Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education

Education This is the place where we would discuss anything about education issues!!!

Who will be succeed in life? Street Smarts or Book Smarts?

yian04

#1 Old 17-04-2005 Default Who will be succeed in life? Street Smarts or Book Smarts?

Which team will u be catagorized urself in? What do u think of this topic? Personally, I do think street smarts will have conspicous and commendable success in their life as street smart ppl are born to execute and they're more creative and willingly to accept any changes and alterations. What about urs?
yian04 is offline   Reply With Quote

#2 Old 17-04-2005 Default

Can I say that I'm a lil bit of both?

#3 Old 17-04-2005 Default

You've gotta watch The Apprentice Season 3.

I'm mostly based on books, but you know, with some IQ, you can predict the best approach to implement your ideas.

But I think the book smarts will win.
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote

#4 Old 17-04-2005 Default

well... watched 11 episodes of Season 3 already... dun wanna spoil it for u....

bittorrent if u can't wait...
DecentMerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Patrick

#5 Old 17-04-2005 Default

Originally Posted by DecentMerson

i watched the 12th episode already
kpchen

#6 Old 17-04-2005 Default

Originally Posted by Patrick

You guys are so KIASU... Sigh. I guess kiasu-ity/kiasuness/kiasuphy/kiasu-whatever is in the blood of MOST Malaysians...
kpchen is offline   Reply With Quote
Patrick

#7 Old 17-04-2005 Default

Originally Posted by kpchen
Originally Posted by Patrick

You guys are so KIASU... Sigh. I guess kiasu-ity/kiasuness/kiasuphy/kiasu-whatever is in the blood of MOST Malaysians...
Wah, how can u call this kiasu?
I was just teasing DecentMerson for he was like soooooo stucked up when he said that he watched 11 episodes >.<
Tab

#8 Old 17-04-2005 Default

true.. i agree fully with the idea that streetwise ppl tend to be more successful in their career. By successful, I mean monetary rewards.

So, it follows that the definition of successful here can be quite subjective.

An academic may define success from a totally different perspective. To him/her, success is derived from intellectual accomplishments, which does not necessarily translate to financial gains.

I believe each and every one person have their own definition of success. As such, it is possible to say that the streetwise and the bookish person will be equally successful, but in their own ways!

Practically, I think streetwise is more of a 'survival' trait. It gives the person the 'skills' and ability to 'rough it out' in the real world. Hence, if there's a toss-up between being streetwise and being bookish, I'll put my money on the streetwise person being able to survive better in life.

Nevertheless, it doesn't hurt to be a little bit bookish as well. In fact, I feel that the best combination is be both bookish, and yet streetwise at the same time! That will endow you with the 'survival trait' and the intellectual edge over others.

Personally, I think i'm more towards being the streetwise person I'm trying to get more bookish these days! (no choice... uni life demands that! hahahaha...)

#9 Old 17-04-2005 Default

streetwise!! streetwise beats bookwise anytime. you gotta know how to rule the streets.
kelvinlym Male

#10 Old 17-04-2005 Default

You need a bit of both.

But if I were to only choose one, I'll say street smart.

Doing by the book is one thing, but learning how to work with people is very important as well.