The Business World From the stock market to the old school barter system

Lateral Thinking

Chyi

#1 Old 19-05-2005 Default Lateral Thinking

Would like to discuss about lateral thinking here, check Edsard De Bono if interested.

First and foremost, would like to give 2 questions here.

Q1:
There was a hotel in town, quite popular and with certain amount of customers. However, the manager was receiving complains everyday. which is, the hotel has only one elevator, the customers had to wait long for it. How should they solve the problem?

Q2:
There is a big drug store, they have certain amount of customers coming in everyday, but the customers usually only buy one or two items, which means they only buy what they need. How should they do to make the customers buy more?

I think they are quite common questions and many people may know the answers. Actually I am looking for how you guys think bout the questions, and look for more this type of stories.
Chyi is offline   Reply With Quote

#2 Old 19-05-2005 Default

A1
create a health awareness program and promote the stair case use as a unique feature of the hotel....in fact, use it as an advertisement strategy..... a lot of postive messages about health and exercize....spend money on changing the appearance and ambience of the stairs

A2
eh...dunno.. creativity maxed out for the day...tata

#3 Old 19-05-2005 Default

shoot the people who complain to make an example out of them. Then no more complain lorr...

~John Lennon
littlebigone is offline   Reply With Quote

#4 Old 19-05-2005 Default

heh.... only and only because i am covering the topic of genocide in these few weeks...you suggestion sounds eerily disturbing to me...

#5 Old 25-05-2005 Default

1. Charge an elevator fee? Or make the elevator only function for floors 3 and above while charge a lower price for rooms on levels 1 and 2 where the occupants have to use the stairs instead? maybe the health care awareness works, but I don't see how old people would enjoy that.

2. Are there any more specific information? Like what does the society like? What is the most popular item that they buy?

The co. should advertise the complementary products together with the things that customers buy. If they buy like uhmm... some plasters, then display (what's the name liao?) anti-bacteria ointments like savlon beside the plasters... Advertise them together... like this guy applies Savlon on his cut before plastering that cut... Something like that. So when people got cut, they would go and get the plaster and Savlon at the same time.

Or they can sell more disposable things like disposable socks and tooth brush (for traveling purposes)...

Or do like what some pharmacies do... Give free health check (specialize in something like glucose level, or blood pressure), then say, "Oh, u are marginally below the health level. You can improve your health if you apply this this and that"...

Other than that, I think the co. will have to depend on R&D to discover new effects of the products or lifestyle...

#6 Old 25-05-2005 Default

Originally Posted by ElansarGelmir
2. Are there any more specific information? Like what does the society like? What is the most popular item that they buy?
I once read that lateral thinking questions require us to ask questions and thus will only provide limited information for that to work. I can see it is really working with this question posted by Chyi.

#7 Old 25-05-2005 Default Re: Lateral Thinking

Originally Posted by Chyi
Q1:
There was a hotel in town, quite popular and with certain amount of customers. However, the manager was receiving complains everyday. which is, the hotel has only one elevator, the customers had to wait long for it. How should they solve the problem?
Build another elevator? And encourage people to use stairs.

Originally Posted by Chyi
Q2:
There is a big drug store, they have certain amount of customers coming in everyday, but the customers usually only buy one or two items, which means they only buy what they need. How should they do to make the customers buy more?
Sell a greater variety of stuff, have promotions, free health checks... aiyah... dunno lar...

#8 Old 25-05-2005 Default

i got another one. occasionally sabo the elevator.

sometimes make it jam. sometimes make it crash to the ground level. then people will be afraid of taking the elevator and start using the stairs.

~John Lennon
littlebigone is offline   Reply With Quote
lolilo

#9 Old 25-05-2005 Default

Q2:
Do this:

first item 10% discount, second item 30%, third item 40% and fourth item 50%. rules and regulation applied.

#10 Old 25-05-2005 Default

Originally Posted by littlebigone
i got another one. occasionally sabo the elevator.

sometimes make it jam. sometimes make it crash to the ground level. then people will be afraid of taking the elevator and start using the stairs.
hey that's what i had in mind, destroy the cause of the problem and tada, there you have it, problem solved.
cra is offline   Reply With Quote