Education This is the place where we would discuss anything about education issues!!!

A-Levels

pringles

#11 Old 18-06-2005 Default Re: a level

Originally Posted by ngu
anthony,which college are you going?Is taylors good?Is a level harder or stpm is harder,...please advice me from your friends experice who are studying a level.
If you are planning to take A level and can't decide which college to go to , just go to all the colleges you may enrol in and take a look at their hardware(library resources, cafeteria, class rooms, lecture theater and etc...). Don't believe the college councillors because all of them will say their colleges are the best.

Every colleges have good and bad lecturers. You can have the best lecturers in Malaysia but you will not be able to score if you are not committed to your study.
pringles is offline   Reply With Quote
bush

#12 Old 18-06-2005 Default Re: rfrf

Originally Posted by pringles
Originally Posted by Anthony
ei it seems its important oso...becoz now its the era of technology..
but juz wondering wat is the difference 3A and 4As
If you want to apply to cambridge or oxford university, you will need 4As.
nope.....they only require 3 A-level subjects, usually all As.......
bush is offline   Reply With Quote
bush

#13 Old 18-06-2005 Default Re: a level

Originally Posted by ngu
anthony,which college are you going?Is taylors good?Is a level harder or stpm is harder,...please advice me from your friends experice who are studying a level.
If you are planning to take A level and can't decide which college to go to , just go to all the colleges you may enrol in and take a look at their hardware(library resources, cafeteria, class rooms, lecture theater and etc...). Don't believe the college councillors because all of them will say their colleges are the best.

Every colleges have good and bad lecturers. You can have the best lecturers in Malaysia but you will not be able to score if you are not committed to your study.
u don't really need a good library if u are doing A-levels as u don't need to do assignments, just a simple library with some reference books is sufficient.

Classrooms and lecture theatre doesn't really matter. Most colleges have air-cons. U can have the best facilities but if u are taught by some lousy pasar malam lecturers...........sangat susah.........which is better?a hardworking student with cacat lecturer or a hardworking student with an experienced and enthusiastic lecturer?
bunny

#14 Old 19-06-2005 Default Re: rfrf

Originally Posted by bush
Requirement is different from whether they will actually take you in. having 3As is the 'minimum' required for them to 'consider' ur applications. If you wanna stand a good chance to enter, you should not just try to meet the 'minimum' req. When I applied for Cambridge, after the interview and before my results for A levels came out, they gave me a conditional acceptance, the condition being that I get 4As for my A levels.

physics may turn out to be important for biotech. Besides, it is always better to have more options now so that if you can choose a different course if you later find out that you do not like biotech and wanna pursue something like bioengineering which requires physics. Which aspect of biotech are you interested in?
bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
bush

#15 Old 19-06-2005 Default Re: rfrf

Originally Posted by bunny
Requirement is different from whether they will actually take you in. having 3As is the 'minimum' required for them to 'consider' ur applications. If you wanna stand a good chance to enter, you should not just try to meet the 'minimum' req. When I applied for Cambridge, after the interview and before my results for A levels came out, they gave me a conditional acceptance, the condition being that I get 4As for my A levels.

physics may turn out to be important for biotech. Besides, it is always better to have more options now so that if you can choose a different course if you later find out that you do not like biotech and wanna pursue something like bioengineering which requires physics. Which aspect of biotech are you interested in?
What course did u applied for? Some courses have additional requirements. 3 subjects wouldn't matter if u are happy with the limited choice in ur first year.

not to be an idiot or whatsover, these may not be official policy of the university, it may be from hear-say or from personal experience. The best way to know is to write to them or to visit their website as what it says represents the policy of the university.
Dr_Tay

#16 Old 19-06-2005 Default

Personally, I think taking A-Levels is a waste of time as I had experienced it myself. Matriculation would be shorter and faster and still take you to the same destination. With the shortage of funds experienced by most Western universties these days with good grades you can achieve your ambition in whatever capacity.
Dr_Tay is offline   Reply With Quote
bunny

#17 Old 19-06-2005 Default Re: rfrf

Originally Posted by bunny

What course did u applied for? Some courses have additional requirements. 3 subjects wouldn't matter if u are happy with the limited choice in ur first year.

not to be an idiot or whatsover, these may not be official policy of the university, it may be from hear-say or from personal experience. The best way to know is to write to them or to visit their website as what it says represents the policy of the university.
yup, you are right, bush, i was referring to my own personal experience applying for engineering as well as experiences from my friends & classmates when i made the comment. In many cases, the university, especially one as reputable as Cambridge will state a requirement on A levels that is lower than the average a level qualification of students that they are actually taking in. I did not say that they will not take u in if u have 3 As, but u stand a better chance if u have 4 As. This is of course barring any special cases and a generalization..
bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
pringles

#18 Old 19-06-2005 Default

Originally Posted by Dr_Tay
Personally, I think taking A-Levels is a waste of time as I had experienced it myself. Matriculation would be shorter and faster and still take you to the same destination. With the shortage of funds experienced by most Western universties these days with good grades you can achieve your ambition in whatever capacity.
A level=waste of time depends on how you look at it. It is undeniable that A level course is longer than most of the matriculaion like SAM,CPU, AUSMAT,CIMP and etc... But A level syllabus is deeper than other matriculation.

So, A level certainly is not a waste of time for those who want to learn as much as theu can before specialise in unviversity.
pringles is offline   Reply With Quote
SHuLy

#19 Old 19-06-2005 Default

i've just completed my CAL in taylor's...2 year programme. well, in my opinion, i think that studying at any private college is about YOU and not the lecturers or college. cuz it will depend on your luck if you get a good lecturer or not....some of my friends are saying that A Levels at HELP is better. most of the good lecturers in taylors have been recruited by HELP...

i didn't really enjoy to the max. i dreaded A Levels, but i guess i am still OK with it..didn't really like it due to environment and my immobility in Subang.

And, in my opinion, it is better if you take A Level if you are planning to go to countries like s'pore cuz it's said that A Levels are easier than STPM.

i cannot compare to sam or cpu cuz i know nothing about it...
SHuLy is offline   Reply With Quote
bush

#20 Old 19-06-2005 Default

Originally Posted by SHuLy
i've just completed my CAL in taylor's...2 year programme. well, in my opinion, i think that studying at any private college is about YOU and not the lecturers or college. cuz it will depend on your luck if you get a good lecturer or not....some of my friends are saying that A Levels at HELP is better. most of the good lecturers in taylors have been recruited by HELP...

i didn't really enjoy to the max. i dreaded A Levels, but i guess i am still OK with it..didn't really like it due to environment and my immobility in Subang.

And, in my opinion, it is better if you take A Level if you are planning to go to countries like s'pore cuz it's said that A Levels are easier than STPM.

i cannot compare to sam or cpu cuz i know nothing about it...
Singapore A-levels is not ur ordinary A-levels.....it is tougher than what we have here