Go Back   ReCom.org > Forum > ReCom Cafe > Education

Education This is the place where we would discuss anything about education issues!!!

Application to IPTA For STPM/Matriculation Students

chenchow Male
ReComer

#11 Old 19-03-2005 Default

The cut-off point is calculated based on applicants who take SPM 2003 and study there right now.

I believe the adjustments are done, because previously STPM candidates results are based on A, B, C, etc...and right now is A, A-, B+, B, B- etc.

This compilation is done every year, where they ask each and every student about their STPM results. My high school (Jit Sin) has been very successful in using these results to get very high intake in IPTA.

Having number of straight As decrease, do not mean that number of other grades would decrease.

It is just that the students that get straight As decrease, whereas students that get 3A, 2A, 1A would increase. This is because number of students who get A in each subject stays about the same.

Quite a number of schools, like Jit Sin, Sam Tet actually have an increase of straight As this year.
chenchow is offline   Reply With Quote
alvin

#12 Old 21-03-2005 Default IPTA application

i m applying for chemical engineering.. my cgpa is 3.67... Problem is i want to apply for UKM or UPM as first choice... my second choice is fixed on UM Sabah... Do any of u (in this forum) think i stand a chance of getting this course?? i took four subjects which includes biology... i din take physics... In any of yo opinion, is UKM easier to enter or UPM easier..?? Thanks for all who replied...
alvin is offline   Reply With Quote
chenchow Male
ReComer

#13 Old 21-03-2005 Default Re: IPTA application

Originally Posted by alvin
i m applying for chemical engineering.. my cgpa is 3.67... Problem is i want to apply for UKM or UPM as first choice... my second choice is fixed on UM Sabah... Do any of u (in this forum) think i stand a chance of getting this course?? i took four subjects which includes biology... i din take physics... In any of yo opinion, is UKM easier to enter or UPM easier..?? Thanks for all who replied...
Check the past year cut-off points and you would have a good idea of which one is easier to enter. The link is at the end of each of my post.
nxwen

#14 Old 21-03-2005 Default Re: IPTA application

Originally Posted by alvin
The cut-off point for chemical engineering is around 3.8 right? Then it will be a big risk. I thought that you need physics for chemical engineering (except the one offered by USM)? Do check the subject enquirement for this course. I'm in the same situation as you, CGPA 3.67 and didn't take physics, but I don't dare to risk choosing a course I'm not confident of getting. (I'm considering the high number of matriks students with CGPA 4.0 too.)
nxwen is offline   Reply With Quote
smallboy

#15 Old 28-03-2005 Default

i have 1 qurstion about Cutoff Points for IPTA applications

if i have CPTA of 3.20 n the max cutoff points for the chosen course is 3.00, is it possible i wont be able to get that course?
smallboy is offline   Reply With Quote
nxwen

#16 Old 28-03-2005 Default

Originally Posted by smallboy
i have 1 qurstion about Cutoff Points for IPTA applications

if i have CPTA of 3.20 n the max cutoff points for the chosen course is 3.00, is it possible i wont be able to get that course?
What do you mean by max cut-off point? As the cut-off point is for last year, it may become higher or lower this year, depending on the number of student who applied for that particular course. 3.20 is higher than 3.0, so of course you stand a good chance of getting that course. However, there is a possibility that you will not get it. Unless your CGPA is way higher than the cut-off point or you got 4.0, there is always a possibility of not getting the course of your choice. Just go for it since your CGPA is higher than the cut-off point. Anyway, that is my opinion lah. I'm not too sure also. Do
correct me if I'm wrong.

Umm.... anybody can help me with this? If student X got 4A-, which means he got a CGPA of 3.67, Y got 1A, 2A-, 1B+ with CGPA of 3.67 also. While Z has 2A and 2B+, also with CGPA of 3.67. Who stand a better chance of getting a course? Does UPU look at CGPA solely or they consider the grades as well
chenchow Male
ReComer

#17 Old 28-03-2005 Default

I think they have a certain way to deal with tie-breakers, but I am not sure which one is better in this sense. I know that they would also look at each of the paper, like Paper 1, 2,3 etc... And I know if everything is identical up to that level, they would look at SPM results and co-cu (I forget which one they are looking at first)
kevinkhoo1986

#18 Old 28-03-2005 Default Re: Application to IPTA For STPM/Matriculation Students

Sorry my mandarin is not that good. The last line indicates the percentage of chinese in that field or?
kevinkhoo1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
nxwen

#19 Old 28-03-2005 Default Re: Application to IPTA For STPM/Matriculation Students

Originally Posted by kevinkhoo1986
Sorry my mandarin is not that good. The last line indicates the percentage of chinese in that field or?
Yeah, it's the percentage of chinese in that course.

Thanx chen chow! I'm just wondering whether grades do matter. Whoa, they look at individual paper as well? I know that they will use co-cu and then SPM results as tie-breaker. Anyway, all the best in IPTA application!
The Following User Says Thank You to nxwen For This Useful Post:
kevinkhoo1986

#20 Old 28-03-2005 Default

http://www.kexijifen.com/jifen.pdf page 12
Is that true that more than 85% of the available places for pharmacy are taken by chinese? I guess the MOE would not let this happen right since they have to make sure the Bumi have the chances to take this course.
kevinkhoo1986 is offline   Reply With Quote