Malaysian Students' Magazine Project This is the forum for ReCom members to discuss the implementation of Malaysian Students' magazine.

First Step

#1 Old 26-12-2003 Default First Step

Hi, this is the thread for the Malaysian Students Magazine project.
We can discuss how to get things started now.

Our aim is to have some kind of newsletter and eventually a magazine.

All suggestions , comments should go here.

Alright, let's get started!.
masterof_none is offline   Reply With Quote
__earth Male

#2 Old 30-12-2003 Default

Here are the current ppl who are involved or have shown interest in the project, according to the list provided by masterof_none. If you are interested, please leave leave your name here. We will try to contact you later asap.

1st_Spirit
Ishveir
jiahui
sueyi
wesleyanne
1st_Spirit

#3 Old 01-01-2004 Default

Dear Recom's Brothers and sisters ,

It's been sometime that I didn't able to keep in touch with your guys, it's been a week it think... I've been out of town for a week in a volenteer work. It's a YOUTH RALLY, and it's about 6000 youth involve and I'm one of the volenteer helping out some staff

I'm glad that my email get bombarded and there are so many response and so many offering from many of you who have shown your interest in this project

It's a critical stage for us and we needed to keep feeding in for this infatry project.

Project Specification:
1.LayOut
2.Target
3.Approach
4.Format
5.Topics selection
6.Filtering
7.Columns
8.Star Writers
9.Establish a Editorial Board (Team)
10. Finance

1st Question(2):
This newslatter, or magazine is introduced in a soft form or hard form? Layout, typical magazine layout, or electronic layout?

2nd Question:
Who are our target groups? Students? Young adults? or etc...

3rd Question:
Editorial board has to be established before this coming summer.

4th Question:
Is that possible to form a meeting, conferences or General Meeting during summer or before of after?

5th Question:
Is Anymore invlove?

#4 Old 02-01-2004 Default

Originally Posted by 1st_Spirit
Project Specification:
1.LayOut
2.Target
3.Approach
4.Format
5.Topics selection
6.Filtering
7.Columns
8.Star Writers
9.Establish a Editorial Board (Team)
10. Finance
This is a great format. we can start from Layout.
we can brainstorm here.

1st Question(2):
This newslatter, or magazine is introduced in a soft form or hard form? Layout, typical magazine layout, or electronic layout?
For the time being, I think it's better for us to create it in the soft form first to save money. Plus, we need some kind of response from students.
I think it is crucial for us to introduce the magazine to malaysian students organizations around the world about this magazine.
After we pretty much establish, then only we can print it...depending on the demand.

2nd Question:
Who are our target groups? Students? Young adults? or etc...
I think we can go into stages. For the time being, let's begin with college students/"lepasan SPM". After that we have some kind of experience, we can go further than that , or maybe create a different magazine for different target audience.

3rd Question:
Editorial board has to be established before this coming summer.
I agree. But for the time being, let's start a small snowball first.
Let's roll it bit by bit. When it gets larger, I think lot more people want to get involve. Let's begin with everything that we have first.

4th Question:
Is that possible to form a meeting, conferences or General Meeting during summer or before of after?
I'm sure it's possible. The RecomAnchors meeting was really successful. Maybe we can set a meeting on a fine day this January?..or Spring Break?

5th Question:
Is Anymore invlove?
So far , the team is , me, you, __earth, jiahui, and Tazzy (budakkerek).
I'm still waiting for wesleyanne to reply. I'm pretty sure she's on the vacation.

ANyway, let's get started. I think the best way is to set a webpage,
like using PHP-Nuke, so that we can start from there.
If you guys have any idea on the layout, or have some prototype to show, please post it here. We'll move from there.
__earth Male

#5 Old 02-01-2004 Default

Originally Posted by masterof_none
ANyway, let's get started. I think the best way is to set a webpage,
like using PHP-Nuke, so that we can start from there.
For the first edition, I think a simple HTML page would do fine.

#6 Old 02-01-2004 Default

yeah, I think simple HTML will do.

Anyone volunteered for this?...
I'll make a link from ReCom Updates and will email all members regarding this project. I really think that it's gonna be great.
1st_Spirit

#7 Old 03-01-2004 Default

Dear Recoms,

For my case, I would say that it's better we produce our 1st issue in softcopy. Guess what, the printing in my school is totally free and therefore I could print out many issues for the Malaysia students here. There is a good amount of Malaysian population alocated in UB. I would like to take the responsiblity to distribute and to promote the Malaysia Student's Magazine among students in UB. I could always introduce it to any poeple who would like to know more about Malaysia...

I totally agree with you "Master of None"... Personally I think this would be a great magazine for those who are undecided with their major, uni. or college. It would be a great guideline for those who are looking foward for oversea studies.

Many information we could provide, like scholarship aid, seminars, workshops or may be some sharing from you guys would be a great help for them.

Expose themselves and try to bring our students into the World Arena, open up their eyes so they would see the world, open up thier heart so they would know that we are not alone, open up their mind so that they would know that there are more to know and more to achieve. At the same time, we could cultiavate the good values, MALAYSIA VALUES into thier mind and prepare them before they going overseas for studies. There are many temptation and entertainment would easily corrupting thier mind.

For those who are here, for all the recoms, it's your responsible and it's your duty to make sure that this Generation would be the Generation that turn the tide of the world, it's time for YOU(RECOMS) to restore the broken morale, it time for you to stand up and changes, it's time for Malaysia to go into Renaisance period. It is YOU. "IF NOT YOU WHO, IF NOT NOW WHEN"

Dear Recoms,

it's you that going to change, it's you that you're going to do the changes and it's you that going to unmade the mistakes that we've done, also it's you that going to lead this generation into the new Arena, and it's you that going to restore the PROUND OF MALAYSIA.... MALAYSIA BOLEH...

#8 Old 03-01-2004 Default

Okay. We know who is our targeted readers. Right now, I've gotten the impression that the newsletter is based on monthly basis. The first issue will be out in early February with the deadlines falling on Jan 31st 2004.
Please tell me if I'm wrong.

If there is no confusion about the first paragraph, I believe the next thing is to recognize any potential topic. So, any suggestion?

Furthermore, I suggest we have 6-10 articles. What do you think about it?

Also, we need to design the template for the newslatter. As said in the Recom forum, some of us prefer a simple HTML page. Anyone want to volunteer for the web job?
I myself could do HTML in CSS.

Finally we need an editor to supervise the whole process and more importantly, makes the ball keeping on rolling. I think Dennis would do fine for the time being as he was the one that started the idea.
chenchow Male
ReComer

#9 Old 03-01-2004 Default

I am interested as well. I think silverblue and littlebigone are interested too.

I fully agree with _earth, on the setting of a deadline. I would personally think that submission dateline be put on 20th or 25th of each month, with our magazine be published on the 1st of the next month.

I think if we are going to produce this magazine on soft copy, which I agree that we should do so, we can be kind of flexible on number of articles we have. The more the better, since there won't be much additional overhead cost on it.

Yeah, I support Dennis in charge of being the editor and _earth being the head webmaster.

Yeah, among the information on the first issue would be on overseas studies, especially scholarship. I would suggest that we could introduce studying in a country per issue, say our initial Feb issue could be an introduction to studies in US, may be March, we could have Japan or Germany and hopefully we could have on many countries.

This magazine could be the place for Recom members to write an abstract on their research, paper etc and provide the link for those who are interested to read those in our Creative Corner.

Yeah, start small and slowly we progress!

I will volunteer to write an article for the first issue. Anyone has any suggestion what is the best topic? I will be pretty free this two weeks back in Malaysia, but with dial-up network, so if anything that I could do with such condition, feel free to let me know. I will try my best.

Hope to see even more enthusiasms!
chenchow is offline   Reply With Quote
1st_Spirit

#10 Old 06-01-2004 Default

Dear Recoms,

Thanks for all the supports, I feel like I have thousands of mens are backing me

The coming January 20, there are few STAR's Journalists will drop by at Buffalo to have some discussion with students at UB, therefore I would like to take this oppunity to introduce Recom's "Malaysia Student's Magazine" to them. Hopefully they would able to provide feedback and advises for us.

Well, I'm gonna print it out as a hard copy to distribute to UB Malaysia students. As a result of that it would require a pretty much of a very well organized and containted Magazine.

Personally, I would like to introduce some topics here for everyone to brainstorm about it.

1.Malaysia Students Today.
2.Oversea Malaysia Student.
3.Studying Oversea/Oversea Study Dream.

I think it's better we could establish a Column of Opinion, so that people could bring out the topics which they would like to know more about it or to discuss further about it.

Example:
Letter to Editor,
"I would like to know more about the Cornell University. I'm interested of getting to know more about the scholarship information, studying Culture, lectures and computer science major."

From there, we would able to know more about the Demand of the students and what kind of topic they would like to go into. I believe most of them would like to know about studying at Oversea, they would like to see some pictures of the Universities, people there, culture, proffesor and so on...
At the same time it would be a good motivation for them to study hard to get a scholarship to join us in USA or other places.
Dream is a good motivation, and when the put their dream into plan and plan into action. They will success.

Dear Recoms,
It's time for you guys contributing your articles, photos and many more

I hope to hear from you guys soon