTEC, juniors!

I am your senior from AUSMAT 15, and am now doing medicine in the University of Melbourne. It seems that it has been a tradition for seniors to scare juniors about the perils of AUSMAT programmes in the orientation programme, years after years...

For your information, I have already written two posts in ReCom about life in AUSMAT. Some are general and some are more specific about application for medicine in Australia.
Im not taking medicine...im taking actuarial science..so have any idea how izzit gonna be for AUSMAT program ???
TQ...
chongstk

#9 Old 24-06-2005 Default

Dear seniors,

Hi! I'm Chong Wee, new to INTEC for AUSMAT programme. I've been hearing complaints from seniors about the heavy workload for AUSMAT students and which really scrares me. Would you mind to tell me what kind of assignments and projects that we need to do? Is it presentation or just some folios? What about the quizes and tests? What is the frequency we have to face with them?

May I know also what subjects that I have to take as preparation for my architecture course? And how does INTEC allocate class for us?

Thanks!!!
so_intellectual

#10 Old 24-06-2005 Default

hey, folks! i am youngyew's friend, currently taking actuarial studies in MacQuarie University. Just like Youngyew, I took Ausmat at INTEC before I came here.

I am not sure how things have changed since I left Ausmat, but I will try my best to tell you my experience.

For the subjects, I had to take Mathematical Studies, specialist maths, accounting, economics and ESLS. Basically, these subjects are quite basic, and if youre were from science stream udring yuor seconday education, fret not. Accounting and Economics basically cover only the basic stuff, much like SPM level. So if you took acounting or econs before in SPM you will get the upperhand. But even if you did not, like I said, you will get the hang of it as they are quite simple.
As for specialsit maths, i know it sounds unnverving, but its actually not as hard as it sounds. There are alot of people including myself who find this a little easier than mathematical studies.

Work consistently, and youll be fine.

There are only 4 Australian universities that offer actualrial studies, namely, MacQuarie University, Melbourne Uni, UNSW and ANU. Macquarie has the reputation as the best university for actuarial studies in Australia.

To qualify for university, you need to get a TER of 92 and if you get 95, the admission is guaranteed. I do not know whether this is still the same now, but it is very easy for you to just check.

Getting a TER of 92 and above is not ahrd at all. Just do your stuff and you ll be fine. I know it is normal for you to get all scared and anxious at frist, but trust me Ausmat is not hard at all. So take it easy and enjoy.

ps : noneed to get freaked out abt the briefing, it's most likely rubbish.
The Following User Says Thank You to so_intellectual For This Useful Post:
Closed Thread