Education This is the place where we would discuss anything about education issues!!!

A-Levels

lyzzy

#61 Old 19-02-2006 Default

Originally Posted by bush
Originally Posted by lyzzy
Academic-wise, for A Levels, Taylors is great because of the students there ... they stream the students, so there's usually there would be a couple of very very keng classes... and if you get in there - the lecturers are better, you are more pressured to study and perform well (cos everyone is darn smart too)... If not Taylors, Help is really good too (and it's cheaper!)
The advantage that HELP has over Taylor's is the way they run things.
you don't need to be in a keng class to have great lecturers, in fact they don't stream students, they put you into groups according to your subject combination. Having said that, you have the freedom to change your group subject to certain conditions.
Actually, in Taylors, they put you into groups according to subject combination too. I was in the Further Math - science class.
The difference is that in Taylors, there are more students, so within each the subject combination, they stream the students...
Streaming has its advantages and disadvantages - but imho, being surrounded by people who are willing to work/study/perform better and harder will definitely improve your academic (and extracurricular) performance.

From my experience, teachers everywhere are the same (Yale doesn't have more than its fair share of outstanding teachers relative to other universities - there are tons of instructors who can't teach well), but what differentiates the quality of an educational institution from others are the resources available (money, support, etc) and the caliber of the students....
vapolution vaporizer

Last edited by lyzzy; 08-02-2011 at 07:36 PM.
lyzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
bush

#62 Old 19-02-2006 Default

[quote="lyzzy"]
Originally Posted by bush
Originally Posted by lyzzy
Academic-wise, for A Levels, Taylors is great because of the students there ... they stream the students, so there's usually there would be a couple of very very keng classes... and if you get in there - the lecturers are better, you are more pressured to study and perform well (cos everyone is darn smart too)... If not Taylors, Help is really good too (and it's cheaper!)
The advantage that HELP has over Taylor's is the way they run things.
you don't need to be in a keng class to have great lecturers, in fact they don't stream students, they put you into groups according to your subject combination. Having said that, you have the freedom to change your group subject to certain conditions.
Actually, in Taylors, they put you into groups according to subject combination too. I was in the Further Math - science class.
The difference is that in Taylors, there are more students, so within each the subject combination, they stream the students...
Streaming has its advantages and disadvantages - but imho, being surrounded by people who are willing to work/study/perform better and harder will definitely improve your academic (and extracurricular) performance.
/quote]

I would need to clarify certain things.

HELP does not have any sort of stream, the class you are in depends on which subjects you are taking.
For example, You can be in group A in chemistry and group B in physics and group A again for maths. You won't be stuck in the same class. It's somewhat like university.
bush is offline   Reply With Quote
poohbear88

#63 Old 28-02-2006 Default

can someone give me a list of affordable and good college for taking a-level? i know that Taylor and Help are good...then how about the others?
poohbear88 is offline   Reply With Quote
poohbear88

#64 Old 02-03-2006 Default

sorry, i have another question to ask. Now i choose to take either accounting or acturial science. I don't know which one to choose but i think both of the course are quite similar. So, izzit advisable for me to take a level or take foundation in something?If take foundation, can you state foundation in what?
ohmygod

#65 Old 02-03-2006 Default

Originally Posted by poohbear88
sorry, i have another question to ask. Now i choose to take either accounting or acturial science. I don't know which one to choose but i think both of the course are quite similar. So, izzit advisable for me to take a level or take foundation in something?If take foundation, can you state foundation in what?
Actuarial Science is not similar to Accouting. Although both include mathematics, accounting involves simple, basic algebra. However, Actuarial Science involve high level of mathematics (calculus, probability...)

If you want to take A-level, Further Maths helps for actuarial science. But if you want to go accouting, further maths just gives you trouble.
ohmygod is offline   Reply With Quote
poohbear88

#66 Old 02-03-2006 Default

icic...then wat should i take now...??the result is coming out soon and yet i have not decide what to take...
juventus

#67 Old 02-03-2006 Default

don't worry poohbear88.

In my opinion, accounting is more marketable. Every company need accountants. I would assume it's easier to study compared to actuaril science.

It all boils down on interest. What are you interested in? Are you interested in predicting figures and forecast profits? Are you interested in earning money, with no regards how hard the job might prove to be?

For actuarial science, it's more taxing I would think. Maybe you can google and search for more information. Or u can ask scholars who have been there, done that.

Good luck!
juventus is offline   Reply With Quote
hhhcce

#68 Old 03-03-2006 Default

Actually, I think HELP is better than Taylor. Like my class, there 6 to 7 students getting 10A1 1A2 and my class has only 20-30 students. So, the lecturer can pay more attention on you. The more the lecture understand you, the better the recommendation letter they are going yo write it for you. Besides, HELP does offer scholarships to 7A1-and-above students. So, you should get more than 7A1 to get partial or full scholarship. After all, this is just my opinion as a HELPian and this is not a advertisment for HELP. I am not from Marketing department nor Sales department.
hhhcce is offline   Reply With Quote
Goch

#69 Old 03-03-2006 Default

Reply to Poohbear88 aka *somone I know (haha)

I think that the choice of your career prospect would be solely depend on one's interest and personality

For me, I really like Actuarial science because its challenging and its kinda new in Malaysia ... I am the type of person who love challenge and go for the 'road less taken' by others.

If you share the same personality like mine, why not give Actuarial Science a try?

And About questions on other colleges, I have do quite alot of research for Pre-U studies. Well, generally TARC provide very cheap Pre-U studies but i dont know well about their quality.

** CAN ANYONE TELL ME IS TARC GOOD OR NOT**?

Another college that provide A level would be INTI

P/S - hahahaahhhahahaha..ping punggggg
You get third at Olimpiad Matematik leh, sure can cope with actuarial !
Goch is offline   Reply With Quote
victorvandort

#70 Old 03-03-2006 Default

i'm a bit puzzled about this, i was browsing through sunway college's booklet for the cambridge a levels and i saw this

"as per national accreditation board requirements, all malaysian students must pass a module each in Malaysian studies, Moral studies(nonmuslims)/islamic studies(muslims) and bahasa kebangsaan(exempted if a credit has been obtained at SPM level"

but tarc's booklet doesnt have that statement..does that mean that tarc's cambridge a levels is not accredited by LAN or wat? do they actually have it juz that tarc didnt publish it on the booklet?

anyone here in a levels tarc? is it good?
victorvandort is offline   Reply With Quote